We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
15
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs finnish culture aurora zone northern lights aurora experience bed apartment ice fishing frozen lake peaceful location close to nature reindeer safari snow shoes two adults and two children perfect stay finnish sauna minute drive snowmobile tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 90 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018

I have stayed in a variety of types of accommodation from very budget to luxury and with Apukka Resort (we stayed in the aurora cabin for 4 nights) being on the luxury end in terms what we paid.
When you pay a solid 450 EUR per night you expect to have some(!) luxury or comfort to your say.
No room service
No heating apart from under floor -> and that is not adjustable. it either got incredibly hot in the room or very cold.
We were in Cabin 1 and it was so dark in this cabin even with all lights fully on; I had to use a torch to find things in my suitcase..
No curtains on the windows - no privacy at all

The website said there is a shuttle provided as well as a public bus running. I emailed the resort weeks beforehand to confirm our flight times in order to book the shuttle. We were told the shuttle doesn't run so we had to catch a Taxi from the airport.
When we got to the resort at the time indicated we were literally the only people in this so-called "resort" apart from the lady at reception who was having a 15 min phone call while we had to wait for her to finish. She clearly knew who we were since we must have been the only guests to arrive that day so all she did was give us the key for our cabin. NOTHING else. We had to firstly find the cabin as the key only had number 1 on it and then drag our suitcases through the snow without any help. She did not give us any information about the breakfast that was included or about any of the tours we booked.
We found the cabin fairly clean but the bathroom smelled like sewage. The shower runs out of hot water after 20 min (the pressure is already close to zero) and then takes 3 hours to heat back up.
Also there is a kettle, mugs and tea bags but they do not provide room service - there is also no kitchenette in the cabin so we had to bring the mugs into the main building and wash them ourselves....
I found it extremely disturbing that someone does come into the cabin every day tho to make your bed but does not clean, change towels or remove used mugs!
Food:
We had breakfast included and this was by far one of the worst breakfasts I have had, and I have had hostel breakfasts which were more decent than what is provided by this resort! The breakfast consisted of extremely overcooked scrambled eggs which were sat out on the bench for hours and extremely basic plain white bread as well as muesli, the food was literally so bad we had to go into town and buy our own bread and spreads!
They do provide a dinner - which I however chose not to buy due to the horrible reviews I have read about it!! - and, they actually give you the leftover sausage / potato / salmon for breakfast which was clearly just reheated and is unacceptable!
Getting around:
This place is about 20km from the town and since the shuttle doesn't run (because the staff clearly does not want to drive you there) they tell you to catch a taxi- which we did and it was roughly 50 EUR one way.
There is also no shop / supermarket around so you literally cannot get food without having to taxi into town.
-> however since you dont have a fridge / kitchenette in the Aurora Cabin you have to go to the main building (which literally feels like a hostel -> it is old, has no character, shared rooms and a kitchen) to store your food in a communal fridge and use the kitchen.
Activities:
we booked a few activities via the resort - which were all good and fun but also way overpriced compared to when you book it in town via an agency.
The resort has a huge storage room with snow shoes, boots, jackets, etc -> which would be great for guests to use (considering that this place is literally in the middle of nowhere) however they again try to make as much money as possible by charging extortionate amounts!
Sauna: when staying at a resort I expect some things to be included in the price apart from the plain room and a horrible breakfast! But no... they do have an area outside which they call "sauna village" with several saunas but you have to book them and it's about 250 EUR for an hour. Especially in Finland I expected there to be at least one sauna that you can use for free....

All in all this was a very disappointing experience from start to finish - mainly because of how poor the place is run by the owners / staff and you feel that they just try to make as much money as possible.
Every time we went up to reception to ask something (if we can have the glow fire salmon, how to get into town, when we will get picked up for the tour) the response was "I don't know" with no resolution offered whatsoever.

Room tip: I would only ever book the Aurora Cabin (the other rooms look horrible)
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko K, Operations manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Anne,
We are sorry about that your visit didn't correspond to your expectations at all. For us, it's a bit hard to recognize all these grievances in our operations which you have mentioned in this review. However, we would like to thank you about your detailed feedback which is really important for us in development of our relatively new resort.

Best Regards,
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at Apukka Resort very much.

The location is approx 10km away from the airport and completely out in the yard. This place with a beautiful view to a frozen lake and to the snow covered trees is outstanding and absolutely fancy.

The main building, where our room was, is a little bit old but with a charming atmosphere. We were in room 15 (appartment) with a lot of space. The breakfast is served in the second building where also the reception is located.

The complete Apukka Resort staff was very helpful and had an answer for all our questions, like Husky safari, snow mobile safari, where to go in Rovaniemi, opening hours of Santa Claus village,...

Thanks to the Appuka Resort team to make our stay in Lapland that pleasurable!

Andreas with family from Austria

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas_Austria_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko K, Operations manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hello afreis2018,
we would like to thank you for sharing your nice experiences and for your good review! It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your staying here in Apukka.

Best Regards,
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

Quiet and clean rooms, excellent food, friendly and open staff. Activities like sauna and excursions are expensive, but worth it. The "village" in the resort is lovely. Transport: Contrary to the bus schedule at the reception, there is a bus to the city on a Saturday morning around 10:38 (JBUS)

Room tip: Rooms in the main building have separate toilets and shower rooms (no water in the room)
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Powerbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko K, Operations manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Powerbody,
Thank you for your advisable feedback, and your good review! It's great to read that you have got memorable experiences here at Apukka.

Best Regards,
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

Arrived at Apukka Aurora Borealis cabin not so impressed as it made out to be. Nothing special fr the price that was paid, over priced slightly and so are the activities. Checking into the cabin they were trying to sell me things straight away such as a sauna etc.

The cabin has no sauna as it's outside but you have to pay €100+ for 1 hour use. Inside the cabin it is equipped with 2 beds facing the big open view window (we were lucky as it faced the lake which was nice.) It also had a sofa bed that converted into a double bed and a bathroom with shower. The shower can only be used in small amounts as the water take 2-4hours to warm up.

A mini bar is found also equipped with tea and coffee and also hot chocolate along with a kettle. A little annoying that they provide all these drinks but no milk.

Our Aurora Borealis cabin included a buffet breakfast which you could help yourself to including drinks.

They offered us clean towels on the second day of being their which is useful.

Overall it was an average experience, bit limiting as to what you can do in the cabins as there is no kitchen. It's not recommended for disabled people as you can't park car near the cabin as they don't allow it / can't clear the snow to make space. There are better value and higher quality hotels offering cabins such as Nova Skyland.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Seb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko K, Operations manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Dear Seb,
We regret that your visit didn't correspond to your all expectations. The Aurora cabins are equipped with standard size hot water boilers that are commonly used in Finland. In normal use, there is hot water available for four people at a time. However, we have started to consider all these issues right away and we have already done a lot of small improvements and adjustments in our Aurora Cabins. Finally, we would like to thank you about your detailed feedback which is really important for us in development of our resort.

Best regards,
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

I got a great feeling when the resort picked us up in Rovaniemi. It was Elena, one of the staff who picked us up. Felt like old friend picking us up. Arriving in the resort was great also. The building is an old beautiful building. The room was comfortable, except the wall was thin so it was noisy since we can hear people talking, kids playing or anybody walking outside the room.
I had a great Finnish Sauna experience in this resort, and also had a chance to see Northern light.
Another downside was the restaurant. Its not a full service restaurant so for dinner (and maybe lunch) they only serve buffet. No alcohol (beer etc) serve in this restaurant. Perhaps they could upgrade the restaurant service in the future.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko K, Operations Manager at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Hello Luswon,
it's great to hear that your have had good time here and nice memories from Apukka. As a relatively new resort we really appreciate that you shared your detailed experiences here. Thank you for this. Our aim is to develop our operations all the time and we will also take notice of your review.

Best regards,
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews