We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING honeymoon spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent a week on Water Island at the Campground for our honeymoon Sept 30-Oct 6. The location is quiet, gorgeous and so relaxing--perfect after all the wedding planning! We stayed in the suite and found the accommodations better than expected for a "campground." The other campers were awesome and everyone we met on the island (at Heidi's, and Joe's or on random golf carts between the campground and beach) was so friendly! Paul & Debbie have an amazing thing going there on Water Island and we HIGHLY recommend it. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The suite has its own microwave, fridge & bathroom for guests looking to do a little less campin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Front Office Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Loved your review and appreciate your time...gald to hear you'll be back to enjoy your 10% discount...and if you make it to 10 visits, that trip will be free...

Until next time and THANKS again.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I planned a last minute trip to Water Island after realizing I'd have a couple of weeks of in between jobs. It couldn't have been better! The campsite was quiet, beautiful and the accommodations were better than I could've imagined. Best last minute glamping trip ever! Thanks Paul and Debbie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Director of Sales at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Andrea,

Thanks so much for your review...we expect to see you here again when you make your new transition...awesome!! Say hello to Columbus for us and until the next time.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Paul and Debbie were wonderful, friendly and very helpful as they ensured that we were comfortable at the Campground. The location is very nice - quiet, peaceful, and beautiful.
The residents are generally very warm.

Should the opportunity to revisit VI Campground presents itself, I would not think twice. I would seize it right away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princessofpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Director of Sales at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. This actually is our main source of "advertising". Your review was so nice, Thanks for that, too.

Please remember there is a 10% discount on your returning trip and we hope you return!!

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

"Camping" made simple and easy - just bring food and bug spray. There are several comments about mosquitos on this site and while it is true, we never had a problem in our cabin and never wore bug spray to bed. Paul has the cabin sealed up tight!

My wife and I agreed that our island experience was enhanced by the connected feeling gained by the natural environment of the Virgin Islands Campground. You should go, just don't book our cabin #3 when we want it :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Director of Sales at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Tom and Gabriella,

Thank you for writing a nice review...it's fun to hear what people have to say, especially when it's nice..we'll try to save 3 for you for your next visit...and of course you will enjoy the returning guests 10% discount...until next time.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

No, seriously... paradise! My sister and I went to to the VI Campground and couldn't possibly have had a better experience. Paul and Debbie, your "camp" ground hosts are two of the sweetest folks I've met in all of my travels. Water Island is a peaceful sanctuary about a 10 minute ferry ride from the slightly more hectic St. Thomas, but its easy access back to the larger Islands and more tourist activities. For those who want to connect to Island-Life, meet wonderful people, wake up to the most incredible view of the Caribbean Island, and breath nothing but fresh air... this is officially THE spot! Already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, General Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Mimi and Lydia,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review...Mimi, your picture looks like you on the dock the day we picked you up...interesting. You gals were such a pleasure...it is nice to be around people that are so happy and so positive...really!!

Come a see us again at the cheaper rate of 10% off to returning guests.

Until next time..
Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don P
My wife Carolyn booked us for a week at VI Campground. It was Sept., thus a quiet time. Since they were having the most rain in several years, we upgraded to a more secure cabin instead of the typical cottage-tent. The upgrade was very nice but not really necessary. We had more sunny days than we needed and a wonderful time. We met some delightful people,spent a lot of time swimming and snorkeling and exploring St Thomas(many tours available). We felt relaxed and peaceful and highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Front Office Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Don and Caroline,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a very nice review...it is much appreciated and we look forward to your return visit. Sounds like you might try the cottage next time...yea, I like the cottages.

Anyway...until we meet again.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We debated for a while whether we wanted to spend money on a big trip this year or not, and we said what the heck and booked the Campground. We are so glad we did! If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle and just relax but still want the ability to go in and do some touristy things this is the place for you. Water Island is the perfect get away, quiet. Honeymoon Beach is absolutely perfect. We visited in off season so we basically had the beach to ourselves. When cruise ships are in there is all the shopping you could think to do. St. John is just a ferry ride away, we didnt end up going but heard it is beautiful. We did the sailing with Karl and first mate Tim, both are great and friendly easy to talk to. Snorkeling on the sailing trip was amazing, beautiful colorful coral, sea turtles, fish. etc. We snorkeled off of honeymoon beach basically everyday we saw sea turtles, sting ray, plenty of fish and a tiny baby octopus there.

The Campground is very clean and accomodating, has everything you need. Except for food. Gourmet Gallery and Pueblos are super close right off of the ferry. Pueblos we found to have more selection and a bit cheaper. We had crab leg dinner at Heidis on saturday night candle lit on the beach. It was delicious. Joes Beach bar has food and there hamburgers are the best burgers I have had! Joes makes some great drinks the paddlwhacker was our favorite. G&D seafood is right off the ferry on your left before you get to Pueblos we ate there twice, delicious seafood! and you can even buy fresh and take it back to the campground to cook if you would like!

Paul and Deborah are great hosts and are always there if you need anything or have questions about anything.

Our favorite things-the beach-snorkeling at honeymoon beach-talking with the locals a Joes beach bar in the evenings!

you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We had the suite, We really liked it and glad we splurged the little bit of extra money. We enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Lauren!! It made it and thanks so much...Hope you all made it home safely and you are probably already back helping those sweet babies...

Once again, do come a see us. Next time is cheaper with the 10% discount and the 10th stay is free!!

Until next time.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
1.6 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
710 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Water Island
Price Range: $152 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco Sensitive resort with self-contained canvas eco cottages, each with an ocean view terrance. We are located in the St. Thomas Harbor, on a pristine 500-acre island, Water Island, which has regular ferry service (10 min. boat ride) to St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands. Each cabin has pillow top mattresses, all 100% cotton linens (including beach towels), an outdoor cooking pavilion with an ocean view and the property is only 5 minute walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas
Virgin Islands Campground U.S. Virgin Islands/Water Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing