We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT CENTRAL HOTEL.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Rovaniemi
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this splendid hotel. the reception was great and also close to a shopping centre. the rooms are on the small side as was the bathroom but all worked well
Breakfast was good . You must visit the BULL bar and grill good beer great steaks
Sad to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Customers,

I really enjoyed your kind feedback from our hotel and Rovaniemi. You have had nice time here in Arctic Circle - I´am happy:) Spring is coming and we have now much more light outside than few weeks ago! After one month the sun shines all day long, That´s true!!

Do you know what? I like also good bear and great stakes in Bull Bar & Grill

I hope to see you here in Rovaniemi again, why not in wintertime?

Best Regards,

Jaana & City Hotel Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel Rovaniemi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 593 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights .Room small bit clean ,beds really comfortable .Wifi rubbish have to keep logging on .Only 2 movies available on the movie channels which were the same for the 4 days duration of my stay .Breakfast excellent ,as was the resturant food .

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback during your staying in our hotel. We have had some problems with wifi connections this month. I ám so sorry that wifi doesn´t worked properly during your visit.

I hope that dispite wifi problems you have had nice time in Rovaniemi.
You are very welcome again to Lapland

Best Regards,
Jaana Laaksonen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room was small but it was tidy. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, but the wifi sucked. There is a hotel bar, but in the basement there is another bar worth visiting for its good beer selection. Overall, pretty much what you would expect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sveinn Birkir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your visit in Rovaniemi and City Hotel. I ám happy to hear, that you have been pleased for our service. I ám really sorry about our wifi, which doesn´t worked so well.
There have been some problems with wifi connections but know it´s working.

I wish you all the best and it would be nice to see you again in Rovaniemi

Best Regards,
Jaana Laaksonen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel as good value for money, the room was a good size, clean and tidy. The breakfast is very good, and sets you up for the day. Downstairs bar was a little disappointing with little atmosphere and rude bar staff. Hotel reception staff on the other hand were helpful and polite. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night, the food was good but a limited selection of options to chose from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your staying in City Hotel Rovaniemi, it´s nice to hear that you have been pleased for our reception staff and breakfast.

I ´am really sorry about your experince from our bar and bar staff downstair, I will talk with them and go throw what has happen. Our most important thing is take good care about our
customers in every department.

You are very welcome to Lapland again!

Kind Regards,

Jaana Laaksonen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The room is small. Once you place two opened luggages on the floor, you have no space to walk. Though we were told free wifi is included, the wifi is extremely slow as the hotel has limited the bandwidth to 516k (sth like that). Staff in general is okay, however, we have met a very unhelpful staff who really upset us. We went to the reception counterto ask for advice on the closest place to see aurora. The receptionist wanted to tell us how to go to the sky hotel, but then another staff with pony tail immediately come n pass a aurora tour leaflet to the receptionist, and hinted her, if not asked, to tell us abt the aurora tour instead to teaching ua how to go ourselves. This incident totally ruined our mood, and the next day we were told by some tourist that they saw beautiful aurora the day before.


Location is good, indeed many choices available and all hotels' locations are as convenient. The restaurant in the hotel monte rosa is nice.

Last point, the toilet was partitioned by a glass wall, which there is no curatin or blind for you to opt.

To conclude, i wont recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chankaren1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We've stayed at Rovaniemi (City Hotel) for 3 days.
Our room was free before our arriving and it's a reason we had an opportunity for early check-in.
After 22 hours of traveling it was more than useful.
The "payment" for this ability was a cleaning after previous guest (probably, a room was empty for a while), not before our arriving. As the result, there were a lot of dust.
The regular cleaning was pretty qualitative.
We had a sound proof in a room and didn't hear any noises, so we had a good night sleep.
The restaurant of hotel was perfect and staff spoke English, French, Polish, Russian.
The location is just excellent - everything was in a walk distance (buses to Ranua and Santa's Village, Arctic Center, other restaurants and shops).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Father_Aleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Smallish but with new and extremely pleasant , quiet and functional rooms this central hotel has a very nice restaurant with excellent , tasty breakfast , and a night club on its premises . It`s an excellent choice when in the city . Lapland safari tour provider offices are also in close vicinity making it even better .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana L, General Manager at City Hotel Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback from Rovaniemi. I ´am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your staying in our hotel.

You are very welcome to Lapland again!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
385 reviews
4.3 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rovaniemi

Address: Pekankatu 9, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Top City Hotel Rovaniemi)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $116 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Rovaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An international hotel set right in the very centre of town next to shopping areas. Exceptional comfort and personal service create a cosy entirety for business or pleasure. The hotel has a fantastic location with warm and personal décor and delicious cuisine.The numerous sights and destinations within easy reach provide you with an opportunity to escape everyday routines. The excellent location of the capital of Lapland provides a perfect departure point for your adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Hotel Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top City Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Top City Hotel
City Hotel Rovaniemi Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing