We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
99
33
15
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
99
33
15
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aurora zone northern lights rocking chairs frozen lake finnish culture aurora experience bed apartment train tour peaceful location husky safari wood fire salmon warm up ice fishing reindeer skins close to nature breakfast and dinner buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great peaceful location, lot of activities and helpful staff. Also food was delicious. Really relaxing vacation, absolutely must come again ❤️.
Loistava paikka päästä karkuun arjen stressiä. Sopii perheille ja pariskunnille, kaikille tekemistä. Loistavia kokemuksia. Ei kun uutta vierailua suunnittelemaan.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Brainvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2020

We stayed here for one night en route to Saariselka. We were collected from the airport by a really cheerful lady and driven the 10 mins to the hotel. Walking into reception is like walking into everything you ever dreamed Finland would be; open fire, reindeer skins, rustic furniture hand -carved by elves... The lovely lady on reception showed us where to find our cabin and told us to pull our suitcases round on the sledge. It was -26 when we were there but the cabins were lovely and warm and clean with extra blankets provided and hot chocolate. We had the buffet at dinner as this had been booked for us but probably would have preferred to order from the menu as the food was running a little low by the time we arrived. However breakfast was plentiful. Finnish lager and G&T went down a treat! The tubing slope closes at 9 - we didn't realise this and only managed one go before the lights went out. All in all this was a great introduction to our time in Finland, followed up by three wonderful days in the Polar Aurora cabins in Saariselka.

Room tip: We had cabin 12 at end of cul-de-sac so no-one walking past it
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2020

Stayed 1 night in Aurora cabin. Nice & warm with complimentary hot chocolate sachets. Great when it's about -30 deg C outside & you need this to warm up. We were lucky to see the light which was astonishing and amazing at the same time. All this while we are snuck under the comfort of the quilt on our bed.

The breakfast was great, complete with what you would expect from hotel. Cheese, bread, milk, tea, coffee, salad, sausages, ham and even rice.

Not forgetting the views are great in every angle too. Get your camera and tripod ready to shoot away.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank JonathanAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

Came here for a get away from it all break and had the most wonderful time. We stayed in the Aurora cabins and they had everything we needed, a great shower, 20 minutes was ample time for the two of us to have showers, tea and coffee, a fridge, ample space to hang outdoor coats and cupboard space for other clothing. The Aitta restaurant served wholesome local food that was very tasty and breakfast, although the same each day, was plentiful.
We took part in lots of activities that included an Aurora hunt, husky sledding at night, scary but very exiting to be in control, or not, of a pack of huskies. Ski mobiling through the forest and not to mention the snow shoeing in dense woodland. I must say a big thank you to Kristina our guide who looked after us during snow shoeing and passed on her wealth of knowledge to us.
Thank you to all the staff who were very welcoming and always seemed to have a smile on their face, even at -26 degrees.
We will be recommending the Apukka resort to our friends back home.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank PaulShep61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2020 via mobile

We stayed in the aurora cabins. I felt the cabins were designed very average as compared to the rent we payed. Also there were no services, e.g. room service or complementary hot beverages at the reception, etc. Breakfast options were not that great - there could have been more options with juices, pastries, etc.
We also participated in some activities which we did enjoy e.g. snow mobile and the husky ride. For Apukka snow and fun experience, most of the planned activities were free for residents anyways. The husky and rain deer rides were just to short, so we came off feeling not getting value for money and time. I would have rather booked a long husky ride.
We also did the sauna which was good. location of the sauna could be better. Currently it faces the high way. Also they could make the experience much better with some light music and health drinks, etc. People and service is polite but nothing extravagant.
So overall value for money was the main theme here. No luxury, just bare essentials.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AmritaVk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tour operators, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2020

Dear AmritaVk,
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate all feedback and take all under consideration in developing our services. We are sorry to hear you feel that way.
About breakfast. There is a juice dispenser providing blueberry, cranberry and orange juice as well as fresh water. In addition to this there is berry juice and water in cans too. In the bread selection we have more local types of bread and pastry than international, as we want to serve local products to our guests.
In the brochure text about The Snow and Fun day in Apukka there is said that husky and reindeer rides are short. This is also told by the guide when you go to the husky and reindeer rides. The longer husky and reindeer rides are recommended for adults instead of the Snow and Fun. The ice sculpting and mini snowmobile riding for children are not in free use of clients staying in Apukka Resort. Sometimes clients appreciate guidance for the free equipment and how to use them, that is why we are keeping it within this activity.
About the sauna. When you are in the sauna and jacuzzi, there is a high fence covering your privacy. When using the ice sauna you only need to get out of the fence area. The ice sauna is only a short time out of the 90 min time you have the sauna department in your private use. In Finland we recommend to drink the pure tab water. The entrance to the sauna is facing the walking way to Villa Apukka and the arboretum, not the high way.
We know that service standards are different among people from different cultures. We do our best to provide good service to all our guests. We hope to see you again!
Kind regards,
Kati Nivala
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews