We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cumulus Kemi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumulus Kemi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemi
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. VERY good service, front desk staff were very helpful with information, good breakfast, clean rooms. Sauna and swimming pool are very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitri79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    37
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
37
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

While the rooms are quite dated they are very clean and comfortable. I agree with other reviewers, the front desk staff were very helpful. The restaurant, however was not good, the food was less than pub quality but at €35 for a steak, not pub prices! Breakfast was pretty ordinary as well. This is really more like a large motel than a good hotel and lacks many of the facilities you would expect for a property in this price range.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Personnel is very hospital and good-humored. Food is good in the hotel restaurant 'Evasretki'. Some of the rooms are still waiting for repair and they are worn but most of the rooms are repaired and they look like very nice!

I stay here every time I visit Kemi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raikuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our family has stayed in this hotel several times during the past years. Kemi isn't a big town and there isn't so much choice for hotels, but we've been always happy with this hotel.
The location of this hotel is fantastic: you can go jogging or walking to the sea shore, which starts right across the street. The rooms follow Finnish hotel standards, which means that they are clean and comfortable. We are a family of three and the extra bed fits to the room, but then it gets a bit crowded.
I haven't used wifi in the room, because there is a computer with internet connection in the lobby and you can use it without extra charge.
Breakfast is nothing fancy but still has everything you need. Reception has always worked efficiently and friendly. The car park is located adjacent to the hotel and is free,
We have always asked for a quiet room and we have never had any disturbance from the streets or restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cumulus Kemi Hotel. The room was very comfortable and warm and breakfast was great, but one member of staff was exceptional. She spent ages helping us to find times of buses and trains for the next leg of our journey, when we were abandoned by our tour company. She spoke excellent English too. We really felt welcome at this hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Just wish I had taken the staff member's name to thank her personally.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustraliaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Kemi does not boast many 'normal' hotels - it is much more famous for the seasonal Snow Castle - but the Cumulus offers a warm, comfortable and welcoming base in the centre of this small town.

Rooms follow the Finnish style - pleasantly but basically furnished, warm, well insulated, comfortable and with shower rather than bath. A good buffet breakfast was included in the price. Rooms also have free broadband access.

The restaurant is one of the best on offer in Kemi, certainly in terms of menu choice. Food was tasty and plentiful, and the service good. The restaurant is let down by its decor which seems to have cobbled together a variety of styles and lighting, and could do with a complete upgrade, but it is not bad enough to put you off your food.

The Cumulus is well located, about 5 minutes from the Snow Castle and sea. There is not a great deal to do in Kemi outside the winter activities for which it is rightly famous, but the Cumulus will provide a good base for a night or two.

Prices were good, and we obtained a discount by contacting the hotel directly rather than using its website.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

We stayed here in conjunction with the Sampo Ice Breaker cruise. The hotel staff is very helpful with making your travel arrangements to/from the ship and to/from the airport/train/bus. The restaurant has delicious local food for reasonable prices (we ate there both nights of our stay and we generally hate eating in hotels). Rooms are comfortable albeit spartan, with good beds and linens and super clean, spacious bathrooms. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are doing the Ice Breaker. The staff provides 5-star concierge service, while being friendly and speaking excellent English.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank spcfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemi
0.8 mi away
SnowHotel in Kemi
SnowHotel in Kemi
#2 of 5 in Kemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merihovi
Hotel Merihovi
#3 of 5 in Kemi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotelli Olof
Hotelli Olof
#1 of 2 in Tornio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Palomestari
13.8 mi away
Park Hotel Tornio
Park Hotel Tornio
#2 of 2 in Tornio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
13.8 mi away
Haparanda Stadshotell
Haparanda Stadshotell
#1 of 1 in Haparanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Kemi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kemi Hotel

Property: Cumulus Kemi Hotel
Address: Hahtisaarenkatu 3, Kemi 94100, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Kemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Kemi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located 1 km from train station & 8 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumulus Kemi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing