We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs finnish culture aurora zone northern lights aurora experience bed apartment ice fishing frozen lake peaceful location close to nature reindeer safari snow shoes two adults and two children perfect stay finnish sauna minute drive snowmobile tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 90 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2019

We stayed at Apukka under the impression it was a retreat close by to Rovaniemi. The photos of the room and resort made it look very nice. Unfortunately it did not meet our expectations. That said, we took part in a guided tour to Ranua Zoo that was very good. The resort provided us clothing and transport for the tour.

The room was smaller than advertised. It had a kitchenette but there were no basic supplies in it (tea, milk etc). There was a common room in the building with a full kitchen but again, no basic supplies. The location of the resort meant that there was no access to shops to purchase said supplies for yourself. We had an en suite in our room that had cleaning supplies stored in the shower. The staff, while friendly, were not very helpful when providing direction for questions (such as where do we meet for the tour we just paid 150euro per person for!). Everything at the resort costs extra too. Each of the safaris are an added expense. The use of the Sauna is an added expense. Transport to Santa Village or Rovaniemi is an added expense (typically taxi which are very expensive in Finland). The resort would arrange an airport transfer, at the same cost as the local cabs. When advertised as a luxury resort in which to see the Northern Lights the whole experience left us expecting a whole lot more!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillJames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

This is my first ever trip advisor review, but I feel compelled to write one for Apukka after having spent a magical 4 nights there in one of their glass igloo cabins. We are a family of 4 (with 2 kids 7 and 10 years), and having dreamed of visiting Lapland for a long time, I wanted this to a perfect post- Christmas adventure. So I spent a LOT of time researching places to stay, and was a bit worried by some of the earlier negative reviews that I read about Apukka. I got in touch to ask if the issues raised had been addressed, and they responded so quickly with positive and credible responses that I decided to go ahead with the booking. How glad I was that I did. It really ticked every box.

- stunning location next to an enormous frozen lake- great for walks and ice fishing, and a perfect playground for the kids (tobogganing, mini skidoo’s and general snow related fun). Kids were gone for hours too busy playing to be phased by the cold;
- comfortable igloo cabins for star gazing and northern light spotting, far from the light pollution of Rovaniami town- we were lucky enough to see the northern lights one night from the cabin, and it was more spectacular than i had ever imagined;
- cosy restaurant with log fire and good food and great views over the lake;
- wonderful trips- husky’s, snowmobile safari, ice fishing, all in the surrounding wintery wilderness which was breathtakingly beautiful;
- well designed Finnish sauna/ open air jacuzzi- so good we enjoyed it twice- a real treat after a day of arctic activity.

Most of all, Apukka stands out for me as deserving 5 stars (if not more), due to its incredible staff which gave such attentive, friendly and personal service, beyond which I have experienced anywhere. They were so accommodating, quick to respond, always trying to make our stay as comfortable, magical and affordable as possible. It was a really great value and enchanting place which I would highly recommend to everyone.

Thanks especially to the reception team for accommodating our every whim, the restaurant staff for going out of their way to make sure we were well nourished, and to Noora and the activity team for giving us such unforgettable arctic experiences in your Lappish wilderness. We had a really amazing time.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Katesullam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Hi Kate,

Thank you for this kind review. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience.

We are extremely happy to hear how well you and your family enjoyed time here. It was our pleasure to have you. We understand it can be a big hassle to find the right location for long waited family holidays. Glad to hear Apukka Resort did not let you down by any means :)

It's great that you had the opportunity to try out so many different things. It sounds that you succeeded to capture the magic of Lappish winter!

Big thank you on behalf of our staff. We do our work with passion and it's always a joy when it reflects back on good reviews.

We wish you happy New Year 2019! Hope to welcome you back for another adventure at Apukka Resort.

Best wishes,
Sanna,
Front desk team, Apukka resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

We had an aurora cabin and it did not disappoint. The cabin was comfortable, spacious and impeccably clean. It felt so cosy! The minibar items were varied and abundant and the area around the resort was breathtakingly beautiful! The nearby lake and the scenery is spectacular, typical of a winter wonderland! Would definitely also recommend the evening buffet!

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank jes_259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review.
Happy to hear you have enjoyed the stay in Aurora Cabin. Also glad to know you appreciated our great location by the lake. Here truly is lovely place to be for nature lovers. Our restaurant team will be happy to know you liked the dinner buffet.

Best wishes for New Year! We welcome you to visit Apukka again for new experiences!

Warmest regards,
Sanna
Front desk team, Apukka Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We booked with Apukka reindeer safari and it was simply unforgettable experience.
Not only safari per se was organised in a perfect manner but it was really educational: the guides explained us a lot of interesting things about life of reindeers, how they train them and how Sami people try to keep the balance of half domesticated animals, how they treat them in different seasons of the year.
The safari was everything one wanted for a new year fairytale: being warm on sleigh close to these beautiful animals enjoying the ride through silent winter forest under falling snow.
We also had a good break in a hut with hot local drink and cookies accompanied with endless stories of our amazing guide.
The time went very fast and at the same time was good balanced with activities.
Would recommend them if you want to go on the reindeer safari outside of all tourist activities in Santa village. A big plus is reasonable price for high quality of services.
Thank you very much a great time in the nature.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BorisBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front desk team, Apukka Resort at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
These kind of experiences is why we love our work here at Apukka Resort. It means so much to us that your experience has been great. And even more, you have understood the deeper meaning of Lappish life style of reindeer herding.

Glad to hear you found our services good value and quality. We appreciate your feedback.

Best wishes for New Year! Hope to see you visiting Apukka again for new adventures!

Best regards,
Sanna
Front desk team, Apukka Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We didn’t stay at the Apukka Resort but only came from our hotel, Santasport, to celebrate the New Year.
The reason I am writing this is because I want to publicly thank them for a wonderful family event they organized. We had dinner there and the food was amazing. All in all, it was a royal treatment with a nonstop fun. We are sll very glad that we spent the New Year’s Eve at the Apukka.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank D I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front desk team, Apukka Resort at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind review about our New Year's Eve!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It was our pleasure to have you here sharing the fun :)
Best wishes for New Year! Hope to meet you again for new experiences at Apukka!

Best regards,
Sanna - Front desk team, Apukka Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews