We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Relaxing Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virgin Islands Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I told Deborah that i would write a horrible review ("the geckos are as big as dogs, the mosquitoes as big as bats ...") so no one would visit and we could keep this wonderful place to ourselves, but of course I can't do that. We had such a incredible, relaxing time, and the suite was so nice, complete with everything we needed, kitchenette and sitting area, private bathroom, bedroom with satellite TV and Internet. Nothing was better than having coffee every morning on our own deck, overlooking the ocean, Buck Island and St. Thomas. The bougainvillea, plumeria, and hibiscus were all in bloom, creating a riot of color. We loved the lushness of the landscaping, the privacy, the hammock pavilion! Deborah and Paul also made a wonderful suggestion for a snorkeling sail that we truly enjoyed. I was concerned about no air conditioning, but being on the windward side of the island was perfect. It was an outstanding vacation at a very special place, and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the suite very much for the privacy and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, General Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Jeanne,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our facility and most specifically the suite... We don't even know how guests feel until we read the reviews and it was nice reading about all the specifics you liked... We are looking forward to your return. Remember, returning guests recieve a 10 % discount and we are lucky enough to have you 9 times, your 10th stay will be free!! No Charge!! Complementary!! We just awarded a free stay to Mitch and Dave...it was so much fun!!!

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
161
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Staying at the Virgin Islands Campground was an amazing experience. I went in a group of 9 guys and we got two cabins. The rooms were great, and the open air-kitchen was so cool because it was sheltered from the weather, yet you still have a gorgeous view of the water and St. Thomas while you are grilling. Additional nice features include a hot tub and a hammock. It's a short walk from the two beaches. One is great for swimming (honeymoon beach) and it had a nice pavillion huge palm trees overlooking the water. the other beach was sweet for snorkeling and had some good coral structure. I would highly recommend this campground for any trip to the Virgin Islands, weather it is a honeymoon, family trip, or a trip with friends. Go Here!!!! You won't regret it.

P.S. If I was 21 I would have plopped myself down in a chair on the beach with my toes in the sand and a pail of ice cold coronas next to me. #Paradise

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, General Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Jesse, Thank you for your review...it was awesome...I think you were here in January? That is so nice you took the time to write and Wow! What a review...much appreciated.

Please let us know when you can join us again. Returning guest receive a 10% discount. I hope that will be you.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice quite location for our honeymoon and we found the perfect place. We booked our vacation at the Virgin Island Campgounds not knowing what to expect. Our vacation was better than expected. We had the best time. The campground is in the most pefect location with amazing views of the ocean and close to Honeymoon beach ( nice white sands). Deborah and her husband were great! They do a wonderful job with the facilities. They also helped us plan a sailing adventure which was awesome!

Overall we were highly satisfied we plan on coming back and staying longer than 5 days.

Room Tip: All the cabins are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Nikki,


We are glad to hear when you come back, you will try to stay longer than 5 nights...FYI the 7th night is almost free ( cause that is our deal I think in the summer the 7th night is $3.00!! ) So be sure to stay at least 7 nights.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review...much appreciated. You do know we give a 10% discount to all returning guests...AND we have just started a new policy: the 10th stay is FREE!! So, we hope you can come a bunch!!

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our family of four (2 & 4 year old kids) stayed at the Virgin Islands Campground for 9 nights this March. We had a fantastic time and managed to totally unwind on the beautiful and relaxing island. Upon arrival at the Water Island ferry station we were picked up and given a quick tour of the beach and some of the island before being dropped off at our cottage. We arrived a little frazzled from our flight - barely making the last Sunday evening ferry over and without our luggage. We were promptly hooked up with essential toiletries and a couple of cool Coronas which helped us settle in. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

The location is simply fantastic - great views of St Thomas and the water and just a few minutes from beautiful Honeymoon Beach. We found the cottages very comfortable and well appointed with almost every detail taken care of (see other reviews). The only challenge was getting enough food back to the island. We spent most of our time lazying around Water island. There are no grocery stores or even corner shops on the island so getting some cereal, a loaf of bread or some milk requires a ferry trip into St Thomas. It is a fair hike from the Water island ferry terminal back to the Campground so I highly recommend arranging a ride back if you get a lot of groceries. We found that Pueblo's (which is 2 mins from the ferry dock in St Thomas) offered better prices on food than the more conveniently located Gourmet Gallery.

We're already dreaming of our next trip back!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Daniel and Family,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reivew...I know with 2 young kids...how did you find the time...It was so much fun day one watching your little ones with no inhibitions!! I must say your check in was memorable!!!

We also appreciated your sharing some of your pictures...pictures speak a thousand words!!

Again, we are looking forward to your return...a 10% discount is waiting you AND if you are able to stay 9 different visits the 10th stay is FREE!! ( a new policy we adopted this year)

Sincerely and Best Wishes,

Deborah and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The four nights here turned out to be the best part of our US Virgin islands trip. The owners were incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. The facilities were well planned and incredibly well kept. They really thought of everything that you could need in terms of comfort and usefulness- from cooking utensils, to grocery bags, beach towels, and toiletries. We traveled light so it was fantastic to not want for anything. We stayed at a similar campground and this one was ten times as nice. If you are looking for a low key beautiful place to spend a few days this is a great spot to do it. We were engaged there our last day and am sure that we will revisit this great spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, General Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Emily,

Just going thru my trip advisor reviews and somehow I missed not sending you a thank you for writing such a nice review. So thank you!!

Come join us again and you know that 10% discount applies to all returning guests.

Sincerely,

Paul and Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Virgin Island Campground is really a relaxing, lovely place with 7 cottages, a big, attractive shared outdoor kitchen and nice washrooms for a family to stay that won't cost you a fortune. All the cottages are tucked into flowering tall bushes on a hillside of little, low-key Water Island, just a 7 minute ferry ride from the large, bustling St. Thomas Island. The hosts are warm, friendly, and helpful, and there's a lovely shelter with hammock and table and chairs as well as a solar heated hot tub. These simple cottages are for the slightly adventurous couple or families who prefer to cook most of their meals and set off each day to a different beach (there are 2 great beaches to snorkel at within 10 minute walks downhill of the campground) or a different island each day. The cottages are rustic, simple, very clean, with small decks facing the water with 2 comfy chairs to relax on.
We found an inexpensive flight package to get to St Thomas Island (the main one), then took a taxi and tiny ferry over to Water Island ( $5 plus $5) to get there. One day we popped over to the Virgin Island Ecotours at the Mangrove Lagoon (kayak, snorkel, hike 3 wonderful hours with a biologist guide) on st. Thomas Island. Another day we spent at St. John Island where we found a wonderful nearly-empty beach to snorkel (all the beaches there are great and most of the island is a National Park). Lovely restaurants, shops and bars along the beach at Cruz Bay too, where the ferries all arrive.
Back at the adorable Water Island, the 200 or so inhabitants drive golf carts instead of cars, and all go to Honeymoon Beach on Monday nights to eat a fresh dinner, or popcorn and watch a movie on a screen actually hung up between two tall palm trees. It was great!

Room Tip: All the cottages have great views of the water and St. Thomas Island. They can't fit more than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerri3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Jerri,

Thanks so much for the informative review...it is so helpful to us. People want to know more about Water Island and you have given them a lot of information. Hope our paths will cross again someday.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

ps: don't forget your next visit to us will be 10% cheaper!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at the Virgin Island Campground for four days and it was really delightful. The location on Water Island is spectacular - you get an amazing view of the St. Thomas Harbor and blue waters of the Caribbean, very comfortable eco-cabins, and a well-stocked shared kitchen and amenities. The owners are incredibly nice and welcoming. It's a great place to rest and relax, spend time at the nearby Honeymoon beach, and take in the Virgin Islands. I highly recommend this as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Andy,

We are so glad you were able to spend some time with us here on Water Island. We enjoyed our time with you. Best Wishes on your new adventure and do keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
6.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
6.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
6.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Property: Virgin Islands Campground
Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Water Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the concept of Upscale Camping! A handful of roomy tent-cabins feature ocean view terraces and all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas
Virgin Islands Campground U.S. Virgin Islands/Water Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing