We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Rovaniemi
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great friendly hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a great medium sized hotel. The rooms are small, but hey, you wont be spending lots of time in them. Bathrooms are small but the shower was great. The breakfast is great with lots of local food. The staff were most helpful throughout my stay. The restaurant at this hotel is great. We dined here one evening as a group of 12. The food was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bones6t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    259
    107
    30
    11
See reviews for
141
247
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We dropped our luggage off at the hotel early in the morning and walked (about 5 min) to the pick up point for the Sampo Ice breaker (booked it through Kemi Tourism Ltd) at 'Aallonkatu' bus stop (see map.Also the bus stop for the NO. 8 bus for Santa Claus Village and Santa Park. Don't get on that bus!), located directly outside Lapland Safari Group. The coach (for tourist with logo: Kemi) took us to Kemi which was about one and half hour. We also took the same coach on our turn journey to Rovaniemi ( Check with the driver that he will stop at Rovaniemi ! Could have easily got on the wrong coach to Kemi! ) and the driver dropped us off at the same bus station ( please double check with operator) in Rovaniemi.

Back in the hotel, the lovely staff checked us in; collected the luggage and headed to our room. The suite was small but cosy and beds were comfortable too. We had a great night sleep.
The following morning after the early morning breakfast, which was delicious and great selections in a hall which was beautiful decorated with Christmas decoration..., we took the 8:15 shuttle bus (stopped at the front entrance of the hotel, info which we got from reception. Great, coz it was freezing cold and we didn't have to drag our luggage around!) to the Rovaniemi Airport for our 9:15 am flight. The driver except payment via credit card, great by the end of my journey I ran out of Euro!

Everything went smoothly and we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were in Rovaniemi with a 7 hour wait for a train. All the luggage lockers at the station were full, so we headed into Rovaniemi and the City Hotel. The staff here very kindly agreed to let us leave our enormous bags in their luggage room so we could go and explore, which was very kind of them. We came back later and had some lovely food in the Bull Bar and Grill. So although we didn't stay at this hotel I have to say a big thank you to the staff for helping us out and for the delicious food!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisoniponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rooms are incredibly tiny - think of a small room and then halve the size! You couldn't walk straight around the bed without hitting the desk or the TV on the wall. The bathroom is even smaller - you can go to the loo, shower and brush your teeth in the sink all at the same time.
That is the con.

The are many more pros than cons! We spent so much time on various tours that we only slept and showered in the room and it was sufficient for that purpose - the bed was comfy and the bathroom was warm. Once you are in the bed, you don't really need much more room space!

The breakfast was amazing - I think my 3-year-old ate her weight in watermelon and my 7-year-old couldn't get enough of the nutella pancakes. In a land that serves mainly fish (which the kids don't eat), this was the one meal they enjoyed - and, as my eldest gasped, it's for free (well, sort of).

The staff were all amazing. I have never seen such efficiency - big smiles, happy to help out and always ready with a suggestion. I wanted to extend my stay by one night - not only did they accommodate me, but they allowed us to stay in the same room. When I needed a taxi, they called for one and it arrived with minutes. They even offered little sleds for the kids that we could use for taking them for rides.

The location is also terrific - across the road from a huge Christmas tree, really quaint little cottages selling home industry items, restaurants and shops and... the ice slide. My daughters spent hours on that ice slide and it was declared the best part of the trip (other than Santa, of course).

All in all, I would stay at the City Hotel again despite the size of the room. As the saying goes - it's not the size that counts - and the City Hotel makes up for the size with great quality service.

Thank you so much to all the staff who made our stay especially amazing, especially thanks to Alexi who is so professional and efficient!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atheracm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed one night at the City Hotel and we found it to be a great hotel. Friendly staff, great room and comfy bed. The location is fantastic as it across the road from the main shopping mall and within walking distance to most city sites.
The downstairs bar is also great for a cheap meal and drink after your Article adventures!
Breakfast buffet has all the normal options for a hearty breakfast but be warned, food starts to run out approaching the end of service and this is normally the busiest time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here three nights in December. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good food in restaurant at night but pricey. Free internet is unreliable - slow and frequent interruptions to connection. Faster internet is available for 5 euros per 24 hours but did not try it.
Staff friendly and helpful throughout hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seemed to be a good size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moraybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room on the second floor.
No noise problem. Warm enough. Good hot shower. Welcome chocolate and complimentary water, coffee and tea.
Good location, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping place.
Really small room, supposedly to look larger with a mirror on entire wall. Modern decoration.
Well provision of toilet amenities, shower gel, body lotion, shampoo conditioner, slippers, hair dryer. A very nice bathtub.
See through bathroom. You can look inside the bathroom from your bed via a totally transparent glass. Reception would be willing to help you cover it up if you need to.
Very friendly staff at reception. Very willing to help in answering questions and try to have a good relationship with customers.
Nice standard breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
345 reviews
4.3 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
0.1 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
#10 of 13 in Rovaniemi
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rovaniemi

Property: City Hotel Rovaniemi
Address: Pekankatu 9, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Top City Hotel Rovaniemi)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Rovaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An international hotel set right in the very centre of town next to shopping areas. Exceptional comfort and personal service create a cosy entirety for business or pleasure. The hotel has a fantastic location with warm and personal décor and delicious cuisine.The numerous sights and destinations within easy reach provide you with an opportunity to escape everyday routines. The excellent location of the capital of Lapland provides a perfect departure point for your adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top City Rovaniemi
Rovaniemi Top City Hotel
City Hotel Rovaniemi Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing