We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place in a charming village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very nice well managed hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Located in the very heart of Rovaniemi close to all shops, main bars and restaurants and other hotels. Not far from Santa’s Village (by bus or taxi (about 20 Euros)), which is a must to visit even if you are an adult

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 640 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

We chose this hotel as part of our Santa Claus trip with Thompsons and were very happy. We had adjoining rooms so the kids were safely (and quietly) just one door away. The rooms are comfortable without being over the top. A good TV (in which you can plug in a USB harddrive so bring your movies!), coffee/tea, safe, plenty of storage, nice sized bathroom (with good bath), comfy beds. The sauna on the top floor is nice also. Internet cost me 15Euro for the whole 3 days which I found reasonable.

Breakfast is excellent, cold meats, cheese, salmon, hot sausage, eggs, bacon, loads of cereals and fruit, waffle maker and some of the best bread I've had.

Your location couldn't be better - right out the front door is the main street with pubs, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Nights are long in the winter - bring a hard drive with USB filled with kids cartoons/tv shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackinthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of Rovaniemi. Rooms are simple but has coffee maker and iron if needes. Oversll athmosphere is relaxed, well suited for families and couples aswell. Take yor time to enjoy a Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice enough. The rooms were clean and spacious.
Although if people are smoking in their room it seems to travel through the heating system and can be smelt quite strongly in your room.
The breakfast was fantastic and included in the room tarif.
The reception staff are friendly enough but don't offer any services such as restaurant or activity bookings.
There are plenty of restaurants and shopping around within very easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rovaniemi is a cute town and the Hotel Santa Claus was a great choice for our two nights there. As noted below, a pleasant lobby where you get free wi-fi (but not in the rooms) that even played one of my favorite newer rock bands overhead, plus a nice cafe to the side and a restaurant one floor above. Breakfast was quite decent and not the zoo some of these buffets can be. Amazing croissants. They even have a rack to heat your towels in the large bathroom. Had a wonderful meal at Nili a 3 min walk away, good bars closeby and the Lapland Welcome people pick you up for their Northern Lights tour. A good time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great Hotel. Central Location, Very friendly, helpful and prompt staff. Can speak fluent English.
Restaurant serves some of the best meals in Europe..worth visiting for the restaurant alone!

Room is large, clean and comfortable. Wifi is excellent. For family or business, a fabulous stay, and great value

Room Tip: Enjoy a dinner...it is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Santa Claus Hotel is in excellent location. Near the bridge and river. Bus to Santa Claus Village just at the next street. It is near to supermarket and many restaurant and cafe. It is easy to walk to Artikum and other tourist point.

If you like night life, there is pub nearby also. I feel safe even walk at 11 pm to the river bank, hope to see Northern Light. too bad cannot see it :(

Breakfast is good. We can make waffle !!

The ceiling of the room is high, except for the top floor (6th). The corridor is bright.

Staff are helpful. When we told them the airport bus is late, they called for us.

However, there are points to mention:

At first we were assigned a room on 6th floor. But there was no ventilation in the room. And the corridor is darker. Maybe the hotel want to retain the old style ?

Engineer does not work in the weekend so no one can fix it and only choice is to change room.

No matter how, I will still consider this hotel when I visit Rovaniemi next time. But will be sure to avoid top floor.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank siusiubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
4.1 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arctic City Hotel
Arctic City Hotel
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
627 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
3.2 mi away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Hotel Santa Claus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Hotel Santa Claus

Address: Korkalonkatu 29, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Santa Claus)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $153 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa's Hotel Santa Claus 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and Finnish in style set in shopping mall complex in the heart of town near the river; 2 km from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa's Hotel Santa Claus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Santa Claus
Clarion Hotel Rovaniemi
Claus Hotel Santa
Santa Claus Hotel
Clarion Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Clarion
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing