We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs finnish culture aurora zone northern lights aurora experience bed apartment ice fishing frozen lake peaceful location close to nature reindeer safari snow shoes two adults and two children perfect stay finnish sauna minute drive snowmobile tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 90 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

Yesterday we’ve had a wonderfull Husky trip. The lady who helped us getting dressed for the (very) cold weather was very polite. Our Husky driver was a really nice guy and very funny. He explained everything very well. Our advise: Apukka!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ritsierits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team, Apukka Resort at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Glad to hear you had fun times on our Husky safari. Best wishes and welcome back for a new visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Our family of 5 had an incredible stay at Apukka! We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment and the rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. With our 3 kids we did the Fun Day activity and everyone had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed all of the included activities. The kids also enjoyed just playing in the snow at any given opportunity! The front desk staff was very eager to help, professional and went above and beyond our expectations to make sure we had everything we needed.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shashesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team, Apukka Resort at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for your kind words! Wonderful to read about your happy experiences at Apukka. We are passionate about our service and glad to hear this was noticed :) Best wishes and hope to meet you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

Me and my partner just spent 4 nights at Apukka Resort and had a fantastic stay. I could not fault a single thing about our stay here. The resort is in a beautiful, peaceful location, away from artificial light so the night skies are fab! Our apartment was cosy, clean and warm and looked out into the forest which was a beautiful view to wake up to. We absolutely loved the Finnish food, especially trying reindeer and elk! Sitting around the fire on rocking chairs with a glass of wine after our meal was just a perfect end to our evenings. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and could not do enough to ensure our experience was the best it could be. We booked onto activities such as snowmobiling, husky ride, Reindeer sleigh ride and aurora experience and thoroughly enjoyed them all. We even got a glimpse of the Northern Lights which just completed our trip. Finland is absolutely magical, and I would definitely recommend staying here to experience it. 10/10, thank you so much Apukka Resort :) :)

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank RobynL1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is absolutely heart warming to read about your happy holiday at Apukka. It sounds like you have managed to experience the spirit of Lapland and our resort just the way it's meant to :) Best wishes to you and hope to welcome you back to Apukka for new adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

February 11th to 15th
There are no amount of words that can possibly praise or say how truly amazing this place is along with every member of the Apukka team that work here.. but I will try.
(Anyone who has anything bad to say about this place must be somewhere else...)
Every member of staff here (I really wish I could remember names) were so extremely friendly, polite and chatty. They would always explain things and check if you’re okay or how your day was going. Offer recommendations and remember you when you pass them. Me and my partner have learned so much whilst being here about the Finnish culture, all about the aurora borealis, the animals, the stars, the different foods and how they are cooked... the list goes on. Nothing is ever to much for the staff here and you really get a sense that they genuinely just want to help you and have the best experience here as you can. The people at reception are so helpful and just lovely people along with the bar lady, all the guides and cleaner/ cooking staff. We have never been anywhere as friendly as Apukka. So a massive thank you to ALL your staff.
We stayed in the Aurora cabin.. oh my goodness, what a treat! Perfect size, lovely bathroom and comfy beds, there was even hot chocolate.
We were in cabin 12 by the main building but it really doesn’t matter because the whole place is just beautiful.
Every night at 6 you get to experience something different (Finnish foods) go and try the salmon!!! It is unreal, cooked on the fire in-front of you whilst enjoying a nice Lappish vodka..
The breakfast is wonderful, so much choice! The evening meal buffet was the best we have had abroad and we have been to lots of places. The food is fresh, extremely tasty and there is plenty of choice. Lots of people praised the food here and I can see why. They always have Finnish options as well like baked salmon, reindeer (actually very nice) and lots of other things I tried but cannot remember names. There was also, slow cooked pork, Bolognese, slow cooked beef, roasted vegetables, mash, salmon and roasted potatoes, wedges, pork, ham. Along with the salad bar, breads etc.
The bar is reasonably priced and cheaper than what we expected and the snack foods are tasty. We loved trying the different Lappish vodkas which are coloured after the colours of the aurora Borealis (bar lady told us).
I read reviews about how the sauna is expensive etc, but we still enquired and ended up booking on. You get complete private use of the whole ice sauna, electric sauna, wooden sauna and jacuzzi for one and a half hours. You get towels, bath robe, slippers and a lovely shower room. We enjoyed it as we knew no one else was there, it was a real treat. The ice sauna is definitely something to experience. We thought that it was a good deal considering no one else was going to be there!! And we are so pleased we experienced it.
We were expecting rubbish WiFi in the Cabins but were surprised that it worked very fast, faster than our home WiFi!!
In the evening they light little fires everywhere and it really makes the whole place look magical.
The excursions!! WOW. Do them, as many as you can... every single one of them was different and exciting. We had a different guide for each of them and they all were amazing, professional and unique. We did the reindeer safari, santa village, husky safari, sauna and a snow mobile on the last night and we even saw the northern lights.
On a whole this place is faultless and I really can’t emphasise enough about the staff here, they make the holiday for you. EVERY SINGLE ONE!!! Felt very sad to leave but was made better by receiving hugs and well wishes.
Thank you Apukka ❤️

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank A5688RFhdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for writing this amazingly kind review for us!! There is so much that one can experience and learn during a holiday. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. You got to experience our resort and Lapland just the way it should!

Nothing makes us happier than happy guests. Thank you again for visiting and sharing the love! Best wishes and welcome back to Apukka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabins with the glass roof were amazing: one morning we were able to see the Northern Lights precisely because it occurred as we woke. The bathroom did not offer any amenities, but has wonderfully heated floor. You can add on an ice cabin, which we did for one night. The buffet meals were fine: nothing amazing, but perfectly acceptable.

The staff was friendly from the get-go, helpful throughout the reservation process. The resort offers lots of activities that people actually come from the center of town to join: our favorites were the reindeer and Huskie rides: the reindeer and Hustkie farms were just across the street. The activities were quite expensive compared to the room prices.

Note the location is about 10-minute drive from the airport, and 20-minute drive to the center of town where restaurants and shops are. If you want the freedom to go to restaurants other than the one at the resort, you'd need a car.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front Desk Manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Dear Sirs,
Thank you so much for staying with us and the nice review you wrote. We are happy when our clients are happy.
Hope to see you again!
Kind regards,
Kati, Apukka Front Desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews