We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendy staff but empty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaissa

Gaissa
Ranked #54 of 80 Restaurants in Rovaniemi
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great food, friendy staff but empty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The restaurant is situated on the 2nd floor of the Hotel Santa Claus above a restaurant bar. We visited on a friday evening and it was empty so it had a strange atmosphere. It did start to fill up a bit after a while though. The staff were friendly and we had a good choice of seating. The decor is a bit odd with silver chairs in one area and wooden chairs in another. The food was delicious, we had the sauteed reindéer and the reindeer shank but so much food not all of us finished our meals! Very efficient service too and reasonably priced, very enyoyable. The coffee was very strong but lovely!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1066girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit cold atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went to have a nice dinner in Rovaniemi and we chose restaurant Gaissa in downtown.

Dinner was good and everything went smooth, but... We were almost the only customers in the whole restaurant, so it felt a bit uncomfortable.

Decoration and inside is nothing special, but menu is good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
634 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“finnish food heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The menu is not long, but the plates served are really good. At least the ones I tried. Had char for starter - and really enjoyed it. The Main course - zander in red butter sauce was brilliant. But the best thing was the dessert - Finnish coffee cheese (or they call it bread cheese) soaked in lukewarm milk with cinnamon and served with cloudberries. That was pure heaven. The waitress claimed some foreigners don't like the texture of the cheese, saying it's rubbery- it is so, but the taste is so nice so one doesn't mind the squeaky noise while chewing.
Gaissa is a perfect place for Finnish food. The service might improve - taking away cutlery and not replacing with new ones for next course, and one waiter asking if I wanted anything more after removing the starter plate (when in fact I had ordered main course already). But those are small details. Food is still heavenly.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
243 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“a meal to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

rovaniemi although one of the worlds biggest towns by area,is actually small enough to walk through the bits that matter
we noticed this restaurant at the santa claus hotel and thought we would give it a try
the quality of the food was second to none ,and even though we sat in the grill area the waiter was quite happy for us to order from both menus
it was about £120 for 3 of us ,but £45 of that was a bottle of wine
all in all a great place to eat,some lovely modern finnish cooking
highly recommeded

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lutonlagerlout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

This restaurant was a little disappointing:-

- Not a great choice of food,
- Basic decor,
- No atmosphere,
- Service slow
- Very pricey

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lissybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaissa also viewed

 
Rovaniemi, Lapland
 
Rovaniemi, Lapland
 

Been to Gaissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing