We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
309
19
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon beach rent a golf cart the cottages virgin islands other guests crown bay marina ferry dock minute walk hermit crabs st thomas hot tub movie night on the beach exploring the island wonderful breeze amazing hosts relaxing vacation bug spray
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 330 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

Fabulous stay at the campground! The tent cabins give you the feel like your in a treehouse. Great views of the ocean. Deborah and Paul are wonderful hosts and very helpful. Everyone on the island are friendly.
Jeff who drives the bus from the ferry to the beach was a sweetheart for going the extra mile to give us a ride with our groceries up the hill to the campground.
Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Sue,

I know you're so busy right now and to take the time to write a nice review...awesome. Thanks. I must say you were the most prepared guest post Irma...you get the gold star! As you know we just got power, the Tv's are working the we're filling up the hot tub as we speak!! Life is good in paradise.

Hope to see you in the near future...and do stay a while the next time!!

Sincerely,

Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

I stayed in a very comfortable bed with a great view and Caribbean breeze. I was there in the middle of November 2017. I could not find a hotel room anywhere in St. Thomas and, by chance, I found the Virgin Islands Campground. A 10 minute ferry for $5 gets you to Water Island. Coordinate pick up with Deborah and Paul. There is a good outdoor restaurant within walking distance on a tranquil beach.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ivan3332017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Ivan,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share with others information about the campground. We really appreciate it. Also, thanks for sharing the pictures from St. Thomas..

Please come back with your better half and receive a 10% discount. We now have power, TV and the hot tub is filling up right now.

All the best,

Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at campground while doing some hurricane relief clean up work. What an amazing gem. Deborah and Paul where gracious hosts always there to answer any questions that I had. The beach was secluded and very clean. Will be staying their again in the near future.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank jonkerr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

We are in need of guests reviewing our camp post hurricane...thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay...remind us and you will receive a 10% returning guest discount when you book directly.

Until then.

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Randy and his wife Lisa were wonderful hosts. Both of them went above and beyond to make us feel at home. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet that we found at Virgin Islands Campground. It's pretty close to camping, so if you're expecting fancy amenities, you shouldn't come here. But my wife and I really enjoyed the relaxation from cooking our own food over a shared grill, walking around an island that felt empty most of the time, and just getting to mingle with the handful of people on the island. I would 100% visit again, half due to the peacefulness of the location and half due to the hospitality of Randy, Lisa, and everyone else on Water Island.

Go on the Flavors of St Thomas food tour and ask for Liz while you're there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Joshua,

Thank you for your nice review and wonderful comments about our managers and our neighbors on Water Island. I really think that one of the special experiences about Water Island is the feeling of not being a tourist and the feeling of being a "local". Your review touched on that.

We do hope you will visit again..this time as friends!

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul Quade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here during the first week of August. The views are amazing, and the cabins were perfect. Each night had a great breeze that kept us from getting too hot to sleep, and the humidity was nothing we aren't already used to as we are from Louisiana. We mainly used the campground for cooking breakfast, showering, and sleeping, and that was perfect for our needs! If you're a traveler that wants a lazy boy and the evening news, this isn't for you. If you want to get the most out of your vacation, this is definitely the way. We plan on returning every year and will recommend it to anyone who wants to truly unplug and enjoy their Caribbean vacation.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Erin,
What a nice review...maybe wedding bells on Water Island? We appreciate you taking the time, especially now while you're likely busy, again.

Thank you. Thank you.

Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews