We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Nordic Adventures
from $95.14
More Info
from $171.24
More Info
from $158.56
More Info
from $246.10
More Info
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
158
11
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews finnish sauna private lake national park ranua zoo finnish culture wonderful tour northern lights hunting salmon ice floating amazing experience sausage cookies these guys once in a lifetime cherry juice reindeer farm husky ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 171 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

You want to hunt the lights go with this people! We booked small group tour, they upgraded us at no additional cost and gave us private tour. We were surprised to picked up by private car instead a bus and driver/guide speaker very well clear English. He knew the area well that answer all our questions about town, country, living, the lights. He took us far away from the city where we had complete dark sky just stars... We have 2 small children ( 2 years old and 6 years old). He was very kind, did not mind my screaming 2 years old! He took us to small cabin between woods, set fire, give us cookies, hot chocolate ( we didnt want hot dogs bcz we vegetarians). He keep go out for us searching the lights, freezing instead we go with kids... we stayed with kids put them sleep he comes back every 10 min to (2x) to say there is nothing and go back. By 3rd time he come he just smiled and shake his head :) we understand what was that mean and run. He stayed with our sleeping kids for hours while we just watched the light. He was amazing! He didn't had to babysit but he did which was so kind of him. Because of him we enjoyed the light for hours. Sky was so clear, lights were so visible we watched some big ones then out of no where there was.... Pink auro! Very rare auro we had chance to watch for good 10 min before green ones back completely. This was our first try , first day and we catched them. Thanks to this amazing people. Unfortunately we booked another snowmobile hunting light tours for the day after ( withh another company) was a big time fail and waste of money. We should just book another day with this company. Dont be me, book all your hunting with them :)

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank aysenmccalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

The area that Alex lives in is very remote with the nearest property being a couple of miles away. You drive down a single lane track with Alex happily telling you how often he has to take the snow plough out and clear it just so he has access to everything. Once he explains how the sauna works he leaves you to it for a couple of hours and goes to prepare the BBQ salmon and potatoes. The sauna itself is a wood burning one and for me it was a million times better than the saunas you are probably used to in hotels etc. I usually cant last very long in those places.
It's just a short walk through the snow to the frozen lake and I'm so glad i was brave enough to jump in as it really was a once in a lifetime experience. Would highly recommend it to everyone.
The food we had was amazing and also in such an idyllic location. This is the food experience that everyone else is trying to recreate in all the hotels and restaurants. We had the same type of meal of salmon and potatoes and sour cream a couple of other times on the trip but this was the best by far...
Do yourself a favour and book this trip.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank njp120367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the night, our guide was especially informative and good company. The sauna experience was a perfect opportunity to relax after our trip into Rovaniemi and the meal was a simple yet delightful set of homemade glazed salmon and vegetables.

Thank khalidmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

This was a great way to see a very unique landscape, three spectacular frozen waterfalls. Our guide picked us up form our hotel and drove us the hour to Korouoma. A walk down a well marked path brought us into the canyon. We followed the partially frozen stream through some very pretty scenery. The three waterfalls were each quite different to the other and all equally spectacular. Some of the track was quite steep but there were good rope hand holds in those areas.
After the second waterfalll our guides directed us towards the third and final waterfall whilst he went back to the bottom of the track into the canyon to get a fire started for our simple lunch snack.
Lunch was a hot drink, sausage on the BBQ and ginger cookies.
We then had the long steep climb out of the canyon back to the car.
We were there in early December and the waterfalls were not completely frozen, I imagine later in the winter they would be even more amazing.
Our guide was a very quiet person, happy to answer questions but not forthcoming with information if not asked.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

We booked the full day adventure to the Ranua Zoo and Lappish evening in the wilderness with sauna, ice swimming and dinner. We enjoyed every minute from being picked up and driven out of town to the Zoo and spending the morning looking at the animals, having lunch and then back to our accommodation for some relaxation before being picked up again and being taken to a cute little cottage in the forest where we enjoyed a sauna and a dip into the ice lake. The lake was breathtaking (literally), but an amazing experience. Alex and his wife then prepared a beautiful dinner that we ate in the cosy cottage. They were wonderful hosts and lovely people. I would highly recommend this company and our time spent with them has been one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Outofoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews