We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting to know the forest!”

Pilke Science Centre
Ranked #12 of 63 things to do in Rovaniemi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do you feel attracted by northern forests? If so, your place is Pilke in Rovaniemi in Finnish Lapland near the Arctic Circle. The exhibition of the science center will take you for an exploration of current forest issues, while the Pilke Shop offers forest products to all senses.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Getting to know the forest!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Nice idea to teach childen about the forests and wood in general. I was there as a solo business traveller, so I did not find the exhibiition all that interesting, but there were some school children there, who apparently enjoyed themselves with the games available. The smell of wood left a lasting impression. Impressive staricase!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    19
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't be the first place I would recommend visiting”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We found it rather uninteresting especially after the Arktikum. Wasn't much there. The interactive areas would probably be really attractive to children. I believe it is new so with time I expect it to improve.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I've never been to Pilke before, and when i first got inside i was amazed how beautiful the building was from the inside. I don't think there is anything more you could do to improve it, there was much to do and to learn about the forest.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank beetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“No big deal at all.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have taken our son to Science museums in many places, and this place wasn't great at all. Its just a huge room, with many exhibits related to foresting and tree felling.It was quite expensive, and a little disappointing to see that after paying so much, the exhibits included things like remote controlled cars!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiiaRovaniemi, Ms. Miia Ritola, Science Centre Pilke, Customer Service at Pilke Science Centre, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
November 9, 2011
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your feedback and views about Science Centre Pilke. We are sincerely sorry that the exhibition didn’t meet your expectations. We are very grateful of all kind of feedback. We would kindly like to open up the exhibition a little bit and wish you warmly welcome again.

The exhibition tells about the sustainable use of the northern forests from various perspectives by interacting and doing. Focus is on present day and in the future. Sustainable use of forests consists of economical, cultural, ecological and social aspects:

Welcome to Sahanperä- section reminds the visitor about the area's local past. Forest from Trees- section tells about the ecology and biology of forests. A Tree Is Falling - section focuses on forestry and forest economy, on a tree's journey starting in the forest and ending in various downstream processing destinations. All from Wood- section illustrates the various forms of wood use from familiar building purposes to medicines and to foods beneficial to health. Men and Women of the Forests – section opens a cultural viewpoint to the uses of forests and their significance.

The remote controlled log trucks are meant for children to find an easier approach to the logistics and transport in the forestry. There are also possibilities for drawing, reading and playing among many exhibits. We think that learning can also be fun.

Pilke-Inspirer’s are working in the Science Centre to help people to interact with the subject and each other. Please contact them or any other member of the staff when visiting Pilke.

It is very unfortunate that you found the price expensive. We hope that you noticed our combined tickets with Arktikum and Korundi that are valid for three days. The ticket for Pilke + Arktikum is 15€. Children under 7 years and senior citizens go for free and children 7-15 years for 5€. Standard ticket price is 7 €. We try to maintain the general level of prices.

Once again we are very sorry that your visit to Science Centre Pilke was not all that it could have been and we hope that the remainder of your trip to Rovaniemi was most enjoyable.

Sincerely Yours

Ms. Miia Ritola, Science Centre Pilke, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Open your eyes to the world of wood at Pilke House in Rovaneimi!”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Pilke-house opened my eyes to new uses for wood and a greater understanding of the importance, not only Finnish of forests, but forests around the world! A delightful destination for children of all ages. Wonderful gift shop. Great educational and recreational resource. A "must-do" when in Rovaneimi.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Lani U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilke Science Centre also viewed

Rovaniemi, Lapland
Rovaniemi, Lapland
 

Been to Pilke Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing