We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable”
Review of Cumulus Pohjanhovi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumulus Pohjanhovi
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here in December 2008, had a comfortable stay but wasn't to keen on the food on offer. Luckily our five day package was jam packed with activities seeing Santa etc... Rooms were great, warm and cosy and comfortable just what was needed after a busy day out in the snow.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Leonare01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at a room in an annex, only accessible through a tunnel from the reception building. Uneccessary long walk.

Old outdated annex with very poor ventilation. We woke up sweaty with dry eyes and sore throat.

Cleaning is not good. Big hairball in shower at our arrival. It grew bigger and wan't removed by cleaning personnel during our stay.

Price is good, location ok.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rusl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Cumulus Pohjanhovi, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Dear Rusl3,

thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your visit. We are sorry that you weren’t satisfied with your room and the cleaning was inadequate. Our hotel does indeed consist of two parts, and some of our standard rooms are in the annex building, which is accessible through a connecting corridor.

The points you have mentioned regarding the cleanliness of your room will be addressed with our housekeeping department. We understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, but we hope that if your plans bring you back to Rovaniemi you will give us another chance to make your stay as good as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were here for three nights during Midsummer. The hotel is in a nice location close to the beach/bonfire area. Also very close to dining and shopping, etc. The airport bus will take you right there. Rooms were clean and basic, but comfortable enough.The staff was helpful and the breakfast was good. The only thing was that there are two parts to the hotel. To get to our room, we went down a corridor, down the stairs, another long corridor and then the elevator up. We had minimal luggage but with more it would have been a bit of a hassle, especially with the stairs. You can get out from this end of the hotel, but not back in, so every time you return you have to go all the way through. The airport bus will pick you up, but you need to be standing outside on the curb where they can see you.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Cumulus Pohjanhovi, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2014

Dear Roxy,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write us a review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Midsummer is very lovely time here in Rovaniemi, the nature is at its best.

We’re sorry that you found the room location difficult. Our hotel consists of two buildings and some of our standard rooms are located in the other building. The other building is connected to main building by a connecting corridor. You can also leave and enter this other building through its own outdoor and we’re sorry that you weren’t informed about this. There’s a card reader outside and when you use your room key in the reader the door opens.

We understand your visit wasn’t completely satisfactory, but we hope to see you again if your travel plans bring you back to Rovaniemi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful hotel , hotel needs a little tender care i would say , but it has charm :) i would recommend this hotel to anybody ! Staff is so helpful and Nice in all ways. We changed Our room upon arrival , from standard double room to a junior suite , all at 2300 hours. It took 2 minutes !!
Traditional Finnish dishes ? try the hotel restaurant , Perfect.
I can only say THANKS.

Room Tip: Take a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trondlorentzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here for a week in 2012 and while the hotel is a little dated (antlers on the room fixtures) it was comfortable and warm. The breakfast was good and the best part was the sauna and the pool. I had a view of the carpark which I was disappointed in. However, it was comfortable and an easy base of dog sled, snowmobile trips and a visit to the Arkticum.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We booked online room from Rantasipi Pohjanhovi and we want view to the river. Well we got nice river view like you can see (photo what we took)...
Room was tiny, toilet should update immediately. Reception person said that room not have any
carpet (cause we needed allergy room)... well surprise, some part of room floor was carpet, some part was wood. Nose was itchy all night long cause that carpet.
Rooms are not quiet, you can hear when someone close doors, talk, or walk on hall... so I wouldn't recommed this hotel anyone who want relax and enjoy....

Room Tip: Can't help. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception at Cumulus Pohjanhovi, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Adolf H,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us a review. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the river view from your room.

We apologize that the room itself didn’t meet your expectations and the receptionist gave you wrong information about the carpet. We don’t have floor mats in any of our rooms, but some rooms have a big carpet on top of the wooden floor. I’m sure the receptionist would have been more than happy to change your room had you notified her of her error. We’ll make sure that from now on all our receptionists are aware of which rooms have carpets, so we don’t make the same mistake twice. Your comments are very important to us, and we’ll do our best to improve the problem areas you have pointed out.

We thank you for your important review and we hope that you’ll give us another chance if your plans bring you back to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had hoped to stay at either the City hotel or the Santa Claus, but they were both fully booked during my stay, so I opted for one of the legendary and historical hotels in Finland, Pohjanhovi. I was not disappointed.

The hotel is located next to the Jatkankynttila bridge in the city centre. Some of the rooms have great river views. The location is quiet and central, everything is within walking distance. The airport shuttle bus stops at the door. Staff is friendly and helpful.

The rooms are comfortable, modern and sizable, with a few local Lappish touches in the decor. You get free wifi with a password valid for 24 hrs, you can get a new one in the reception when it runs out. It’s not the fastest connection, but okay.

Breakfast is a typical Finnish hotel breakfast with porridge/muesli, yoghurt, eggs, meat balls, sausages, salads, bread, bread rolls, pastries, coffee/tea, juice…not that versatile on fruit. Breakfast is served in a restaurant with great river views.

Enjoyed the stay!

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
619 reviews
0 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
4.1 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Pohjanhovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Pohjanhovi

Address: Pohjanpuistikko 2, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Rantasipi Pohjanhovi)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $142 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Pohjanhovi 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Versatile hotel with restaurant serving Lapland cuisine, set in centre of town by the River Kemijoki; 8 km to the Arctic Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumulus Pohjanhovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Rovaniemi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Hotel Rovaniemi
Cumulus Pohjanhovi Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing