We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs finnish culture aurora zone northern lights aurora experience bed apartment ice fishing frozen lake peaceful location close to nature reindeer safari snow shoes two adults and two children perfect stay finnish sauna minute drive snowmobile tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 90 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

Our tour guide Saara learned Chinese on her own and is very knowledgeable. Besides excellent tastes and driving skills, Saarah drove us to chase the aurora, with berry juice and self-started fire (with 1 match). The aurora experience is truly the highlight of the trip, and it’s very unforgettable. For tourists coming from industry-heavy cities with concrete walls, I highly recommend lying on the Apukka resort lake to just stare at the sky in the winter. ❄️it’s the most life-changing experience ever.

Beyond the aurora trip, Saara helped us with directions, getting to the train stations, picking up from the airport, and helping us navigate the museums. She tried to speak Chinese whenever she can, and the trip was never boring with her curious soul :)

来芬兰一定要找Saara,她很热情,温柔,靠谱,是个很出色的,有人生阅历和经验的导游!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ellaaa1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience and liked our guide Saara. Best wishes and welcome back to Apukka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Airport transfer was welcoming, with the driver helping us all the way from the luggage belt to the car. Staff we encountered along the way to the reception were so cordial, friendly, and nice! They made us feel at home right away. Checking-in was fast, and staff was attentive and warm, helping us with the bus schedules and enquires about activities. When we feedbacked about the glass ledge in the bathroom coming loose and the back door not being able to shut properly, the staff immediately looked into it even though it was already late evening. The repairs were done promptly during the course of our dinner. Every morning, we were greeted by the staff warmly too, and those in charge of the various outdoor activities were so bright and energetic, injecting enthusiasm in us! Very, very wonderful experience overall made by the fantastic Apukka staff! Stay here if you're looking for a home away from home!

Room tip: The cabin is very good for families. Even has dining, living room and a full kitchen.Very spacious too!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 118elainez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your hear warming review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team made your holiday even better. Best wishes to you and welcome back for another visit to Apukka Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

Three bedroom home vacation.
1. If you are going with kids - prepare to cook, otherwise they would be hungry. Since early morning. Because breakfest is not eatable. The same as lunch and dinner
2. Never take our number A2. The heater near the front door is out of order, and the front door itself is the same as the doors inside - so all cold winds welcomed and dance inside.
3. Stuff trying to do their best.
4. No laundry. No drying machine. If your kids got wet - it’s the end.
5. We never met place with no room service.
6. No kids playground.
7. The Kitchen. Just take everythng with you. Salt. Sugar. Oil. Milk. Coffee. Tea. Knives. And freeze. Because the fridge doesn’t have it.
8. Excurcions. We prebook all of activities to be privite except fishing. Snow. Forest. Igloo. Fire. Go home. If we came from north africa and it was our first trip out of continent - it probably would be great. But we weren’t. And we saw a lot of snow before. The only wonderfool thing is stuff. Great people doing there best in the situation of owful hotel management.
Huskies tour has the greatest guide with harisma.
9. Aurora. Every guest should be mentioned how aurora looks in Lapland and must have camera the same as Mark III.

Apukka could become a good hotel in smart hands, but right now - “to hug and cry”. Guests feel that you make money on them in economic crisis situation counting every cent.

1. Just buy a good camera for activities and sent photoes to guests.
2. If you wrote in advertising that everyone would get a certificate as huski driver - print it. Cartridge and papers with printed logo fly all over the world in seconds.
3. Kids are your future - make a little playing park for them. A bix of colored pencils with a few papers for drawing as a gift costs nothings but gonna make your name. Make kids hours - even for money - give rest to their parents - they would be grateful, every lucky parents needs rest.
4. Buy curtains for igloos. And repair heaters and boiling system in the hotel. Half of guests took cold, others are found half-boiled in their rooms.
5. Employ someone who could cook food, even breakfest.
6. Explain guests how they could call you or write messages using internet.
7. Make guest feel, that you are taking care of them instead of taking all their money.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank filadelfium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

A friend and I shared a beautiful apartment, We had a good deal from Aurora Zone, of bed and breakfast and dinner, with flights, airport transfers and three outings, namely dog sledding reindeer trek and snowmobile search for the Aurora. We were warmly greeted at the airport by resort staff who drove us back to the apartments with a lovely kitchenette, sitting room, bedroom and shower room. The food was lovely, very varied and plenty of traditional fare in a buffet setting. We were adequately suited and booted in very warm outdoor wear, and the guides couldn't have been better. It was unseasonably warm the first night, only -9! Then it got much colder down to -21. Dog sledding was really good fun, as the dogs were obviously keen to run. Very glad I had taken my ski goggles as it was very cold. The snow train was a magical experience too, and we were very glad to stop half way during both of these trips to huddle round the fire pit in a teepee and drink warm blackcurrant juice and barbeque sausages. I braved a night in an ice cabin which was freezing but something to be proud of, I think! Three disappointments - I wanted to use the jacuzzi after my night in the ice cabin as my back was really sore, but was told I would have to pay for the hour and a half rate for use of sauna, ice pool and jacuzzi of 145 euros, no exceptions. Too much for me so spent half an hour in the shower. The food on the third night was uninspiring, very bland and not very tasty. Lastly, the reindeer trek was a disaster from start to finish. Despite being fitted out by other guides in the blink of an eye, Saara struggled to get the right sizes for many of our group. By my fourth overall I was hot and bothered and said it would do as I couldn't bear the thought of struggling with yet another change! So we were over half an hour late getting to the site. Then one of the Reindeer refused to pull his sleigh, and then our reindeer;s harness broke and had running repairs, and then we had a power failure n the shed at the end of our juice break, and we still had to finish at midnight. I know tings happen when animals are involved but the clothing debacle should not have occurred. That said, we stayed out after that, and occasionally going back to the open fire to warm up, were eventually rewarded with the most brilliant display of Northern Lights at around 2am. Overall, a magical experience, lots of lovely memories of friendly people and a winter wonderland.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank swish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Sanna - Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.
Our apologies that your experience wasn't too great when joining the reindeer safari. We appreciate the feed back. Glad to hear that other than that your stay at Apukka was magical and memorable. Hope to welcome you back for more adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019

Wonderful place with plenty of amazing activities close to nature with a very efficient and helpful staff Not the place to go if you are looking for luxury vacation They have managed to maintain the authenticity and the spirit of the environnement Let's keep it that way

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank secrets_of_odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews