We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for budget travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Borealis
Ranked #1 of 11 Rovaniemi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The place is within a walking distance from the train station. Rooms are simple but ok and breakfast is alright. Staff was helpful and provided the information we needed
It takes about 10 minute walking to reach the center of town ...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EranBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in the Guesthouse Borealis in March for two nights and the room for so so.

The room just had two beds with over head light for reading and a table affixed to the wall.
No TV, bed were comfortable but not enough blankets provided.
The bathroom had seen better days with a bit of mildew starting to grow on the ceiling.
No lift to second floor so don't have a heavy case with you.
The guest house is about 400 meters from the train station, but it is a pain when you have a case and the paths are all snow, BUT it is the hill between the station & gust house that is the problem when you are dragging a case.

Breakfast was reasonable, no fry's just cornflakes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,203,312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in a twin room with little kitchen for our five people for one overnight. All bed is tidy and clean. However, the kitchen implements is a grimy and untidy. The staff didn't tell us the check out time. In the next morning at 10:00 am, the staff came to our room and said " time to go out now" and gave us 5 minute for our packing out only. They are very impolite.
This hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the centre of Rovaniemi. I would stay, I will not take this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the appartment for 4-6 people, with sauna and private entrance. There are 4 single beds and 1 sofabed - in one large room (no inside doors), which was ok for us - if you need more privacy, you might want to make another choice. . There is a large living room/ kitchen with sufficient space. The kitchen has everything we needed to make simple meals - even an oven and a dishwasher, with dishwasher tablets provided. The bathroom has a shower and a sauna (which we used almost every day after returning from the ice cold walks (it was -25 Celsius)). The linen provided consisted of one bath towel per person and was changed every second day. The beds were all made up at our arrival. In the cupboard we found additional bedding, which two of us used. We very much appreciated the free internet, since we wrote a blog every day, and wanted to check the weather frequently.
People at the reception are very nice, and are helpful in any way they can. Breakfast is basic, as described in other reviews, but is filling enough. The coffee is really good!
We had rented a car at the airport, because we wanted to be able to drive around a bit in search for the aurora borealis (no luck, though). On our rides we went to Santa Claus Village (cosy atmosphere - good buffet lunch between 12 and 14 pm for 11.90 euro, drinks and coffee included). We had a ride of 2 km at the Husky Farm closeby (35 euro), which we enjoyed - still found it expensive. The Arctic Snow Hotel is an interesting destination - visit for 10 euro per person - you must have seen it, and this is a good opportunity. We also made a reindeer night tour with camp fire - very nice hosts- quite expensive, though.
Among the nicest experiences were our walks through the snow, in daylight or in the pitch dark, on the Arctic trails . Some of them have fire places, with wood provided (ask at the tourist information)- if you go, don't forget a headlamp or a torch to find your way in the dark.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank designloverFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When searching a place to stay in Rovaniemi, I realised, that prices are in generaly quite high. Therefore 110€/night/3 bed room in Christmas season was a good offer. And.. we got good service. Hostel is within 5 minutes walking from the railway station and bus station, which is great. Also nearest supermarket is very close. Only to the center it was perhaps 20 min. walking but... especialy in wintertime railway and bus station are more important :-)
We stayed in the basement room with separate entrance, which was a great choice. Room has 1 double bed+1 single bed, TV, fridge, coffee machine, big wardrobe.. and own toilet+shower. OK, situated in the corridor but still remember that only we had the access.
Bufet breakfast was very good. Hostel has a well-equiped kitchen.
Staff was nice.
I recommand it especialy if You want to stay little bit longer (we stayed 5 nights which is long enough to try all atractions near as Santa Village, Santa Park, Reindeer/Husky/Aurora Borealis safaries...).

Room Tip: There is a 3bed room or a studio (whit separate kitchen) with separate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Slavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hostel is conveniently located where train station and bus station are just next door. The reception is nice and willing to help who gave me clear directions on how to get to places like Artikum or Santa Claus Village.

The room is a bit basic, with a bed, a desk, a wardrobe and shower room with toilet, but this is all a traveller needs! The breakfast is good with lots of food choice, and you get a relaxing atmosphere there. Kitchen is a bit small if more than one group cook at the same time, but in general it is okay if you don't need to make a feast there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for several nights whilst we were up from Helsinki visiting Santa's home town and were not disappointed. We had been conversing via email for our booking over the course of over a year and always had friendly replies. Nothing was too much trouble, even for this budget hotel.

It's an easy 5-10 minute straight (safe) walk across from the railway station - even in the extreme cold. The proximity to the railway station was the primary reason for staying. The overnight train up from Helsinki gets in at 10.20am, but we were able to leave our luggage to go exploring.

Great staff, very cosy with a homely feel inside.

There is a finely stocked supermarket open until 9pm if you are prepared to walk 10-15 minutes up the road.

We used the kitchen facilities a fair bit. This is a very clean room with some not too shabby equipment from the likes of Bosch and Siemens. Everything you need to make a home cooked meal in the evening or open a bottle of alcohol is here. We used it at lunchtime in-between excursions, but met a very nice bunch of students from the UK who were using it to have their supper.

Breakfast is above average fayre with a bread, cheeses, ham, salami, cereals, yoghurt, coffee and teas. Oh, and the ubiquitous gingerbread biscuits!

We thought it was a bit of a way out from the town centre, but actually in reality, it's only a 15-20 minute walk away. The cold never bothered us - even when it plummeted to below -20C. As the saying goes, there's no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing.

Didn't have our room cleaned or towels replenished daily but we survived. Free Wifi was appreciated. In-room digital flatscreen TV was fine. The blackout curtains in our room didn't work, but as its mostly dark in this part of the world during winter, that's not a problem (but might be in summer).

This is a great choice for the budget conscious who want to explore Rovaniemi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
2.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
0.7 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#9 of 13 in Rovaniemi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
0.5 mi away
Hotelli Aakenus
Hotelli Aakenus
#11 of 13 in Rovaniemi
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borealis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borealis

Address: Asemieskatu 1, Rovaniemi 96100, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $136 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Borealis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Borealis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Borealis Hotel Rovaniemi
Guesthouse Borealis Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing