We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
193
291
123
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
291
123
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonte rosabar grillrooms are smallrecommend this hotelnice hotelcentral locationshort staynice breakfastrestaurants and shopsvery pleasant staybus stopreception staffmidnight sunsanta claus villagebullreindeermirror
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 657 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were in Rovaniemi with a 7 hour wait for a train. All the luggage lockers at the station were full, so we headed into Rovaniemi and the City Hotel. The staff here very kindly agreed to let us leave our enormous bags in their luggage room so we could go and explore, which was very kind of them. We came back later and had some lovely food in the Bull Bar and Grill. So although we didn't stay at this hotel I have to say a big thank you to the staff for helping us out and for the delicious food!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisoniponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rooms are incredibly tiny - think of a small room and then halve the size! You couldn't walk straight around the bed without hitting the desk or the TV on the wall. The bathroom is even smaller - you can go to the loo, shower and brush your teeth in the sink all at the same time.
That is the con.

The are many more pros than cons! We spent so much time on various tours that we only slept and showered in the room and it was sufficient for that purpose - the bed was comfy and the bathroom was warm. Once you are in the bed, you don't really need much more room space!

The breakfast was amazing - I think my 3-year-old ate her weight in watermelon and my 7-year-old couldn't get enough of the nutella pancakes. In a land that serves mainly fish (which the kids don't eat), this was the one meal they enjoyed - and, as my eldest gasped, it's for free (well, sort of).

The staff were all amazing. I have never seen such efficiency - big smiles, happy to help out and always ready with a suggestion. I wanted to extend my stay by one night - not only did they accommodate me, but they allowed us to stay in the same room. When I needed a taxi, they called for one and it arrived with minutes. They even offered little sleds for the kids that we could use for taking them for rides.

The location is also terrific - across the road from a huge Christmas tree, really quaint little cottages selling home industry items, restaurants and shops and... the ice slide. My daughters spent hours on that ice slide and it was declared the best part of the trip (other than Santa, of course).

All in all, I would stay at the City Hotel again despite the size of the room. As the saying goes - it's not the size that counts - and the City Hotel makes up for the size with great quality service.

Thank you so much to all the staff who made our stay especially amazing, especially thanks to Alexi who is so professional and efficient!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atheracm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed one night at the City Hotel and we found it to be a great hotel. Friendly staff, great room and comfy bed. The location is fantastic as it across the road from the main shopping mall and within walking distance to most city sites.
The downstairs bar is also great for a cheap meal and drink after your Article adventures!
Breakfast buffet has all the normal options for a hearty breakfast but be warned, food starts to run out approaching the end of service and this is normally the busiest time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here three nights in December. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good food in restaurant at night but pricey. Free internet is unreliable - slow and frequent interruptions to connection. Faster internet is available for 5 euros per 24 hours but did not try it.
Staff friendly and helpful throughout hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seemed to be a good size and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moraybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room on the second floor.
No noise problem. Warm enough. Good hot shower. Welcome chocolate and complimentary water, coffee and tea.
Good location, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping place.
Really small room, supposedly to look larger with a mirror on entire wall. Modern decoration.
Well provision of toilet amenities, shower gel, body lotion, shampoo conditioner, slippers, hair dryer. A very nice bathtub.
See through bathroom. You can look inside the bathroom from your bed via a totally transparent glass. Reception would be willing to help you cover it up if you need to.
Very friendly staff at reception. Very willing to help in answering questions and try to have a good relationship with customers.
Nice standard breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews