We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic remote hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inari
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic remote hotel”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the original section of the hotel in October 13. The room is fairly basic but very functional, comfortable and warm with windows opening so you can hear the sound of the rushing river all night, which is just metres from the hotel. Bathroom again functional and adequate. You could easily spend a week in one of these more moderately priced rooms. Made all the easier by the fantastic locally sourced and based evening meals in the restaurant, the relaxing ambience of the lounge and sit-around fireplace. They have a great wine list and quite reasonable for the location in the high Arctic circle. Breakfast is nourishing and sufficient for a hotel in this situation, you won't be disappointed. In addition, as a guest of the older section you can have access to the traditional sauna cabin located a short stroll and right beside the river and can be booked for private sessions. The staff are very helpful and assisted us with a self conducted tour to Tula's reindeer farm, including arranging the transport. Tula and her reindeer are unmissable, if you want a very personal experience of modern Sami culture and lifestyle. Also, the SADII Sami cultural centre is a must. You will be disappointed that you came all this way and missed out on either of these things. Seeing the Northern Lights at 2 AM is just a bonus! Take a walk in the nearby forest, you will be amazed by the variety of mushrooms and berries growing wild everywhere. All up, it's not luxury and doesn't aspire to be but we agree with others who have commented that it's one of the nicest and friendliest hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Book a room on the river side. Don't pre-pay for meals, you get a much wider choice a-la-carte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jets_100299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    125
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
133
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I arrived at this hotel after a long coach ride from Rovaniemi in December 2012, not really knowing what to expect and found it to be one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. I was still able to have some dinner, even though it was after 9.00 pm.

I stayed in one of the luxury rooms in the seperate building, which meant a walk outside to get to the main part of the hotel, not a problem though with a decent clothes. The staff were fantastic, sorting out my wifi problem very quickly.

This hotel was part of a non escorted tour through Finland and Norway, with me being the only person on the tour, due I think, to the time of year I went on the tour.

I would thoroughly recomend this hotel to anyone at any time of year and I'm hoping to visit this hotel again, in a warmer time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for a week in this hotel.The view from my window was wonderfulThe staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, I felt like staying at my friends. The food was just perfect, especially -fish.The room was quite simple but lovely, the beds- comfortable. Had a chance to enjoy the sauna which is next to the hotel. I'm not an expert but my friends loved it. I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaliaLithuania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed for a couple of days this winter in the "basic" rooms of the hotel (they have a newer building right next to the old one with more expensive and more comfortable rooms). Of course you can't expect any luxury here, but the rooms were perfectly okay with comfortable beds and a functional bathroom plus a wonderful view at the winter wonderland outside. Staff was very friendly and helpful with trips. The restaurant is fantastic, with very fresh, tasty and reasonably priced dishes from Lapland. The breakfast unfortunately cannot really keep up to the standard, but it is okay. Also worth noting: The small sauna right next to the river, which you can rent for just 5 Euros.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was very basic, rooms clean, and comfortable beds. Basic bathroom too, and there was a hair dryer, but no power point within usable distance of a mirror!!
Nice bar downstairs, very convivial, AND an espresso machine which did produce okay coffee.
Set menu for dinner - food very average, but edible.
Free wifi in rooms

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aleith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed only the one night at Hotel Kultahovi as we were on our way to Kirkenes.

The staff were very friendly. The receptionist was very welcoming and reminding us we had an 8 am pick up and that as breakfast started at 7.30 she would arrange for us to have breakfast at 7 am to give us enough time - I have only come across this in Finland - amazing service. The next morning it wasn't just a small breakfast for us, she had the entire buffet ready 30 minutes earlier just for us - but a couple of others came in as well. Breakfast was an excellent spread again - as they all were in all the Finnish hotels we stayed at.

The old hotel looks very ordinary on the outside and had the appearances of a dormitory as you approach the rooms. With suitcases it was easier for us to exit the hotel and re-enter from another entrance rather than carry our suitcases up and down stairs in order to get to our room. The room was basic but clean and warm - the walks around the hotel were great - winter puts a totally different perspective on things. The restaurant meal I will deal with in another review.

If I had the opportunity to return to Inari I would definitely stay at Hotel Kultahovi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Kultahovi as part of an organised trip to see the Northern Lights arranged by Aurorazone in March 2013. The hotel is lovely, we were accomodated in the new buildling next to the river. The rooms are not large, but perfectly adequate, very clean and mostly wood so feel very cosy. As you would expect in this part of the world they are very well insulated and very warm (too warm until we worked out how to adjust the temperature) They have a balcony so you can even stand out to see the northern lights which we did at 2am! If I have any critcism of the room it would be the beds, they are comfortable although tiny, and our "double" was just two singles put together. The hotel lounge is lovely with a fireplace in the centre, so a good place to socialise before dinner. It has free WiFi in this area. The staff are all very pleasant. The food was very good, although as part of the package choice was limited. The wine selection was remarkably good. The trip itself was fantastic. Very well organised in all aspects from the booking through the entire holiday and the days are filled with great activities such as husky sledging, snow mobiling and cross country skiing. Our guide was tremendous, knowlegeable, great fun and made the trip a great experience. Finally ,we were lucky enough to see pretty good displays of the aurora on the first and last nights. The last night we were snow shoeing through the woods when the clouds parted, the stars appeared and so did the lights. A pretty amazing experience, and a throughly recommended holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flora&Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inari
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inari
Hotel Inari
#2 of 3 in Inari
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Lanca
Villa Lanca
#3 of 3 in Inari
31 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Holiday Village Inari
Holiday Village Inari
#3 of 11 in Inari
47 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Korpikartano
Hotel Korpikartano
#1 of 1 in Inari
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari

Property: Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari
Address: Saarikoskentie 2, Inari 99870, Finland (Formerly Hotelli Inarin Kultahovi)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Inari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family-run hotel in Inari Sami village. Beautiful location by Juutua River. Standard rooms in Traditional Hotel and superior rooms with own saunas in new River Hotel. A very good restaurant with a view and programs arranged in all seasons for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tradition Hotel Kultahovi Inari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Inarin Kultahovi Hotel Inari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing