We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wood cabin experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sallatunturin Tuvat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sallatunturin Tuvat
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
314 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wood cabin experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Drove from Nellim to Salla and the journey took us over 6 hours. The lodging is about 20 km from the centre of Salla. We came at the low season and thus, only 2 other cabins were occupied. The lodging is next to the Reindeer Park and is central enough for you to drive to most of the national parks. We were without electricty for most of a day that one time when the storm hit Salla. There was no back-up generator. It was fine as we were out for most of the day. There's an Aurora information centre at the lodging ran by a Dutch man, Bart. For a hour slide show and a framed picture, the info session will set you back EUR17.50 which I personally think is a bit steep as the info presented was collected off the internet. But his pictures of the Aurora were all his work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
33
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our feeling of being lost in the middle of nowhere soon changed into "This must be a winter fairy tale ...". The friendly staff of this holiday resort were very helpful organizing day trips for us, and - there you find yourself in a sleigh being pulled through the most stunning winter landscape by a reindeer! More speedy but equally thrilling was the skidoo tour to the russian border we did the next day. And not to forget the husky tour with six brave dogs doing all the work for us! If you don't like doing the tours in a group of twelve or more people, ask for a special guide. This requires a surcharge but sure makes all the difference!
During our stay we lived in a comfortable house with a fireplace and a sauna, which we enjoyed in the evenings. Always remember to take your keys with you when you leave the house to refresh yourself in the snow after using the sauna ... Otherwise you can easily find yourself locked out of the house with nothing but your skin to protect you from -20 °C!
Dinner was always a treat, wines were nice, and ever nicer was the cranberry vodka. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferien_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is a great place where you feel like paradise!!The little wooden houses are so sweet :) Were clean and really warm!!The view from the big window is just perfect.The staff is very friendly.That we enjoyed the most was the lappish breakfast!The perfect palce to stay in Salla !

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annoulita100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

About 70 wooden houses on a large area. Not to big to wlak. Ski slopes near by.
Restaurant on the parc.

The only thing missing is a good supermarket.

All other facilities like snow scooter and safaris all available and professional.

Staff = friendly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BartBlikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in the cottages on the property of Sallatunturin Tuvat four years on a row, and we loved it all the times. The cottages are very nice and comfortable. They've got everything you need, with a nice sauna, a dry closet, a nice badroom, kitchen, you name it. Though it is small, it has all you need. And the hotel restaurant, the spa and the sky lift at about 200 meter. And at the reception of the hotel you can book al sorts of activities, like husky sledges, ice walking and fishing, snow scooter safaris etcetera. Great fun for people who also want to do something else but skiing. we like to vary a bit during a week in the snow. And about skiing: for a family with younger kids there enough of excitement, for experienced alpine skiers I think it's not much of a challenge. Although there is a black piste. And about the cold: don't worry a bit. Wear enough warm clothes and you'll be fine. Weather and snow conditions were always great when we were there. So don't hesitate and visit Sallaunturin Tuvat for your winter holiday.

Room Tip: Don't book a room, book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights during our new year's holiday. We loved the cottage, with private sauna and fireplace (wood provided). The kitchen is very well equipped: washing powder, kitchen paper, towels included. Very smart the drying machine for clothes. The cottage are really in middle of nowhere: the nearest supermarket is 10 Km away, in the nearby only snow, but it's easy accessible by car. We also made a all day long snowmobile safari on the russian border, which we enjoyed a lot. The only complaint is about wifi connection: the signal was too low to reach our cottage so we had to go out and walk a bit to download the mails!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greta_andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked a winter holiday to Salla with a few friends through a Dutch touroperator. So we didn't really know where we would end up. To our surprise the cottage we were put in was very comfortable. A central living room was connecting a kitchen, 3 bedrooms and a lovely sauna (which we used extensively). We loved spending time here after being out in the cold all day. There is electrical heating but you can also go out and get some wood (for free) to lighten up the fireplace. Concerning doing your own cooking, there is one very small shop in the hotel which is located in the center of the park. It has a bare minimum of goods. There is also a (daily?) bus connection going to the near town center which takes you to a bigger store where you can find anything you need. Concerning restaurants, there is one in the hotel and one at the reception. There's also a nice bar at the foot of the ski resort. You should have the moose burger there (and the lovely pizzas)!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xof_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salla
24.6 mi away
Hotel Suomutunturi
Hotel Suomutunturi
#2 of 2 in Suomu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Salla
Holiday Club Salla
#2 of 6 in Salla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.8 mi away
PAN Village
PAN Village
#4 of 6 in Salla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Snowpoint Villas
#5 of 6 in Salla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krt Cabins
Krt Cabins
#3 of 21 in Levi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallatunturin Tuvat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallatunturin Tuvat

Property: Sallatunturin Tuvat
Address: Hangasjarventie 1, Salla 98900, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Salla
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Salla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sallatunturin Tuvat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing