We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Lapland”
Review of Cumulus Pohjanhovi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumulus Pohjanhovi
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It would be a standard city hotel, one of the chain, unless it was in Rovaniemi. The location is perfect: next door to Lapland Safaris, the bus stop for the buses to Santa Claus Village and Santa Park just outside the hotel, near the river with the beautiful view of the bridge, very close to the shopping area. The staff at the reception are really friendly and helpful. The sauna and the swimming pool can be considered as one of the advantages of this hotel. The water in the swimming pool is clean and cold and it feels really nice after visiting the sauna. It was our second time in Rovaniemi and at this hotel, and I think we'll stay at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi again, when we come to Lapland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 381 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed one night as planned. I asked for a quiet room with the view over the river and that´s what I got. The view was really nice.
Hotel in itself isn´t the most modern one, but it´s still nice and clean. Room was tidy and bathroom was renovated recently. Breakfast was moderate, selection was good and everything what I needed was there. Staff was smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FINtommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here 19th-23rd dec 12 & went with thomsons. reps were really helpful. straight from the flight we were taken from to a warehouse to collect our thermals & listen to what excursions we could buy when all we wanted to do was get to the hotel but nevermind. I would take your own ski suit too as everyone looks the same in the ones thomsons provide so if you worry about losing your child then maybe get a ski suit that will make them stand out.

The taster sessions which were provided through thomson were good and food is provided.

hotel was clean & room was lovely over looking the frozen river. the hotel is in a great location for restaurants & shopping centre (just up the hill). There is an outside ice rink about a 5minute walk away too. The reception staff are helpful with booking things for you (we booked the igloo restaurant which is about 10mins away by taxi and i would definately recommend). There was always enough seats at breakfast in the mornings, the food was a little different to the UK but it was still fine -there was always toast and cereal if you didnt like anything else.

I would recommend this hotel and We would go back again but feel maybe 3 days is enough to go to the santa park etc. There is a nightclub attached to the hotel but it was pretty empty when we went. we could not hear the music from our rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbathe-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After 20 years I wanted to stay in this legendary hotel, but couldnt realize where the word legendary is coming. Of course the view is stunning in the morning sun and the location is nice. Also the reindeer meat with smashed potatoes is still a good choise, but the reception, rooms and nightclub are far from the standard of today. I hope the hotel management can get some investment money and bring this hotel back to the top in Rovaniemi

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice, high quality hotel. Room was quite spacious and had a great view just for the river and the bridge. On the other hand its located just down by the main street, so close to all the safari companies, restaurants and pubs.
Staff was always helpful in getting information and even making some phone calls.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EranBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A large old hotel, set by the Kemijoki river, large windows with imperssive river view. Walking distance from Rovaniemi pedestrian mall. Also close to winter sports services Lapland Safaris. Very friendly and helpful staff, buffet style breakfast and supper with a lot of variety. Seems a bit "tired", especially the rooms in the annex above Lapland Safari offices. Some rooms have a kettle, others don't. I personally prefer smaller, cosier hotels.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms in the main building better than the ones in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rehovot93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We reached the hotel as part of an organized tour in Lapland.
We received rooms with beautiful views frozen river.
Our room had a coffee kettle but we realized that not all the rooms have, so you need to check.
Hotel has separate saunas for men and women so if you want to go with your partner, take a private sauna cost of 30 euros per hour.
Catalogue says heated pool but keep in mind that it may be heated for Scandinavians, for us it was very cold and we could not use it
There is no free internet. Internet cost 2.5 euros for 24 hours.
Basic food, excellent desserts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, in the new wing. Make sure coffee kit room. If you want free inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaffabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Reception Duty Manager at Cumulus Pohjanhovi, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2015

Dear yaffabe,

Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel's view and our desserts.

Nowadays our Wi-Fi internet is free of charge.

The water in the pool is still as refreching as during your stay. By keeping the water in 23 degrees Celsius we keep the bacteria levels lowest possible. Luckily we have our great saunas next to the pool so you can warm up after a dip in the pool. Cool water has lots of healt and beauty solutions, some listed here: http://www.rd.com/slideshows/7-cold-water-remedies/#slideshow=slide1.

Our restaurant's menu varies annually and it's collected together by our hotel chain's head office in Helsinki. All suggestions how to improve our operation modes will be happily received and forwarded to the head office.

Wish you all the best in your life!

Warm regards,
Piia Oinas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#9 of 13 in Rovaniemi
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
613 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Pohjanhovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Pohjanhovi

Address: Pohjanpuistikko 2, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland (Formerly Rantasipi Pohjanhovi)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $93 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Pohjanhovi 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Versatile hotel with restaurant serving Lapland cuisine, set in centre of town by the River Kemijoki; 8 km to the Arctic Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumulus Pohjanhovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Rovaniemi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Hotel Rovaniemi
Cumulus Pohjanhovi Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing