We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virgin Islands Campground
Nearby Hotels
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$287
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
$569
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$231
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveler rating
286
19
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon beachthe cottagesrent a golf cartvirgin islandsshort walkother guestscooking areacrown bay marinashared kitchenferry dockst thomashot tubsea turtlesfish tacoswonderful breezegourmet galleryamazing hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 307 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I found Virgin Island Campgrounds on the internet and read Trip Advisor Reviews to make my decision. I have to say the glowing reviews were spot on and I concur. Virgin Island Campgrounds met all expectations and more. The eco open air cabins were clean, comfortable and just what we wanted. Having screens on all four sides allowed for great breezes at night. The bed was so comfortable and all basic amenities were right there. We traveled with a one year old and four year old. They enjoyed hanging in the pavillion with others guests, spending time with the owners who are terrific, and exploring the island.
The camground really isn't what you would think of when you think of a campground. The cabins are made of wood and canvas, have a real bed, table and chairs, patio and lights (on timers for the eco conscious). The pavillion has two frigs for food, a grill, cooktop and coffee maker. The bathroom has two toliets, two showers and everything is always clean. There is a communications room for internet checking (which I didn't do), working (my husband did that and was quiet happy with the space) and there is also a hot tub next to that room.
We enjoyed cooking almost every night, talking with the other guests over coffee, walking to the beach and doing the Water Island activities. (pizza night, dinner on the beach, bingo, and movie night) We also loved Honeymoon beach for relaxing, snorkeling in Limestone Bay and spotting animals.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCSnyders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thanks so much for your kind words... We too, are really looking forward to your return...

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul Quade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Water Island is an incredible spot. It is easy to get to from St. Thomas, yet feels remote. Honeymoon Beach is beautiful and is usually nearly empty. The few island amenities are fun: Joe's makes the best Painkillers, the pizza's worth the wait, and the movie night is a great communal experience. If getting away to a place with no tv sounds like fun, this is a good place for you. The hosts at the campground are great, too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I lead full lives in the middle of New York City. We are 79 and 70, married nearly 46 years; we teach and write, are close to our children and take care of our grandchildren. It's a good life, but once in a while we long for something different -- quiet, time to read for hours, to talk uninterrupted and give our attention only to each other. The Virgin Islands Campground was perfect for us.

We brought along mostly bathing suits and books; didn't need much more. We swam and read, walked and returned to reading, slept whenever we felt like it. We loved the view of the sea from our tent-cottage, the calls of birds, the chickens under the porch and tortoises along the paths, hummingbirds at the feeder, stars bright overhead. It felt like camping but more comfortable -- camping with bed and reading lights. We checked e-mail occasionally from the community-room computer but otherwise dropped off the world.

Deborah and Paul were wonderfully considerate hosts. They showed us around and explained how things worked, supplied clean towels and lifts to the ferry, answered dozens of questions. They made sure we knew about special events (dinners and movies on the beach, pot luck suppers) but didn't seem to mind when we chose to stay at home.

We stayed two weeks and wish it had been longer. Certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityWalker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Very nice break away from the North East winter. The campsite is much more than a camp site. Everything you need is here and Deborah took care of any questions we had. The island is a perfect get away. I would advise renting a golf cart for a day and exploring the island. If you do it on a Monday, you can watch movies on the beach. It was like an old drive in theater! I would advise bug spray though.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wblacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Water Island is a real escape. This is the only place I have ever been where I truly felt that I was able to relax and destress. You can spend your day however you like. No crazy tourists or a crazy list of must sees. A perfect day every day can consist of waking up at sunrise, taking a long walk, lounging and swimming at the beach all day, enjoying great food and some wine and stars at night. And then....you can do it all over again the next day!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srtawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews