We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
99
33
15
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
99
33
15
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aurora zone northern lights rocking chairs frozen lake finnish culture aurora experience bed apartment train tour peaceful location husky safari wood fire salmon warm up ice fishing reindeer skins close to nature breakfast and dinner buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 161 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2020

We had a wonderful weekend at the Apukka Resort. We came to see the Northern Lights but were out of luck - just a good excuse to come back another time. The Cabin were cool, nicely color coordinated to the white, grey and black colors of the winter landscape. We enjoyed walking on the ice in a clear moonlight and took a husky ride. Quite amazing. We hope to be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sightsee531159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2020

At 390 euros/night for the Aurora cabin, I was expecting a little bit of dream and perfect service. I wish I had read the reviews before (1 and 2 stars). No need to repeat what has already been written by Phill, Heidi C, Shevster and others.
Difficult to choose between the disappointments as I am still very bitter:
- no free sauna for a hotel in Finland.... (130 euros a sauna experience!!!!!)
- a 40 euros buffet in the evening!!!!
- all the glass cabins one on top of the others and ours overlooking a beautiful 2 floors building

Only the Northern lights tour was worth the money paid.

After a couple of days, I continue to think that despite the friendly reception staff.... it's a tourist trap.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front Desk Manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Dear Gerard,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your holiday was not as you expected. We take all feedback seriously and use it to make our services better for all clients staying with us.

Our experience of the need for sauna for our guests have shown that the free sauna is not that favorite among guests. Our clients have appreciated the private sauna turns more. We are to arrange a try out for separate sauna turns for ladies and for gentlemen for a cheap price to provide a change to try the saunas while staying in Apukka Resort.

The buffet menu is including salads, soup and at least 2 different main courses every evening. The menu changes every day. Beside that there is à la carte menu in the restaurant open every day, All food is from local ingredients and self made here in our restaurant. The price level compared to other restaurants in town is not more expensive than the others.

Our Aurora Cabins have half of the roof as windows. The idea is that when you are laying on your bed you can see the starry sky. When you are doing that you can't see the other buildings close to your cabin. The cabin your stayed in is close to the old main building in the area but for the night we have reduced the lightning to minimum to provide clear view over to the sky in the night time.

We are happy to hear the Northern Lights tour was good. It is an adventure on itself to drive the snowmobiles in the dark forest in a full moonlight.

We do our best to keep the service friendly and hope to be able to provide unfeorgettable experiences to all our guests.

Kind regards,

Kati Nivala
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2020

We stayed four nights at Apukka Resort and had made up our minds to get involved with lots of activities, so that if we were able to see the Northern Lights it would be a bonus rather than the point of the trip. In the event we were very lucky and saw a great display of the Northern Lights one night and a quieter display the next night.
We did Husky ride (self "mushed") by day and night and Snowmobiles (self drive) again both day and night. We also did the Snow Train and the Reindeer excursions and enjoyed both. In all cases and at all times we found the staff to be brilliantly helpful and they contributed much to our stay. They provide excellent warm suits & boots for their activities, but you need good base layers in the Winter (-16C was our coldest). You also need a tripod (a light one will do) to photograph the Aurora should they appear. The food in the buffets (breakfast & evening) was excellent, but there is also an open menu if you wish. This was an excellent few days and we may well be back!

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank A P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2020

I appreciate that we probably had the best of the weather and experience of the Northern Lights so far this winter but the staff, accommodation, activities and location made our visit magical.

Everything we wanted to do in five days was easy to book and while it emptied the holiday savings account it was worth every euro. The restaurant produces great tasting dishes from good quality ingredients and while there is not a huge range of choice we found plenty to enjoy from each breakfast and dinner buffet.

The Aurora Cabins are really comfortable they are kept very clean and warm. The views and the natural light from the stars, moon, sunrises and sunsets are perfect. The heated glass keeps them clear at all times.

The people working at Apukka are all helpful, knowledgeable and rightly proud of what they do. Each individual we met was warm and friendly during our visit. Our guides on the activities took great care of everyone whatever their age or ability.

The resort’s website can be used to plan your wish list of experiences before going but it is easy to create your own itinerary while you are there with the help of the reception staff.

I can recommend Apukka for anyone wanting a magical winter break to experience the natural world but with a touch of luxury!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2020

We came here on Wednesday a little sceptic of the fact that we prices were rather low compared to other resorts that have ”iglus” and all I have to say is that the stay was perfect! We got to see the northern lights not once but twice! We had a chance to ride with the huskys during the day (which I recomend) & meet one of the husky owners Janne, who was such a positive person. During the evening we had a chance to ride with the reindeers which was a calming experience under the clear blue sky. We stayed at the Aurora cabin and it was perfect ! I would recomend this to anyone. The staff is polite and positive and there are lots of activities to do and to experience. Thank you Apukka resort!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ceciliajusslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews