We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santasport Hotel”
Review of Santasport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santasport
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Santasport Hotel”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

At first was told the room not ready..so went and ordered food and cappucinnos..the food was good but the coffee half full and waitress not helpful...BUT from then on WOW brilliant helpful receptionists who got us to room as soon as they could. Family room brilliant and clean {but could have done with Coffee/tea...and yes we are obsessed with coffee!} A real bonus for our family was the pool and hot tub and a chance to chat to local people who spoke eloquent english...Jim for first time in life had to wear Speedos as this is a requirement for pool use....As we got to know receptionists they were more friendly looking up chances of seeing Northern lights, providing us with travel plug and booking taxis...This Hotel was perfect for us as our kids are 16,14&11 and the hotel provided sledges for 10 euros this was a highlight as going to the local shops was an adventure not to be missed.....We would certainly stay there again given the chance

Room Tip: All the rooms we seen were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    28
    7
    9
See reviews for
51
25
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We've just come back from Lapland having stayed at the Santa sport Hotel. After taking part in the snow activities by day, it was lovely to dip into the pool in the evenings and sample the superb spa baths. We also had a game of ten pin bowling whilst at the hotel. The breakfast was fine, bacon, scrambled eggs, cold meats and cereal..the usual. there was enough choice there to fill yourself up before setting off for the day. The room was clean and functional and had a huge drier to dry your clothes. Just down the hill from the hotel there's is a garage and supermarket with a pizzeria attached. We ate here three nights running because the food was fab and cheap and my daughter is happy as long as there's pizza available. A great hotel all round

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leigh25Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just heading home after staying here for a 4 night holiday. This was meant to be a holiday of a lifetime which is not an experience you will have with this accommodation. The hotel itself had a nice clean room and swimming pool but the eaterie is worse than poor, it's like being in a school canteen. The excursions were good and thankfully we went on a lot of them so we didn't have to spend much time in the hotel. We went here as a family of 5 with 3 young children. Some Christmas decorations in the hotel would have been nice and a heck of a lot more friendlier staff. Only 3 members of staff were pleasant. What could have and should have been an amazing holiday turned out average. Very disappointing will not be booking with thomsons again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGFGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived on 11th December 2013 with Wife and 2 kids aged 6 and 8 to see Santa. Yes this is a sports facility but rooms are modern , large and clean. There is plenty for kids with outdoor play area, a hill for sledge just across road and sledge was only €10 for the 4 days, great pool, kids soft play and bowling. There might be other Hotels that look better when you drive up but if you are coming with kids this is by far the best and from speaking to other people on holiday who we're staying at other hotels after a day out in cold or an organised trip there was nothing for them to do when they got back to their hotel and too far from centre. Location at Santasport is ideal as close enough to walk to centre yet walk across road and you are in the woods and feel as if you are miles away. All paths around hotel are well lit and and there is a Nordic ski track so always people about. The staff were all excellent and very friendly. Food was Ok at breakfast the usual cereal, bacon, eggs and fruit. No toaster but apart from that was OK, didn't eat Lunch or Dinner in Hotel as Menu in Cafe in Finish only and didn't fancy Resturant that said there is a pizza shop approx 5 min walk downhill and a supermarket, with the Thomson Deal you get your last night Gala Dinner and Lunch on one of the days and as I said before centre is approx 15 min walk downhill and loads of nice resturants. Would recommend this hotel for any family to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

just got back the from 4 day stay,took 5 year old grand daughter,Thomson rep was brilliant,so were the elves,everything was perfectly organised,fun all the way,hotel had everything for grand daughter to do,swim,play area,even 10 pin bowling,food was a bit same old.,but really clean warm rooms,we wud recommend this hotel and 4 day trip to any 1 with kids/grand kids,husky/reindeers sledge rides snow mobile rides,snow ball fights,and a great finale dinner ,where Santa came and gave all the kids a pressie,smiles all round.Thank you Thomson s for a holiday she will never forget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephen571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Comparing with many hotels & rental cabins around Rovaniemi, Santa Sport seems to be the only place where you could get a really cheap room for big group travelers with low budget.

It's not a fancy 4 or 5 star hotel, but I still like it. Will definitely come back to stay here next time we visit Rovaniemi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This isn't really a hotel, it's a training academy that happens to have rooms available for the athletes.
No doubt, the sports facilities look amazing but if you're here as a "hotel" guest then don't mistake the place for a comfortable 4 star hotel.

The "hotel" rooms are very sparse with hard floors, single beds and bright fluorescent lighting. A million miles from what we were expecting.

Note to skiers:
The Santasport is not located next to the ski area, which is a 5km taxi (12 euros) or bus ride (limited times) round the hill to the ski base with hire shop and lift ticket office.
(Fun but limited skiing once you're there).

5 or 6 decent blue and red(ish) runs not all open all day.

Lift pass around 35 euros/ day and
Mid-range equipment hire about the same.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lox001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rovaniemi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.9 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
371 reviews
3.8 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
1.1 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
#10 of 13 in Rovaniemi
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santasport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santasport

Property: Santasport
Address: Hiihtomajantie 2, Rovaniemi 96400, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santasport 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santasport is a centre for sports and wellbeing in Rovaniemi offering a variety of activities in the middle of naturally beautiful northern nature, close to the Arctic Circle. We offer a vast range of services for sports and other activities to travelers, families, athletes and business groups. Our accommodation options are versatile from single rooms to luxury cabins. Santasport is located 2km from Rovaniemi city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santasport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santasport Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing