We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virgin Islands Campground
Nearby Hotels
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$310
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
$282
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
289
19
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon beachthe cottagesrent a golf cartvirgin islandsshort walkother guestscooking areacrown bay marinashared kitchenferry dockst thomashot tubsea turtlesfish tacoswonderful breezegourmet galleryamazing hosts
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 310 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don P
My wife Carolyn booked us for a week at VI Campground. It was Sept., thus a quiet time. Since they were having the most rain in several years, we upgraded to a more secure cabin instead of the typical cottage-tent. The upgrade was very nice but not really necessary. We had more sunny days than we needed and a wonderful time. We met some delightful people,spent a lot of time swimming and snorkeling and exploring St Thomas(many tours available). We felt relaxed and peaceful and highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Front Office Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Don and Caroline,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a very nice review...it is much appreciated and we look forward to your return visit. Sounds like you might try the cottage next time...yea, I like the cottages.

Anyway...until we meet again.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We debated for a while whether we wanted to spend money on a big trip this year or not, and we said what the heck and booked the Campground. We are so glad we did! If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle and just relax but still want the ability to go in and do some touristy things this is the place for you. Water Island is the perfect get away, quiet. Honeymoon Beach is absolutely perfect. We visited in off season so we basically had the beach to ourselves. When cruise ships are in there is all the shopping you could think to do. St. John is just a ferry ride away, we didnt end up going but heard it is beautiful. We did the sailing with Karl and first mate Tim, both are great and friendly easy to talk to. Snorkeling on the sailing trip was amazing, beautiful colorful coral, sea turtles, fish. etc. We snorkeled off of honeymoon beach basically everyday we saw sea turtles, sting ray, plenty of fish and a tiny baby octopus there.

The Campground is very clean and accomodating, has everything you need. Except for food. Gourmet Gallery and Pueblos are super close right off of the ferry. Pueblos we found to have more selection and a bit cheaper. We had crab leg dinner at Heidis on saturday night candle lit on the beach. It was delicious. Joes Beach bar has food and there hamburgers are the best burgers I have had! Joes makes some great drinks the paddlwhacker was our favorite. G&D seafood is right off the ferry on your left before you get to Pueblos we ate there twice, delicious seafood! and you can even buy fresh and take it back to the campground to cook if you would like!

Paul and Deborah are great hosts and are always there if you need anything or have questions about anything.

Our favorite things-the beach-snorkeling at honeymoon beach-talking with the locals a Joes beach bar in the evenings!

you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We had the suite, We really liked it and glad we splurged the little bit of extra money. We enjoyed having our own bathroom and own fridge, and tv (tv was rarely used). It has a great view of limestone bay and sunrise right out of bedroom window and porch.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Lauren!! It made it and thanks so much...Hope you all made it home safely and you are probably already back helping those sweet babies...

Once again, do come a see us. Next time is cheaper with the 10% discount and the 10th stay is free!!

Until next time.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had made reservations at VI Campground as an anniversary surprise for my spouse. We stayed 6 nights and it was awesome. This is the first time we have been totally relaxed. The accommodations and views were fabulous. Paul and Deborah are perfect hosts and the "campground" is immaculate. Everything is provided, pots/pans/utensils, linens, towels, etc. We picked up provisions for a couple of days at the market next to the ferry. Then we went to St. Thomas to see the historic sites and the larger market Pueblos and quickly returned to Water Island to get away from the hustle and bustle. We ate at Joe's Grill (now called Lifes a Beach) and Heidi's grill- both fantastic. We didn't venture off the island until we had to leave paradise and return to reality. We will return. Thank you Paul and Deborah!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Guest Relations Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Joyce,

Yes you did good!! Thanks so much and I hope you're feeling better soon. Sorry about that.

Please come back to see us and good luck with that house...sounds awesome!!

We are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Deborah and Paul have created an absolute paradise at the Virgin Island Campground! They have maintained their campground beautifully. This is the place to go if you like the outdoors and want to get away from the crowds. Water Island is gorgeous and secluded. The locals made us feel very welcome. There are two places to eat and drink on the beach (Heidi's Honeymoon Grill was fabulous!!) plus the pavilion up at the campground where there is a grill, refrigerator, coffee pot, and anything else you might need to whip up a meal. We highly recommend the sailing/snorkeling excursion with Carl. He picks you up right there at the ferry on Water Island. We went with one other couple from the campground and had a phenomenal time. It was so personal and enjoyable. They took the time to get to know us and they had fascinating stories to share. We never did rent a golf cart on the island. Everything is within walking distance and we enjoyed all the walking. It kept with the pace of the whole island. We went into St. Thomas for a day and totally regretted it. We couldn't wait to get back to our little paradise on Water Island. We did leave the trip covered in mosquito bites, but that was a small price to pay for the paradise we experienced. We will definitely go back!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HMKS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for the nice review...I wish you all the very best and so happy you are starting your lives together....I had no idea you too were on your honeymoon.

Remember a 10% discount upon your return ( maybe your anniversary??)

All the best,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband, myself and our 11 year old just returned from our 10 day trip to St. Thomas. We spent 3 days and 4 nights at the VI Campgrounds on Water Island and were thrilled with the place. We arrived at around 10pm and had to pay for a special rate for a late private ferry from St. Thomas ($90) but Joe was very nice despite the late hour. He called Deborah for us and she met us at the dock giving us a quick tour of the main roads and the camp grounds themselves. We were a little disappointed to find out that we were the only people staying there but the next morning having coffee at the pavilion/kitchen overlooking the water that quickly went away, it was as if we had an entire tree fort to ourselves. The cabins are wonderful and the property is amazingly maintained. Every morning John filled the bird feeders and we enjoyed our breakfast watching the sugar birds and humming birds dive in and out of the trees. We went to St. Thomas the next morning and bought some groceries but had also brought some dried goods with us on the plane. With the full size fridge, coffee pot and grill we had everything we needed and there was something amazing about doing dishes while the birds fluttered around you. Honeymoon beach was great and despite not being a great snorkeling area we saw a sea turtle several times and a few string rays. We quickly felt very welcomed by everybody and our daughter said it felt like home. Deborah has done a great job and we are grateful for her hospitality. This is truly a place to go to disconnect.

Room Tip: Rent a golf cart, it's worth it! Bring as much dry goods can before you arrive.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrmacauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello, and thanks again for your stay. I love the picture your daughter drew and plan to frame it and add it to our wall...pretty cool!!

Thanks also for the nice words, and do come back to stay..

Sincerely,

Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews