We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait but worth it”
Review of Amarillo

Amarillo
Ranked #15 of 83 Restaurants in Rovaniemi
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long wait but worth it”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Restaurant was 1 min away from our hotel, very inviting, warm and good decor. we had to order our drinks at the bar and wait 5 mins for table as place was really busy. once getting the table and ordering our food (they have menus for every language!) we did have a long wait (25 mins) with the staff asking us if we wanted drinks every 2 mins which did get a little annoying. once our food arrived we were very impressed! the main meals were large and hot. the bill wasn't to bad (45 euros between 2 adults)

we would eat here again, but service just needs to be a little bit quicker as the restaurant had to turn people away as it just takes to long to get a table we might have missed out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trouble_V23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    129
    60
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

sorry we did not discover earlier as we had good meal at a reasonable price
We had to wait 30 minutes but was well worth wait

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For that price i expected better.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went to Amarillo(again) a few days ago and yet again was disappointed with the meal. Floating in grease(both our ordered dishes were like that) and not all that tasty.

Should have known better since Amarillo is a Finnish chain of restaurants(same company also owns several other chains of restaurants, grocery store chain and hotel chain).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoutaRescueTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Too much oil and bland food”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Compared to other Mexican restaurants visited in the UK and USA, the food here was bland and the cooked veg for my fajitas was just swimming in grease. My daughter's Borillo sandwich was much tastier with gorgeous potatoes. The boys cleaned up their minute steaks.

Puddings were very small and poor value.

Service was rather slow though once the order was taken food soon appearred. The place was also lacking in atmosphere but we did our best to make up for that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busy_Lissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Good food to reasonable prices in comparison to other places in that area. quick service. for 2 main courses, a large soft drink and large beer we paid 37 euro. Would eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juttaDiemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarillo also viewed

 

Been to Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing