We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CHOICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
Kielce
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD CHOICE”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel centrally located, if you book some snow activities (snowmobiles) this hotel is just next to snowmobiles parking. Rooms are small but clean, very quiet. For dinner wide choice of fishes and meats. Buffet breakfast with eggs, sausages, salmon, tomato, salads, few kinds of breads, It;s OK. One inconvenience - you have to take your key card all the time with you to enter hotel or use lift. Forgetting is quite complicated - to reach your room (only one hope - when your partner is in the room)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Greetings from sunny Rovaniemi!
Thank You for taking the time to write the review. Our location is one of our strenghts and I`m very pleased to hear that you think so too. We are also very proud of our various restaurant services in our hotel. You write about the inconvenience with the keycards. This is strongly related to our customers security. To garantee our customer security we keep our lifts and corridors locked. If our customers have problems with the keycards, our staff will be more than happy to help them.
With kindest regards,
Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    185
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
144
111
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was happy with this hotel, stayed one night in a work trip. Hotel was quite modern, stylish and have nice facilities like basic Finnish hotels. Hotel have also friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast, continental style but that is what to be expected. Hotel has also nice small restaurant and location was near the main town, river and shops. Would definitely use this hotel when going back there. Had a nice stay.

Summa summarum, nice place to stay beacause location was also very good.

Stayed Nowember 2011, work trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JukeVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Superb hotel, located just near the river . Rooms clean and tidy, and very helpful staff. Big thanks to "Heidi" at reception who always had a smile and very helpful also :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeD1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
297 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Nobody cleaned our two rooms for two days we were there, no changing towels, no paper, etc.. We told to receptionist and she justified without reasons and neither changed the situation, i think that for the hotel's price the behaviour was unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mononoke1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

As there are so many nice hotels in the same price range in Rovaniemi, I wouldn't stay here again until it's renovated. Funny to say that in Lapland one would need air conditioning in a hotel, but the room we were given was above the common sauna - and it was very warm as was the weather on that summer. We couldn't open the windows for the night as they faced the backyard where the restaurant's trashbins for glassbottles were situated (noisy!). For the second night we got a suite with IC but unfortunately it was pretty noisy because of the restaurant terrace just below the windows. Also the breakfast is pretty modest and the tables are not cleaned during the breakfast hours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familolidaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The rooms were clean. It was easy to find the place and the restaurant was great. It had plenty of parking space and staff made is feel comfortable. The breakfast was good and healthy. all in all a good place

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkat_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with a group of 60 people. Check in was fast despite the run to the reception desk upon leaving the bus. Staff was helpful and very friendly.
The room is cosy with 2 single beds, a small sofa and a desk. Plenty of cabinet space to store your arctic clothing and boots. Bathroom clean and efficient.
I'm not into saunas but my group members said the hotel sauna was a very nice accommodation: hot, clean and plenty of towels. The staff's tip to use the sauna while drinking beer was greeted with applause. Breakfast and dinner was served in huge quantities and lots of dished to choose from.
All in all, excellent hotel on perfect location in Rovamieni.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbarellAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
345 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
74 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
Address: Koskikatu 4, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel situated in downtown Rovaniemi, in the heart of Finnish Lapland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing