We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation in an expensive town”
Review of Hotelli Aakenus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotelli Aakenus
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation in an expensive town”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotelli Aakenus in January 2011. Accommodation in Rovaniemi is expensive compared to other parts of Finland. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children heading into the teenage years. In Finland we often stay at youth hostels as a good value for money option. In Rovaniemi however we were astounded that the best the local youth hostel could do for us was 45 Euro per person in a room with four beds and shared facilities, ie 180 Euro per night for our family! And that did not include breakfast.

Here is where the Aakenus provides excellent value! The location is good, with only a 5 minute brisk walk to the main shopping and restaurant part of town, as well as the Tourist Information Centre. However, despite the central location, there was no street noise. There is plenty of space for parking your car behind the hotel, including plugs for the car engine heating if required.

We stayed at the Aakenus for 160 Euro per night in a family room. This included an evening sauna and buffet breakfast. The family room was simply 2 double rooms with connecting doors. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The kids enjoyed having their own bathroom. The booking was done over the internet.

All rooms are located off a central corridor, which gives the establishment a slightly dreary factory-like feel. This is not a honeymoon hotel! However, once inside the room, it is bigger and nicer than expected from the outside. Plenty of room for luggage. Each room has a TV and small table and chairs. The bathroom was of average standard.

The reception staff were friendly, efficient and spoke excellent English. A computer with internet connection was available at reception. We did not have time to try the sauna.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, and included hot foods, porridge, eggs, bacon, sausage and cheeses, cereals, yogurt, breads, fruit, oven pancake, cakes, tea/coffee, juices. Some typical Finnish foods were included such as Karjalan piirakka the first morning. The apple cake on the second morning was delicious. Shame about the coffee which would only rate average to poor for a country that usually has good coffee.

At breakfast there was a constant stream of guests. At other times we barely saw other guests. We certainly didn’t hear them from the room!

Overall, a good standard and good value in an otherwise expensive town!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Familytravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    84
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
67
60
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

For a basic place, this is excellent. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of space. The linens are decent quality, and everything was spotless. The staff is what really made this place great. They helped me with a very late check-in, collected my luggage when it arrived the next morning, and were generally very helpful. Three days after my stay, I returned to Rovaniemi for an afternoon. The people at reception graciously allowed me to stay in their lobby, use their internet & park my luggage while I went on a walk. That's going above and beyond when customer service extends beyond the stay.
I didn't eat breakfast when I stayed at Aakenus, but the food in the dinner buffet was very basic, inexpensive food (12€). It was OK. The rooms and hospitality are what make this place a very good place to stay, not the dinner buffet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenFromTheIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

The room was very basic & simple.
The staff very friendly & helpful, Allowed an early check in at 9 am and even lent us an umbrella to use during our stay.
Easy walking distance to the main street, super market & the bus stop from where you can get the “Santa Express” to Napiiri.
Free Sauna - great - after long, cold day!
The complimentary breakfast is good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrade4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

This hotel is on the edge of the centre of Rovaniemi. It is very basic and just one level above staying in a hostel.

The room was:

1. warm. Important when it is -22 C outside.
2. clean.
3. Medium size.
4. reasonably quiet.
5. the hot water was hot. But it did sometimes fluctuate between hot and medium hot.

VALUE - this is one of the cheapest hotels in Rovaniemi. In that sense it is good value. However, compared to other hotels in Europe it is poor value.

FOOD - the breakfast is ok but not really inspiring. The orange juice is powdered and the bread is stale. Note that they RE-USE food from the buffet the night before.

LOCATION - very good.

SERVICE - we stayed 7 days. The waste basket was removed each day. The beds were made on one day only. The towels were not replaced once. In sum, room cleaning was not big on the agenda.

STAFF - very friendly and somewhat knowledgeable.

TIPs - go down by the river and use the locals sled ride(s) for free. Catch the Bus no.8 to Santa Village.

HUGE TIP - make sure you bring your warmest clothes. This place is probably colder than any place you have ever been. I saw lots of people with hired clothing. You can buy a good range of cold weather gear here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lex_loci_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.5 mi away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
344 reviews
4.3 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
2.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Aakenus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Aakenus

Property: Hotelli Aakenus
Address: Koskikatu 47, Rovaniemi 96100, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelli Aakenus 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotelli Aakenus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Aakenus Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing