We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical 4 night stay - December 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ounasvaaran Lakituvat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We travelled with Thomson where this accommodation is better know as 'Snowy Cottages'. The cabin was lovely, well laid out and had everything that we needed. The cottages were always warm and the drying cabinet invaluable with 3 children who were always outside in the snow! The cottages are in the middle of nowhere with the nearest shop being quite a walk and the city centre definitely a taxi ride away but for us this is what made this location even more enjoyable. The Sky hotel is in walking distance if you did want something to eat or drink without haven't to go into Rovaniemi. On occasion we picked up other guests staying in hotels in the city and although they looked very nice were really glad we were out in the countryside as this made the holiday feel really magical. The kids were also kept entertained by being able to go outside the door and sledge (a couple were provided in the log store) when ever they wanted, which would have been a bit more challenging if you were in the city. Sauna was great - kids (and husband) loved having a go! Breakfast/starter pack that was delivered shortly after we arrived was great included bacon, eggs, tea, bread, milk, juice - all the things you would need on your first day. Log burner was easy to use and was heated the whole cabin although you never felt cold with the underfloor heating. As a family we loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a picture perfect vacation in Santa Claus Land. Location was superb (in terms of the Privacy, ambience and exclusivity). Check-in was via a pin emailed to you to access the keys through a box at the entrance so nobody greeted you upon arrival at your cabin. Location was very isolated as the city centre was about 2 km away and that made walking for groceries near impossible in the sub-zero temperatures. We booked this idyllic cottage from Safartica as I understand that others like Santasport and the Sky Hotel have similar cottages all rented from the same owner. Cabin had 2 rooms and a loft room which sleeps a total of 6 comfortably. Ample firewood in the storeroom to keep you toasty warm although we did not really need it as the cottage had nicely heated floors already (in fact it can bee too warm if the fireplace is raging). Nintendo Wii was provided but we came here for the snow so nobody was crazy enough to waste our precious time playing with it. Full kitchen with all utensils crockery, Fridge, Diswasher, Toaster, coffeemaker, hot water boiler microwave etc... Full fledge kitchen meant you could cook you meals instead of spending money on an expensive Finnish meal at the nearby Sky Hotel where we had our Breakfast. Wonderful cabinet type dryer meant you could have dry and toasty clothes everyday. Sauna was hardly utilised as we were too busy playing in the thick snow just outside the cabin. Hot water was a real JOKE as it was only sufficient for 4 people max. the 5th and 6th person who bathed consecutively would be freezing their buns off in the chilly water. Seriously, they could increase the storage capacity of the water tank to accommodate the number of people. Sleds were provided in the storage shed so you could slide down the slopes outside your cabin.

FIRE HAZARD! Our cabin burnt down on our 3rd morning due to a faulty electrical dishwasher wiring( which we never used)! Our 3rd day in Rovaniemi was marred with damaged personal belongings and wasted time evacuating our cottage and filling out police reports. Safartica quickily housed us in a neighbouring lodge owned by Santasport but our request for compensation for wasted time, trauma and inconvenience was flatly turned down :-( Frankly we could all have been roasted or smoked if the fire had happened while we were asleep but Safartica felt that it was not their problem. They only have smoke detectors but no sprinklers in the cabin.

In general, the staff at Safartica and the nearby Sky Hotel (where we had our expensive breakfast) were friendly but not warm as I could sense that they were just answering our request and questions out of obligation. Maybe it was a language thing but they could really improve their people skills.

Overall, the experience was still fantastic but the fire was a real bummer as it screwed up our plans and we wasted one whole day on Rovaniemi! :-(

We will still go back there maybe next year but I hope they clean up their act and maybe give us a cabin that wount kill you in your sleep!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank StevieTeo6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom cottage. The accommodation is very cosy with a fire stove to warm up after a long day outdoor. On the first day, we went for a short walk in the forest covered by snow. It was picture "Narnia" perfect and we even saw a couple of reindeers. We arranged a tour with Safartica, which the whole family enjoyed, especially the husky ride, not to be missed. The following day, we decided to be bold and tested the sauna in the cottage followed by ...a snow shower, which was a lot of fun ! The kitchen is well equipped and practical, and all appliances worked perfectly (laundry machine, dryer, dish washer). The only negative was the cleaning, as mentioned in previous reviews: upon arrival, we noted that the kitchen sink and coffee machine were not (properly) cleaned and found a couple of quite dirty plates a the bottom of the pile in the cupboard...But all in all, this is a perfect place for families. We would recommend a car as there is no supermarket nearby. City center is a 10-15mn drive, airport is only 20-25mn drive, as is the Santa claus village.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchconnection88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family ( 5 persons ) stayed there for two nights and the experience was great.

Cottages are well equipped and spacious with great location near center of Rovaniemi ( car recommended ).

We had minor issues with playstation ( obviously important with the kids :-) ) but that was fixed within an hour by the stuff.

Only negative was the level of cleaning. In overall everything was ok but seem to be that cleaner had a bad back as the floor wasn't cleaned under the sofa and beds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Absolute Top Spot in Rovaniemi. Great Location just a few minutes with the car to the city in a peaceful area with lot of nature around. The Sauna and fireplace in the house are great for cozy evenings.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Karolin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

These little chalets out in the woods would be _perfect_ for wintertime activities. They are out in the woods and located very close to the cross-country skiing trails. When you enter the house, there's a nice porch (bring a BBQ?), a entry room for taking off clothes and skis, and then you go into the house and its really quite spacious. The heated floors are gorgeous, the woodwork is very well done, and the tables, couch and electronics are not bad either. The best part about this accommodation, however, is the massive wetroom and the sauna. The pictures you see here -- http://www.ounasvaaranlakituvat.fi/en -- are not deceptive. They're pretty much spot on. And honestly, the sauna was really bloody fabulous. The cottage also has two levels and can sleep up to six different people in beds (seven if you want to make someone sleep on the couch).

But I haven't ranked it as highly in part because we came in the summertime. and we should probably have managed our expectations differently. Ultimately, I think that detracted from a few things.

First, there were bugs. Lots of bugs. Inside the cabin. We had expected mosquitos in Lapland (and they do sell OFF bug spray everywhere up there); and we knew we were in a cabin in the woods; but there were places where the bugs were coming into the cabin from holes and getting everywhere. We spent the first 1.5 days killing lots and lots of bugs. We also noticed the downstairs bedroom was relatively bug free, and made sure we kept that door closed. That having been said, when we let people know about that, they got us some materials to help us manage the bug level. Again -- in the winter -- you wouldn't have to manage this and it would be perfectly lovely.

Second, its self-catering. We knew there was a grocery store nearby (about 1.5k each way), and we were able to sort ourselves out. But there were a few things I hadn't known we would need to buy (like coffee, tea or olive oil). Luckily there was some salt and a bit of sugar there. There is a very nicely stocked set of dishes and cutlery, so that makes it easy to do your cooking. This could actually be quite nice in the end. And the Sky Hotel is just a few minutes walk away, so you can also just go there for a coffee or a meal.

Third, none of the beds there were double beds. We were surprised that, for every single one of the three rooms where there were beds, not a single room actually had a double bed. They were all either individual single beds, or two single beds pushed together -- which could easily fall apart and you could fall down the crack if you weren't careful. The folks were sympathetic to our problem and helped us put on new sheets on sideways so that we didn't have as much of a problem; but we couldn't help being surprised and thinking that -- as each of the cottages is apparently organized in the same way -- it might be worth (at least for one room out of three) investing in a mattress overlay to make two twin beds more like a single bed for couples.

Ultimately, we found the staff kind and responsive to our concerns; and we thought they were very professional. The build of the cottages is not bad, but it is more suited to winter than summer (perhaps understandable as summer is low season). If we were back, particularly to come skiing, we would consider returning given the many plusses ... and the fabulous sauna!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ísis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.1 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
3.3 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
2.7 mi away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
619 reviews
1.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
1.7 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounasvaaran Lakituvat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounasvaaran Lakituvat

Address: Hiihtomajantie, Rovaniemi 96400, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $152 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ounasvaaran Lakituvat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ounasvaaran Lakituvat chalets are located in Rovaniemi, on top of the Ounasvaara fell, at the Arctic Circle.The chalets are in the middle of a network of hiking trails and cross country ski tracks. Ski slopes are only 200 metres away. Santa Sport Center with it`s modern well being services and spa facility is within a walking distance. Those who enjoy golf Ounasvaara offers possibility to play round a clock during the bright summer nights.Although surrounded by nature where reindeer are often seen, the cottages are only about two kilometers away from lively Rovaniemi centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ounasvaaran Lakituvat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounasvaaran Lakituvat Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing