We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$137
View deal
Expedia.com
$130
View deal
$130
View deal
travelup.com
Priceline$137
Trip.com$222
View all 17 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
188
143
37
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
188
143
37
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas cottages ski resort main building northern lights living room hot milk snow ball small kitchen thermal clothing frozen river location is excellent town centre igor slopes skiing cabin sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 388 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

The hotel, by its name, was dozens of chalets, each with two rooms. Each room is suitable for a couple with a third one in the upper level, and there are also some chalets for families. The rooms are clean, hitted and each have a private sauna, which is nice after a strenuous day. The breakfast is taaty and fresh with both cold and hot food. The hotel is also close to the ski resort, in a walking distance, so it fits also to people who come to ski. We came for several nights so we missed a bit the change and cleaning of the room, but we were told this is the standard in Finland so tried harder to get things right ourselves.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Yoel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

We stayed here for two nights . May be worth noting your chalet may not be ready until 4.00pm. Not the words you want to hear having arrived at 1.00pm and been travelling since 3.00am!

However the chalets are very cosey and warm, with adequate space, spotlessly clean with a sauna in the bathroom.

The staff on the reception were very helpful and spoke excellent english.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious.

A very memorable stay which we would delight in repeating.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank emmar0therham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

Our honeymoon adventures truly started here... while remote enough from the downtown area, it was still close enough to take a cab into the city center and walk around.

The staff was gracious and accommodating, the food was delicious and the drinks were perfect on the nights we had them. There really was nothing better than coming back and having a hot drink by the fire before heading back to the cabin.

The accommodations are simple, but comfortable. The kitchenette was fantastic as we were able to cook for ourselves when we were just too worn out from the day's activities to head back out after getting cleaned up. (Grocer was in the downtown area and was easy to navigate to and from) The sauna was a wonderful addition and pleasant surprise, especially for the days that we spent out in the snow.

If we ever return to this wonderful area we would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018

TUI call this Christmas cottages, but it’s locally known as Ounasvaara chalets (taxis etc). It’s a beautiful hotel in breathtaking scenery and sufficiently remote from the city to feel like you’re in the country.

The chalets at basic but perfectly adequate as you dont really spend time in them and the food in the restaurant was lovely and a nice range of local and other options. Breakfast buffet was particularly good and the evening meal,we had was also very nice with a choice of meats and fish etc.

The hotel staff were also very friendly.

TUI let themselves down though. We had booked a 4 day Christmas trip and been given an itinerary which we had booked additional trips around. However TUI had changed the itinerary when we arrived and the reps were pretty unconcerned about this inconvenience and made no effort to hide this. They also never had up to date or accurate information and the girl “mince pie Mary” scrolled through her phone whilst she was sprang to you, which was just very poor.

I’ve dropeed a star because of this but would go back to the hotel as it was lovely.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeypeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

Nice accommodation. Good location close to city (bit too close if you want a secluded cottage). Great ski and sledge area opposite. Good food. Very expensive drinks. Loft sleeping areas are hard with small children, very steep ladder. Lovely and warm, great sauna. Silent at night

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews