We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Korpikartano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kieppi(Saariselka)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Javri Lodge(Saariselka)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
106
37
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
37
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreindeer herderbeautiful locationmain buildinghusky safarifrozen lakenorthern lightsaurora zoneice fishingrooms are basicoutdoor activitiesaurora huntingsalmonother guestsfantastic tripan amazing experiencesmall hotelwonderful hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 162 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Korpikartano with the hope of seeing the Aurora Borealis for my 50th birthday.
What a wonderful place. It does not really feel like a hotel at all but more like being a guest in Anna and Timo's house. The building is a converted school and while not what you would consider luxurious, it is everything you need after a days winter activites and a nights Aurora hunting. It is comfortable, warm and welcoming and the Finnish specialities for breakfast, lunch and dinner are delicious, warming and plentifull.
There are no shops, bars or restaurants nearby making it a perfect peaceful getaway.
I stayed in a seperate building to the main hotel and my only criticism (which is meant to be constructive as it really did not detract at all from my holiday) was that it would have been nice to have a communal living room area with tea/coffee/hot chocoalte amking facilites and WiFi, just so that we didn't have to go over to the main building for these.
Having said that, I loved the holiday, I loved the hotel, the activities and guides were amazing and I would definately go again if I get a chance.

Room Tip: If you want Wifi and tea/coffee facilities ask for a room in the main hotel building. Not all rooms overlook the lake so ask for that too if you want it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59PatriciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

POSITIVE :
* very personal service from the owners of the hotel.
* very friendly staff
* free saunas
* next to the lake
* free use of skis, shoes, boots, clothing etc ...
* food was tasty
* in the middle of the nature : silence everywhere (except for drunk Italians 1 night)
* free internet and pc at the reception

NEGATIVE :
* food was tasty but you can't choose what to eat at dinner time : only 1 dish. Lunch was limited to soup and bread.
* Matrasses of the beds are in need of replacement.
* no closet in the room to put away your clothes

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Facehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel Korpikartano has its excellent points, and some which are less good. This review is meant as constructive guidance and criticism, based on a 4 day winter Northern Lights visit.
The hotel is reached by road, a 1 hour drive from Ivalo airport. All transfers organised by the hotel were excellent. Being driven at 100km/hr on packed ice is not as scary as it sounds when done by an expert with studded winter tyres.
The first thing to realise is that Hotel Korpikartano is in a minute hamlet called Menesjarvi. It is not in Inari, which is 30km away. The hotel is designed as a wilderness destination, and accordingly there are no other facilities nearby (eg shop – this will become relevant later).
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, with good command of English (and other languages of course).
The rooms and public areas are characterised by a rustic pine-clad ambiance, and have been very recently refurbished. The sauna is very good. Our room had 2 rather basic single beds, and a wet-room – it actually functioned reasonably well, but the experience could not be described as luxurious. The facilities described on the website (microwave, fridge) are found in a common area, rather than in each room. Given that outside temperatures were around minus 20 C, we were never cold indoors. The common areas are rather limited in their comfort and facilities. Wifi is only available in the main building. The hotel nestles next to a large lake, and has a lovely cabin with a central open log fire, ideal for warming up at 2am during an aurora-seeking session out on the ice. I would say the 3-star rating claimed by the hotel is reasonable.
The hotel provides cold weather gear (full suit, mittens, insulated boots), which is undeniably excellent – it looked brand new, it was comfortable, and highly effective. The same can be said of their winter equipment – Nordic skis, snow-shoes, snowmobiles, crash helmets, sledges. No expense has been spared in ensuring guests have access to top quality equipment, which of course makes the whole experience much better. The owners deserve significant praise for this investment.
We participated in several organised activities, which were also of a very high standard, led by friendly, knowledgeable professionals. I didn’t expect to enjoy husky sledging so much! The trip to the Sami museum was worthwhile, though if you go, negotiate to stay for an hour or so, rather than 2+ hours.
Regrettably, I think the hotel lets itself down on the food front. I believe the proprietors make an effort to provide locally relevant main dishes for dinner, and on the 3 days we stayed, these main courses were tasty and satisfactory. However, the standard of much of the food was low – fuel rather than enjoyment would be one description. Choice was negligible, the breakfast buffet was very limited, and the general experience of the meals was therefore extremely compromised – though eating on communal tables with other guests was a pleasure.
It may be that I have missed the point / ethos of this “wilderness retreat” as conceived by the owners, but to me it felt more like a “school dinners” experience. The hotel website description oversells the restaurant /bar/food when it refers to “Lappish delicacies” in an “atmospheric” setting (though actually they had some good red wine). The lack of any alternative source of food nearby compounds the problem I have described. My top tip would be to pack the sort of food and snacks you like, instead of packing your walking boots which you will not need!

Room Tip: If you feel the need for more than just a room with a couple of single beds and a wet room, you should discuss the facilities offered in the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Timo and Anne are your hosts at this converted school on the banks of a lake in the wilderness of Finnish Lapland. In winter, spring and autumn it's a great place to view the Northern Lights, with clear views across the lake and the nearest "town" of note, Inari, some 30 km away. In autumn it's a good trail base for explorations of the nearby rugged Lemmenjoki National Park when the ruska colours are in full blaze. And in summer they have kayaks for the lake. Timo is especially keen to satisfy the expectations of aurora hunters, although it's obviously not in his power to make guarantees! He and Anne will always stop what they're doing to help guests with advice and information - they have genuine enthusiasm to share the natural delights on their doorstep. The kitchen serves hearty set buffet menus and they have a fully licensed bar - very welcome. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Ivalo airport, with several daily flights to Helsinki, is an hour's drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Korpikartano for four nights as a couple.
The purpose of the visit was to see the Northern Lights, which we did 3 out of the 4 nights we where there :-)
The hotel was very clean, warm and welcoming and the activities provided were excellent.
We participated in dog sledging, reindeer herding, snow shoe-ing, snowmobiling, ice fishing and of course the main reason the Northern Lights.
Each activity was excellent in every way with hands on participation.
The staff and guides at the hotel couldnt have been any more helpful or welcoming.
The hotel is not a five star resort, but that was not the reason for choosing this place. It was its remoteness and reviews by other people who had stayed there.
If you are looking for 5 star resort dont go there, but if you want to be in a fantastic place and great company, well I would highly recommend.
Down side, no double bed...!
Food was good and plentiful, dont expect gourmet menu's though.
I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit this part of the world, it is set in beautiful country side away from anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daz1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews