We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
69
23
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
69
23
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs finnish culture aurora zone northern lights salmon frozen lake aurora experience bed apartment train tour main building ice fishing peaceful location wood fire close to nature snow shoes two adults and two children reindeer safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Aurora Cabin - Glass Igloo with 2 adults and 2 kids, Igloo size not very big but good enough for us. You may need to push your own luggage to the cabin with the sledge provided, its easy that we thought on the snow ground, its fun.

Lying on the bed with a big glass panels are just beautiful. Bathroom with heating floor, however hot shower may only last for less than 20mins and then need to wait for about 2 hrs to reboil. Fast Wifi in Igloo and some candies welcoming us.

We did enjoy the 630pm free session with the guide around the fire place in restaurant, nice salmon cook with wood fire, knowledgeable guide (Nora) and friendly.

Dont forget to walk towards very beautiful scenery frozen lake next to the reception building.

We read some review that resort provide winter clothing for guest but I was told its only if you book their activities then you can get those winter clothing for free.

We rented a car (recommended), easy to move around everywhere.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RogerFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The aurora wagon experience was great. The northern lights weren't out when we stayed there but we had a great experience anyway. The staff were very knowledgeable, the area was beautiful, the sauna was amazing. I would definitely recommend as it is a once in a lifetime kind of experience.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kristak460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Apukka wanting a cold, snowy and magic experience and Apukka was all that and more. Acknowledge we were lucky to have had so much snow.
The staff were great, very hospitable. Perhaps the highlights were the side of salmon the guides spontaneously cooked by the fire in the restaurant and the random deer walking around. It was perfect and the cabin was amazing. Exactly like the pics.
We went on the snow train tour at night, and while we didn't see any lights, the journey over the fresh show and the conversation with the local guides by the fire was equally as good.
I would recommend hiring a car, as it is about 15 mins from town. Not the easiest for two Aussies who've never driven in snow. I would love to come back.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank jarranh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wondeful weekend at Apukka resort celebrating our son's birthday. What an amazing place Lapland is - did not disappoint in any aspect. The location of the resort is very well placed for the airport and proximity to Santa Claus Village - peaceful and calm with amazing scenery and landscape. All the staff very friendly and welcoming. The igloo cabins were constantly warm and cosy. My son is already planning to return one day to Lapland.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shurle594164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very beautiful location and very friendly staff. The views of the sky and frozen lake were stunning. However, it was quiet when we travelled and so with no prior warning the staff chose not to open the restaurant at all during our stay. We found this disappointing as we had to drive every evening so was not as relaxing as we’d hoped. However, we would certainly consider booking here again due to the beautiful location.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trovie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews