We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Claus Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Claus Holiday Village to your Saves list
Santa Claus Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tahtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Must Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights, and it was well worth the money spent. The cottages are clean and spacious, and it was great to have a kitchenette as well.
I had been excited about staying here for months, but my boyfriend was not. However, we both thoroughly enjoying our time here, and cannot stop telling people how great it was!!!
The cottages and village itself weren't cheesy; just cute!
We especially loved riding through the village on the sledge that comes with the cabin.
Bring out a flask of minttu and let the kid in you come out to play for a few days!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raahe, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

spent weekend with family and friends. excellent hotel with nice located and maintained cottages. friendly and proactive personnel. all Santa-specific activities are in one step from hotel. lack of restaurants in this area.

Room Tip: cottage 29 was good and far enough from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
430 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Location: 8 kms from Rovaniemi, along the Arctic circle
Hotel: Cabins, restaurant, access to Santa Claus etc
Room: Big cozy cabin with kitchenette, dining table, sofa, double bed, sauna
Positives: Good cabin, easy access to Santa Claus activities, free pick-up & drop to airport
Negatives: No entertainment for young couples, hotel restaurant shuts by 9 (others shut at 5pm), internet didn't work in room, no phones in room to even get in touch with reception

I made the mistake of not researching enough before booking the SCHV. The hotel, its rooms and ease of accessibility to the Santa Claus related attractions are great for a family, but given then lack of any entertainment, they aren't so good for couples.

The hotel is located 8km from Rovaniemi city and there are public buses that ply the route, but only until 7pm, after which one has to cab it up. The location of the hotel is strategic because the Arctic Circle passes right through it and therefore makes sense from their perspective. However, there is absolutely no entertainment of any form (except for a tv in our room) for couples or for that matter even for grown up children as all the attractions shut at 5. I saw the same 3 couples sitting in the otherwise empty restaurant from 7 to 9pm (when the restaurant too shuts). The internet never worked in our room over all 3 days and hence couldn't pass time surfing the net.

The cabins were great, each cabin was divided into 2 apartments, so if you are a family seeking 2 rooms, then you can get 1 cabin and leave use the external door, leaving the ones inside open. Each apartment had a kitchen, dining table, a sofa, 2 single beds, a large enough bathroom with a sauna. So if you are here with kids for relaxation, then this village is great. However, breakfast is served in the restaurant adjacent to the main reception and one has to walk a few mins depending on where your cottage is located. The ladies at the reception are very helpful and will drive you to your cottage when you arrive with your luggage (back saver!)

Attractions - this complex has several attractions, primary one being Santa Claus himself, meeting and greeting the bearded linguist is free, but one has to pay €15 for a picture. You can have Santa write a letter to your loved ones for €7. You can also buy loads of Santa & X'mas related souvenirs. Then there's a post office which sends postcards either immediately or on X'mas depending on which box you choose. You can also shop a bit of Finnish designer goods such as Ittala and Marimekko. Then you can head to the information centre, where you can have you passport stamped with 'I crossed the Arctic on xx/xx/xxxx" stamp for less than €1. You can also slide down icey slides and have your picture taken crossing the Arctic Circle. Then there's an Ice World to which you have to pay to enter and a short reindeer ride option.

A whole day is more than enough in this village and I would strongly recommend staying in Rovaniemi and commuting by public transport (Bus #8 from the Railway station and from outside the Information Centre at SCHV). Only stay if they have improved the evening entertainment options or you are with children and want to relax.

Room Tip: Get the cabins closest to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am a wholly deaf solo traveller. During March 2013, I stayed at the Santa Claus Holiday Village, Napapiiri near Rovaniemi for 4 nights. I arrived in Rovaniemi Airport (5 minutes’ journey by minibus to SCHV) and I met the friendly Santa Claus Holiday Village minibus driver before he drove me directly to my cabin, because the reception was closed after 10pm – he gave me the information sheet and the guests’ details form for me to fill in ready for handing to the receptionist the next day.

The cosy cabin’s room size was reasonable for up to 2 adults and 2 children with small kitchenette with a fridge, good size Plasma TV and private en-suite (shower and sauna). It should have a free Wi-Fi for my iPhone 5, but it did not work, but it did work perfectly in The Christmas House’s canteen-type restaurant at breakfast, lunch and dinner times! The members of Santa Claus Holiday Village staff were very helpful indeed! They created a friendly atmosphere! The jolly Father Christmas was often around everywhere, I met him several times!

The cabin is in a good location close to attractions/activities such as Santa Claus Office, Santa Claus Gift House, Arctice Ice Bar, reindeers sledding, Husky dogs sledding, Santamus Restaurant, etc. in The Arctic Circle to where you can walk! There is a bus stop outside Santa Claus Gift House for the bus number 8 that runs to, and from Rovaniemi. Or you can get a taxi from there to Rovaniemi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deaf-Debo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service was pretty good throughout the stay, with even Santa Claus popping by to say hi... The holiday cabins were quaint and self-contained, complete with a little kitchen. The place is almost picture-perfect and even adults will have fun sending postcards from the post office and combing through the christmasy place. If there is something lacking, it got to be the overcommercialised ambience. Lack the kind of rustic charm that should go with Christmas and winters and holiday cabins. But well, this is a place for tourists anyway! Take the bus to go to the city if you need a break away from the resort. Visit the museum, the bridges or even simply just go shopping or have a meal at the northernmost McDonald's!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 500rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This holiday village is about 5minutes from Rovaniemi airport, the best part of the village accomodation is an individual cottage with own sauna room attached.
Hotel reception and the suvenior shop is at the same place so it took us a little bit longer than expected to check in but the room was really cozy with small kitchenette.
Our kids loved playing outside our cottage and at the borderline area, you can meet Santa Clause,send a postcard at the post office, and can shop at Ittara & Marimekko outlet shop and other suveniors within walking distance.
The only drawback was that the village had not many restaurant options that either you eat at the canteen-like restaurant or need to use taxi to look for proper restaurants in the town.
We traveled north to Saariselka after staying at this village, you can take a local bus from the village but the bus stop is like a hut, so if you are going north with the bus, better ask the reception to send you back to the airport and wait for a bus there instead of waiting outside the village. THe village owner couple was kind enough to send us back to the airport to take the bus north.
Even compare with Saariselka accomodation, this village's cottage was so much cleaner and had nicer sauna, so do stop by at Rovaniemi even if you are not interested in meeting Santa or shopping at outlet shops.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMTxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very good stay at the Santa Claus Holiday Village. The welcome desk is really great and the services are great. Great location for everything and really good stay at the village.
For sure a place to come back later !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovaniemi
4.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 11 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rovaniemi
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 11 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
4.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
4.3 mi away
Hotelli Aakenus
Hotelli Aakenus
#9 of 11 in Rovaniemi
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claus Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus Holiday Village

Address: Tahtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claus Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-standard cottage accommodation at the Arctic Circle, heart of Santa Claus Village. Our cabins are all equipped with up-to-date facilities, such as private saunas, bathrooms, kitchenette and terrace. There's no better way to enjoy your stay. From your cabin just a minute or two walk to Santa Claus Main Office. All activities & excursions, such as Reindeer rides, Husky dog sledge rides, snowmobile rides, etc.. available on the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Santa Claus Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Claus Holiday Village Hotel Rovaniemi
Santa Claus Holiday Village Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing