We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do have nice cottages in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sallatunturin Tuvat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked a winter holiday to Salla with a few friends through a Dutch touroperator. So we didn't really know where we would end up. To our surprise the cottage we were put in was very comfortable. A central living room was connecting a kitchen, 3 bedrooms and a lovely sauna (which we used extensively). We loved spending time here after being out in the cold all day. There is electrical heating but you can also go out and get some wood (for free) to lighten up the fireplace. Concerning doing your own cooking, there is one very small shop in the hotel which is located in the center of the park. It has a bare minimum of goods. There is also a (daily?) bus connection going to the near town center which takes you to a bigger store where you can find anything you need. Concerning restaurants, there is one in the hotel and one at the reception. There's also a nice bar at the foot of the ski resort. You should have the moose burger there (and the lovely pizzas)!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xof_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week during June. Even though we stayed in one of the smaller cabins, without a sauna, it was well equipped. Two single beds, a sleeping loft (really only suitable for children) kitchenette, shower and toilet. There was also a tv, hot plate, microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, washing machine, clothes drying cabinet, TV, phone.

There is free parking on site and a restaurant, which serves nice traditional meals and there is a cozy area where you could have a drink. There are also bikes on site available for hire and walks that are signposted from the cabins. Some of the walks are for the more experienced but there is a shorter walk which takes you to a lovely spot by a lake.

If you want to cook for yourself the nearest supermarket we could find was in Salla itself. It is quite a large supermarket where you can find most things.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a small conference in Sallatunturi and stayed at the Sallatunturin tuvat. This is a family run place and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I shared a cabin with some colleagues, we all had our own room and shared other facilities. like sauna. Yes, all cabins have their own sauna. Everything was clean and the cabin we had, was almost brand new. I trust that the newly installed wireless will be working already, there were some problems with in the cabins, but an IT -service was already working on them.

All dinner arrangements and programme activities were professionally taken care of. The bar is nice and the restaurant surprisingly good, even for special diets!

I can warmly recommend this place for combining work and a little holiday in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Do go out, hiking, canooing or skiing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed in a new cottage. Very clean, every kind of equipment was available, very large,very close to perfection. Staff at the reception was fluent in English, very helpfull, always available for a talk, ... nice people. The restaurant was very good; prices were not that high and the quality was very good; portions were big. Small drawback : beers are expensive in the Nordic countries, but you know it all before.
The cottages were at a 5 minute walk to the ski rental/slope/ ... area, a 5 minute busride to the Reindeer Park where you have a lot of winter excursions and the snowmobile centre is just in front of the reception.
And on top of that, we saw the northern light.
It's not a cheap destination, but you have all the possible excursions in one week in a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HjalmarGalmaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed in SALLA LOG CABINS between 10th -17th January 2010 booking through Inghams. We went as a couple and do not have children and have never been skiing!

A brief note about the flight from Gatwick, it left more or less on time which was a miracle as the heavy snow at the time affected a lot of other flights. The flight with Jet2 was fine with no problems and small snacks and a drink were provided during the 4 hour flight.

The mini bus transfer to the hotel was great, the rep even let us stop at a big-ish supermarket to stock up as Salla has limited shops. The bus also stopped at the artic circle line so we could have a pic taken with the sign to prove we have been which was nice.

They are single cabins that join on to a cabin at the back. They are designed to sleep 1-3 people and out room had one bunk bed and two single (we tried to push the together but the frames didn't allow us to properly. The room had a hot plate, fridge, cutlery, kettle microwave, toaster etc and was a decent size but mot massive. The bathroom is a little dated but clean which is all that matters.

The resort in amazing, gorgeous, soft white powder snow everywhere that was almost up to my waist in certain places (I’m 6’1’’!!). The resort was very quiet with only one pub which we loved as we like quiet chill out holidays – we wouldn’t have enjoyed a livelier resort as much. The drinks are around 3-4 Euros and there is a free pool table.

The restaurant is amazing and I had reindeer steak with port and chocolate sauce and it was AMAZING, easily the best steak ever! It cost around 26 Euro but was worth it!

The slopes are a short 3 minute walk over the road and looked quiet and a great place to learn – we will definitely take lessons next time we go. The cross country skiing track is huge and apparently excellent. The ski hire shop looked good and we rented a sled for the week for a few Euros which was great fun any time of day and the run was never busy.

There is a self service restaurant at the bottom of the slopes that does great burgers, pizza, chips and pasta etc and is very reasonably priced.

There is another a la carte restaurant in the main hotel building over the road which also has the spa/pool in it which has to be paid for if in the cabins and not a guest in the hotel building itself. The food was good and had a nice little bar, and again the mains were around 20 euros.

There is a small gift shop at the reception by the pub and a very small shop in the hotel reception for essentials only such as bread, milk etc.

We went on the free reindeer feeding trip, mini husky safari, mini reindeer safari, snow walking/ice fishing and snowmobile trips. All were excellent and well run especially the snowmobile and snow walking trips!

Our rep was great and was always available but left us alone. We cannot recommend this enough if you enjoy a small quiet resort.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ganymede_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed here for 1 week at the begining of jan 09. It was my partners first time boarding and so I chose somewhere 'a little quite' so he could get to grips with things. Quiet was the word - it was bliss. No long lines of people waiting for lifts or food in the bars. We had a fab time. The snowboarding is great if a little limited but that was our fault as we went so early in the season not a lot of slopes were open. Waking up every monring and being treated to the sight of the great expanse of artic wilderness is not something I will forget easily. We have now booked to goto Levi in 2010 as could not find a tour operator going to Salla. Expect low temp it hit -35 on one day we were there.
Would not change this holiday for all the world. Would not recomend to people who like the apres-ski night life of the alps as it is not like that at all but if you want to relax this is the one for you. Will let you know how Levi goes!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggerbouncetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed in Salla Tunturin Tuvat for 5 nights which we booked ourselves through a direct reservation with the cottages. Which was apparently not what most Dutch people do, who book the package through the most important touroperator. But as we did not ski or wanted to ski, 5 nights was more than enough and the standard 7 nights you get with an arranged tour through a tour operator would have been too much. Anyways, we booked a ticket with Finnair to Kuusamo (via Helsinki) which were good flights that are nicely connected so you don't have very much additional transfer time. At the Kuusamo airport a general bus service is awaiting at the airport after every arriving flight, so we could take the 1.30hr bus trip (EUR 22 per person) to Salla (taxi will cost you about EUR 220 single trip, so make sure you get the bus).

Our cottage (smallest with own sauna) was clean and ok, we especially loved the fireplace (free wood at the premises of Tuvat) and our own sauna. Dinner was really expensive and not really special, so we chose to do some shopping in Salla and cook ourselves the last 2 nights (don't think that the Salla supermarkt is cheap, because it is not).

Not our cheapest vacation ever, but certainly a memorable one in Salla Winterwonderland with snow up to your hips if you leave the paths which was a great experience. We did a trip on a reindeer sleigh, husky sleigh ride and a trip with the snow scooter, all of them were wonderful and loads of fun.

As we're not the greatest snow persons on earth, we will probably take a sun vacation the next time we have a holiday to spend, but we would certainly recommend Salla for at least one once in a lifetime experience in the middle of nowhere surrounded by snow, snow and snow!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salla hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Salla
Holiday Club Salla
#2 of 6 in Salla
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
1.8 mi away
PAN Village
PAN Village
#3 of 6 in Salla
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Snowpoint Villas
#5 of 6 in Salla
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallatunturin Tuvat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallatunturin Tuvat

Address: Hangasjarventie 1, Salla 98900, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Salla
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Salla
Price Range: $74 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sallatunturin Tuvat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing