We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilke Science Centre

Pilke Science Centre
Ranked #12 of 61 things to do in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do you feel attracted by northern forests? If so, your place is Pilke in Rovaniemi in Finnish Lapland near the Arctic Circle. The exhibition of the science center will take you for an exploration of current forest issues, while the Pilke Shop offers forest products to all senses.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

During our visit there were many kids here. Here they can learn about forest, technology and play games.

Although we felt awkward between kids but we enjoyed our short visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vasavapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My three and five year old loved this place. We spent hours playing and learning. The gift shop is very nice. Plan on few hours and let the kids just have fun. And you end up finding out a lot abou some interesting things too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank violetne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Innovative teaching methods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I liked Pilke both because the "games" it offered were innovative and creative, but also because the building is beautiful and I was part of a tour. It was well lit with daylight, practical, and well laid out.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This centre turned out to be a very informative one without being boring. It's very interactive and worth a visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank saliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Getting to know the forest!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Nice idea to teach childen about the forests and wood in general. I was there as a solo business traveller, so I did not find the exhibiition all that interesting, but there were some school children there, who apparently enjoyed themselves with the games available. The smell of wood left a lasting impression. Impressive staricase!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilke Science Centre also viewed

 
Rovaniemi, Lapland
Rovaniemi, Lapland
 

Been to Pilke Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing