We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
80
31
11
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
31
11
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs frozen lake northern lights aurora zone finnish culture peaceful location aurora experience bed apartment train tour salmon wood fire ice fishing main building reindeer safari close to nature snow shoes two adults and two children
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 135 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days and loved it all. We rented a car and enjoyed the freedom that provided. Appuka has an amazing property. Everyday we would walk the lake, go tubing, use the sleds and sit by the fire. We booked a snowmobile adventure and a husky adventure through Appuka and they were fantastic. The staff really made both experiences just excellent. Our cabin was very comfortable and spacious enough for our family of 3. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning and had a number of other meals at the resort that were very good. Having a car it was about 15 minutes to Santa's Village which we visited daily. What we loved about Appuka was that it was close enough to the Village to be convenient but far enough to feel like we were really staying out in the quiet of the countryside. Would highly recommend Appuka to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Paddletothesea08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Apukka should offer travellers the service of sending their luggage to the cabins. My family had to lug all our luggages in the snow. We are not avid people in the snow. So it cause a lot of inconvenience.

Second, Apukka does not offer phone intercom to reception nor cabin to cabin. Extreme inconvenience when we realised they didnt clean our room at 4 pm Finnish time. So i had to use IDD calls to call them. Too cold to walk in the cold to go over to the reception which is a distance away.

Also, the cleaning service was not prompt at all. See above.

Restaurant does not offer enuff variety - everyday the same menu. They should offer daily different menu on a weekly rotation basis. So it gives travellers variety since travllers usually stay for 3-5 days.

The good thing is the infrastructure of the cabin warm heating elements. Nice place.

Room tip: aurora cabins are a beautfiul experience. Must try
Date of stay: February 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magz1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019

We booked the Aurora Hunt on the Santa train excursion directly through the resort. Booking on line was really easy and any email correspondence I had with the resort was friendly and replies were quick.
Upon arrival we were met by our lovely guide and taken to the boot room to get changed into a snow suit so we were warm for the evening ahead.
From there we went to get on the snow train.
This consisted of a couple of carriages covered with a waterproof cover and driven by a tractor on caterpillar chains.
The snow train itself was covered and warm, but the seats are very small and it does feel quite claustrophobic and cramped. There is also not much visibility out of the plastic windows so for the 20 ish mins journey there isnt much to see or appreciate. I thought it might feel a bit more magical.

We were aware that when we set out that we probably weren't going to see the Northern Lights as it was far too cloudy (obviously nothing the guide could do about this just unlucky).

When we reached our destination we spent a bit of time outside looking at the sky to see if any conditions had changed but then headed into a large Tipi where our guide helped us to make a fire. From there we sat and listened to the guide tell stories about the northern lights. We then had a sandwich and a hot drink and it was time to head back to the resort in the train again.

If the northern lights had been seen this trip may have felt a bit more special but as it was it seemed a bit expensive for what was actually delivered.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 988laurab988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019 via mobile

Pro’s: Aurora cabins are amazing and are v high spec with underfloor heating and generous sofa bed so can sleep 4.
Staff are friendly knowledgable and helpful
The ice slides / tube is such fun for kids.
Husky ride was the highlight
Hiking on the frozen lake
Con’s: the cabin could have used a toaster
Few options for fussy kids at the restaurant for lunch and dinner
Lack of comfortable seating in reception to lounge as the cabins are small

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Cathkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019

This place, its just amazing a magical stay. From sleighing to breakfast and dinner, to snow fights, walk on frozen lake, huskies, reindeer rides in snow at night. Go back in a heartbeat, best adventure!

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews