We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jussantupa
Nearby Hotels
Lapland Hotel Hetta(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hetan Majatalo(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
$110
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Village Hetan Kota(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lapland Hotel Pallas(Muonio)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lannavaara Lodge(Lannavaara)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loma-Paksu(Kongas)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Kelotin Rantamajat(Leppajarvi)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
32
26
17
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
26
17
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrozen lakeeach eveningscheduled activitieshotel restaurantlocal supermarkethot foodbefore christmassaladbootsvillagetransunsuittripflightsnowhelmetssauna
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 79 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Jussantupa was lovely. We met friendly people. Ourtransun rep, Coleen was excellent. great at getting people talking to one another. When my child was unwell, Coleen and the hotel staff were wonderful. So caring. They phoned medical people for me, made special food for my son, when the meal time was over and really looked after us.
The Santa trip was also beautiful.
Thanks to you all if you read this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booked a last minute trip through Transun. The majority of the guests were staying at Davi Lodge and the rest of us (approx 16 who booked the last minute deal) went on to Jussan Tupa. Davi lodge looked fantastic and I was a little worried that our hotel would be dissapointing... how wrong could i be?!!! Jussan Tupa is spotlessly clean, good food, relaxing atmoshphere, friendly staff, lovely warm rooms (too warm at times). It has a great location on the lake and the suprmarket opposite came in handy because the food and drinks are very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank airspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having promised my daughter years ago to try and see the northern lights I finally took the plunge and organised the trip. Originally I tried to get in to Davvi but it was full so ended up at the Jussantupa. I have to say though....thanks heavens. Jussantupa was a great place to stay for a few days; good wholesome food, warm clean rooms, very helpful local staff, lovely location with the lake near by, supermarket opposite for odd bits and pieces etc. We ate at Davvi twice (on the way to and from the airport and yes it is closer to the airport but so what....the service just was not that good.

Trips-wise, recommend the Husky rides, just such a privilege.....snowmobile ride was great fun, Reindeer farm slightly more formulaic but ok (very cold). We did manage to have clear skies and therefore 90 minutes of the 'greatest show on earth - northern lights' on the last night where a whole bunch of us from the hotel got flasks of the local hot juice (all we had to do was ask the staff) and watched from the middle of the frozen lake. Eventhough I have now ticked this off my 'bucket list' I would love to do this again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

As many other comments, Transun's Admin in the UK was poor - the website was inaccurate for months despite being told it was to be updated "Next day", etc. However, by carefully reading Trip Advisor comments and reading Transun's brochure (we were very lucky to have had one as we learnt a lot from this - even as to Gatwick flights putting down at Leeds - Bradford Airport, which others had not been told), we were able to ask Transun staff about all our queries and received helpful and accurate replies.

We weren't sure about being at the "annex" hotel, the Jussan Tupa, an hour further on from the Davvi Lodge, but we and the rest of our group decided we had the best deal. The staff are Finnish (the Davvi is owned by Transun) and were very friendly and helpful, the food was varied, interesting and tasty - including reindeer, the rooms clean with excellent showers in wet bathrooms, though pegs for hanging the Arctic suits up would have been helpful. (There were pegs in the lobby but we needed to keep each suit separate AND getting dressed up in several layers each time we went out, took time and some planning!). Also Hetta is the centre (with 800 population) of the Enontekio region of 2,000 people, so lots of interesting daily life to see, especially as we were opposite the supermarket! We saw several Sami ladies in traditional costume doing their shopping, and the silver craftsman also wore stunning Sami costume at his shop near the supermarket.

Yes, we did have to travel further to most of the "big" activities, but the scenery was beautiful and it did pass the time as there were quite a lot of spare hours - but our group roamed the village and cafes, used the downhill ski and snow board slope, the nature and Sami museum on our own, sledged, walked on clearish tracks, were allowed to use the cross country skis free by the reps, and two hired snowmobiles.

We were there for a week from 26.2.12 and the temperature varied from - 26 C to (briefly) + 1 C (again largely taken from the supermarket thermometer). We did not generally have to wait around for a long time in the cold for activities, so perhaps SS has adapted trips for smaller numbers? The weekly itinerary was clearly timetabled and given to us on the bus as we arrived.

We all generally thought that the night time snowmobile ride was taken at too fast a pace - we all had to keep to the same speed (it was cold though!) with too little instruction, and this meant that it wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been and some people were actively uncomfortable and apprehensive of the ride. This and all the activities was well monitored though - by snowmobile or as necessary. The huskies and reindeer trips were much more enjoyable!

We also went to the 2nd annual Arctic Big Air at Muornio where snowmobilers did acrobatics - one rider and snowmobile did somersaults! An interesting but very cold and brief event, with drinks available - the locals were having a great social get together, and an hour's journey each way!

The SS reps at Hetta were Cai, Rob and Jamie, a friendly and helpful group of young men.

As the atmosphere is so dry, you don't get wet if you fall over - just brush the snow off before it sets as ice on your clothes!

We saw the Northern Lights a little every evening but March 1st was outstanding and they were out for several hours, showing some pinks and reds as well as green, moving curtains, arcs and so on. Very dramatic and against the new moon, planets, stars and shooting stars. Cai and Jamie said that the display was the best they'd seen that winter.

Our group got on really well - and the reps commented on that, and we decided to set up a website so we could share all our photos. After all, though we all enjoyed the week's activities, we were all there really for the Lights!

There are no guarantees, of course, but the New Moon is a good time to see the Lights and March can be a good month. This was said to be the best winter for 50 years due to the solar activity.

Room Tip: As rooms are allocated before guests arrive, askTransun before you go for a room upstairs and at the back . These rooms are quieter, away from the street ...and you may spot the Northern Lights from them if you're lucky.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked our trip as a last minute deal through Transun and stayed in both the Jussantupa and the Davvi Arctic Lodge (originally the Davvi had been our first choice but was already full for some of our stay so we spent four nights at the Hotel Jussantupa before transferring to the Davvi). Although the Davvi had beautiful surroundings, we enjoyed our stay at Jussantupa much more.

The Jussantupa was excellent!!! The accommodation was basic but comfortable, warm, and clean. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our Transun rep Georgina was fantastic (really cannot praise her enough, she went out of her way to ensure our group had an amazing time). The Jussantupa is slightly further from the airport (around an hour) but in our opinion the journey was WELL WORTH IT!!!! On arrival we stopped for a meal at the Davvi before travelling on to Hetta (because our flight had arrived late in the evening).

The food at Jussantupa was delicious and wholesome (much better than at the Davvi), self service meant that you could take as much as you want and there was always a good selection (three courses for each meal). The atmosphere in the dining room was lovely and we made many new friends during our trip. The hotel staff put the sauna on each evening which was lovely (recommend packing a swimming costume). Having read previous reviews we also went prepared with a travel kettle to make hot drinks in our room but the prices at the hotel bar were very reasonable and we spent several evenings relaxing in the bar with other members of the group before going out to watch the Northern Lights.

I agree that being on the ground floor can be noisy but we are both heavy sleepers and it only really bothered us in the mornings.

The excursions were amazing and in our experience far longer than we expected having read previous reviews (we spent around two hours at the reindeer farm, two hours with the huskies and around an hour on the snowmobiles - the duration of this trip was shorter due to the extreme temperatures on the ice river on the night we were there ~around minus 44 degrees). The durations were about right to prevent us from getting too cold!

The arctic suit certainly kept us warm but most of the time I found I needed at three layers underneath it (particularly for the visit to the reindeer farm). We found there was much more to see at Hetta than at Davvi and we enjoyed exploring by ourselves as well as on the organised trips. The husky farm and ice castle are only a very short drive away (we were driven by Dave who was brilliant).

On the return journey our flight was delayed due to adverse weather conditions in Manchester (slightly ironic given that the temperature in Kirona was minus 32 degrees!) but we were kept informed by the Transun staff who were available in the airport the whole time.

The holiday really was an experience of a lifetime, the place is beautiful and Transun staff made it a very relaxing time. Very highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarah_m245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews