We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs finnish culture aurora zone northern lights aurora experience bed apartment ice fishing frozen lake peaceful location close to nature reindeer safari snow shoes two adults and two children perfect stay finnish sauna minute drive snowmobile tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 90 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We booked with Apukka reindeer safari and it was simply unforgettable experience.
Not only safari per se was organised in a perfect manner but it was really educational: the guides explained us a lot of interesting things about life of reindeers, how they train them and how Sami people try to keep the balance of half domesticated animals, how they treat them in different seasons of the year.
The safari was everything one wanted for a new year fairytale: being warm on sleigh close to these beautiful animals enjoying the ride through silent winter forest under falling snow.
We also had a good break in a hut with hot local drink and cookies accompanied with endless stories of our amazing guide.
The time went very fast and at the same time was good balanced with activities.
Would recommend them if you want to go on the reindeer safari outside of all tourist activities in Santa village. A big plus is reasonable price for high quality of services.
Thank you very much a great time in the nature.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BorisBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front desk team, Apukka Resort at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
These kind of experiences is why we love our work here at Apukka Resort. It means so much to us that your experience has been great. And even more, you have understood the deeper meaning of Lappish life style of reindeer herding.

Glad to hear you found our services good value and quality. We appreciate your feedback.

Best wishes for New Year! Hope to see you visiting Apukka again for new adventures!

Best regards,
Sanna
Front desk team, Apukka Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We didn’t stay at the Apukka Resort but only came from our hotel, Santasport, to celebrate the New Year.
The reason I am writing this is because I want to publicly thank them for a wonderful family event they organized. We had dinner there and the food was amazing. All in all, it was a royal treatment with a nonstop fun. We are sll very glad that we spent the New Year’s Eve at the Apukka.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank D I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Front desk team, Apukka Resort at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind review about our New Year's Eve!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It was our pleasure to have you here sharing the fun :)
Best wishes for New Year! Hope to meet you again for new experiences at Apukka!

Best regards,
Sanna - Front desk team, Apukka Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

We went on a visit to apukka because we had booked an ice fishing trip.
The pick up from our lodge was on gime as planned. Saara, our driver told us a lot about Finnish culture and nature. She was really passionate. When we arrived at Apukka, we had some time to spent in the reception lounge. We could take coffee and cold drinks and had some time to relax before we went to the clothing rooms. Here Saara gave us thermal clothing and boots. Then we all went of for a walk on the lake. Saara brought everything we needed on a sled. Than she told us how to drill the hole in the ice and learned us how to fish, like the Lappish men do. There were delicious cookies and hot berrie juice. We spent our fishing time with two other families. After the fishing we had some more time to relax by the fire in the lounge. We lost our camera and the people of Apukka did everything to find it back and to sent it to our home.
If we go back to Rovaniemi, we will book our trips at Apukka. The quality/price is very good!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Apukka Resort front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for taking time to write this review for us. Much appreciated!

We are very happy to hear you had great experience learning ice fishing. We'll make sure to share your kind words with your guide Saara as well.

Hope to have you visiting Apukka Resort again for more adventures. Best wishes for New Year 2019!

Warmest regards,
Sanna, Front desk team, Apukka Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

My daughter and I stayed for a night in November. The room was very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There wasn't any snow so we had to change plans a bit. We walked over to see the huskys and although we couldn't go for a ride (no snow) we were able to play with them. Elina took us on a nature walk in the arctic circle hiking area. She was very knowledgeable and we had sausage and cocoa over a fire. Noora and Lauri took us on a night hike in a small group. Although we didn't see the northern lights we had a great time. Again they were both very knowledgable and again we had sausage over a fire. It was a great experience and I would like to go there again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApukkaResort, Apukka Resort front desk team at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi Judi,

Thank you for your lovely words! We remember your visit and you were wonderful guests to have!

Unfortunate that there wasn't any snow yet when you were here. Now there is more than enough. Hope to have you visit us again and and try out all the fun snow activities we do here.

Happy to hear you were pleased with our guides. They all work with passion for good customer experiences!

Best wishes for New Year and welcome back to Apukka Resort anytime!

Warm regards,
Sanna - Apukka Resort front desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

Huskies were not Siberian huskies (that I specifically came to see) like in the ad. The instructors spoke broken English that was hard to understand. The safari guide seemed to be drunk and his lengthy explanation about the instuctions was excessive. The ride itself was ok, though it was very brief (even though we booked a longer one). The rest of the time went getting ready and listening to a talk about the huskies (explaining the excuse why the huskies didn't look like typical huskies). We wanted beautiful memories of the ride so asked the guide to take pictures of us. Afterwards looking at the pictures saw that all of them were blurry and awful. The schedule was also late and we got back 45mins late. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mourrau4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews