We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing time”
Review of Hotel Jussantupa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jussantupa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having promised my daughter years ago to try and see the northern lights I finally took the plunge and organised the trip. Originally I tried to get in to Davvi but it was full so ended up at the Jussantupa. I have to say though....thanks heavens. Jussantupa was a great place to stay for a few days; good wholesome food, warm clean rooms, very helpful local staff, lovely location with the lake near by, supermarket opposite for odd bits and pieces etc. We ate at Davvi twice (on the way to and from the airport and yes it is closer to the airport but so what....the service just was not that good.

Trips-wise, recommend the Husky rides, just such a privilege.....snowmobile ride was great fun, Reindeer farm slightly more formulaic but ok (very cold). We did manage to have clear skies and therefore 90 minutes of the 'greatest show on earth - northern lights' on the last night where a whole bunch of us from the hotel got flasks of the local hot juice (all we had to do was ask the staff) and watched from the middle of the frozen lake. Eventhough I have now ticked this off my 'bucket list' I would love to do this again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

As many other comments, Transun's Admin in the UK was poor - the website was inaccurate for months despite being told it was to be updated "Next day", etc. However, by carefully reading Trip Advisor comments and reading Transun's brochure (we were very lucky to have had one as we learnt a lot from this - even as to Gatwick flights putting down at Leeds - Bradford Airport, which others had not been told), we were able to ask Transun staff about all our queries and received helpful and accurate replies.

We weren't sure about being at the "annex" hotel, the Jussan Tupa, an hour further on from the Davvi Lodge, but we and the rest of our group decided we had the best deal. The staff are Finnish (the Davvi is owned by Transun) and were very friendly and helpful, the food was varied, interesting and tasty - including reindeer, the rooms clean with excellent showers in wet bathrooms, though pegs for hanging the Arctic suits up would have been helpful. (There were pegs in the lobby but we needed to keep each suit separate AND getting dressed up in several layers each time we went out, took time and some planning!). Also Hetta is the centre (with 800 population) of the Enontekio region of 2,000 people, so lots of interesting daily life to see, especially as we were opposite the supermarket! We saw several Sami ladies in traditional costume doing their shopping, and the silver craftsman also wore stunning Sami costume at his shop near the supermarket.

Yes, we did have to travel further to most of the "big" activities, but the scenery was beautiful and it did pass the time as there were quite a lot of spare hours - but our group roamed the village and cafes, used the downhill ski and snow board slope, the nature and Sami museum on our own, sledged, walked on clearish tracks, were allowed to use the cross country skis free by the reps, and two hired snowmobiles.

We were there for a week from 26.2.12 and the temperature varied from - 26 C to (briefly) + 1 C (again largely taken from the supermarket thermometer). We did not generally have to wait around for a long time in the cold for activities, so perhaps SS has adapted trips for smaller numbers? The weekly itinerary was clearly timetabled and given to us on the bus as we arrived.

We all generally thought that the night time snowmobile ride was taken at too fast a pace - we all had to keep to the same speed (it was cold though!) with too little instruction, and this meant that it wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been and some people were actively uncomfortable and apprehensive of the ride. This and all the activities was well monitored though - by snowmobile or as necessary. The huskies and reindeer trips were much more enjoyable!

We also went to the 2nd annual Arctic Big Air at Muornio where snowmobilers did acrobatics - one rider and snowmobile did somersaults! An interesting but very cold and brief event, with drinks available - the locals were having a great social get together, and an hour's journey each way!

The SS reps at Hetta were Cai, Rob and Jamie, a friendly and helpful group of young men.

As the atmosphere is so dry, you don't get wet if you fall over - just brush the snow off before it sets as ice on your clothes!

We saw the Northern Lights a little every evening but March 1st was outstanding and they were out for several hours, showing some pinks and reds as well as green, moving curtains, arcs and so on. Very dramatic and against the new moon, planets, stars and shooting stars. Cai and Jamie said that the display was the best they'd seen that winter.

Our group got on really well - and the reps commented on that, and we decided to set up a website so we could share all our photos. After all, though we all enjoyed the week's activities, we were all there really for the Lights!

There are no guarantees, of course, but the New Moon is a good time to see the Lights and March can be a good month. This was said to be the best winter for 50 years due to the solar activity.

Room Tip: As rooms are allocated before guests arrive, askTransun before you go for a room upstairs and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked our trip as a last minute deal through Transun and stayed in both the Jussantupa and the Davvi Arctic Lodge (originally the Davvi had been our first choice but was already full for some of our stay so we spent four nights at the Hotel Jussantupa before transferring to the Davvi). Although the Davvi had beautiful surroundings, we enjoyed our stay at Jussantupa much more.

The Jussantupa was excellent!!! The accommodation was basic but comfortable, warm, and clean. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our Transun rep Georgina was fantastic (really cannot praise her enough, she went out of her way to ensure our group had an amazing time). The Jussantupa is slightly further from the airport (around an hour) but in our opinion the journey was WELL WORTH IT!!!! On arrival we stopped for a meal at the Davvi before travelling on to Hetta (because our flight had arrived late in the evening).

The food at Jussantupa was delicious and wholesome (much better than at the Davvi), self service meant that you could take as much as you want and there was always a good selection (three courses for each meal). The atmosphere in the dining room was lovely and we made many new friends during our trip. The hotel staff put the sauna on each evening which was lovely (recommend packing a swimming costume). Having read previous reviews we also went prepared with a travel kettle to make hot drinks in our room but the prices at the hotel bar were very reasonable and we spent several evenings relaxing in the bar with other members of the group before going out to watch the Northern Lights.

I agree that being on the ground floor can be noisy but we are both heavy sleepers and it only really bothered us in the mornings.

The excursions were amazing and in our experience far longer than we expected having read previous reviews (we spent around two hours at the reindeer farm, two hours with the huskies and around an hour on the snowmobiles - the duration of this trip was shorter due to the extreme temperatures on the ice river on the night we were there ~around minus 44 degrees). The durations were about right to prevent us from getting too cold!

The arctic suit certainly kept us warm but most of the time I found I needed at three layers underneath it (particularly for the visit to the reindeer farm). We found there was much more to see at Hetta than at Davvi and we enjoyed exploring by ourselves as well as on the organised trips. The husky farm and ice castle are only a very short drive away (we were driven by Dave who was brilliant).

On the return journey our flight was delayed due to adverse weather conditions in Manchester (slightly ironic given that the temperature in Kirona was minus 32 degrees!) but we were kept informed by the Transun staff who were available in the airport the whole time.

The holiday really was an experience of a lifetime, the place is beautiful and Transun staff made it a very relaxing time. Very highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarah_m245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you are travelling to Finland with Transun, unless you can book the Davvi Logde - FORGET IT.
Transun are VERY economical with the truth. Not only do they forget to tell you the hotel in Hetta in an hour further from the airport - making it a 4 hour transfer bt the time the Davvi guests have been dropped off - all the organised trips are near the Davvi! Hence at least 2 hours to be added to each one.
We felt we spent the weekend driving around.
The local reps do their best but the offices lack of coming clean leaves a very sour taste. Also the Transun website has been wrong for nearly 2 months with the new one coming online in April. Don't believe a word you see.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised, good basic (and warm!) hotel but seriously recommend being on the 1st floor not the ground - it could be noisy when people were going out in the night to see the northern lights, the big boots you get are noisy so please be considerate to others!

Food was pretty basic but wholesome which is what you want in a place like this.

Hetta itself was very quite, we hardly saw anyone but maybe due to it being between Xmas and NY. Hotel is directly opp the supermarket with a huge thermometer on the front so you were never in doubt before stepping out, how many layers to put on!

You have such good boots and suits that you just need thin layers underneath, at -20 to -17 we had 3 layers but for -10 to -5 you only needed 2. Defo don't wear any makeup or creams on your face as it freezes, the strangest bit was the hairs up your nose freezing as you got off the plane!

We had delays going out and even worse coming back (Strategic airlines) and we lost half a day (out of 3 night trip) due to this so not very happy. Communication about flight delays when in Lapland was very poor and the reps were not given any info from the UK / airport at all. (The airport is just like a small hanger so don't expect much when you get there ie no hot food)

The excursions were a disappointment in that we expected what was advertised but we got no more than 10 mins actually "doing" each eg snowmobiles / husky ride. The majority of the time was waiting around, the snowmobile/santa excursion took us out for over 7hrs with no prior warning and we had no food available to us all of that time, there was only a few things to do for a very short time for kids and nothing for adults (was an hour drive each way). Huskies were better as it was local but again, 10mins ride that was all. very poorly organised as it only takes a small change to take small groups and then no-one is waiting for hours to do anything, we had nearly 3hrs of sitting about in a warm hut doing nothing - not what we signed up for!

Having written to Transun, they aren't interested and are very condasending - other reviews confirm this if you look at forums too so take this all into account. Am sure they are great if you have nothing to complain about!

Overall Lapland is an experience - we did manage to work out its c1500 miles from the North Pole. Recommend Lapland but not with Transun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was a fantastic holiday, very well organised trips and the reps ,Quincy and Pete pulled out all the stops to make it an enjoyable experience. My friend and I forgot to change our phones on the first day, which resulted in us missing the coach for the first trip to the raindeers, we were greeted by Quincy with a smile and a "dont worry, ill drive you" it was an hour away.! The hotel was warm comfortable and clean and the food was plentiful and good quality. It was a really good trip but we unfortunatly didnt see the lights so I will just have to book again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

A really good hotel, and so unexpectedly warm inside. The room was of an adequate size with a wetroom bathroom complete with a super effective squeejie. There was a small opening window which served as a refridgerator for the box of wine that we took with us. We had no idea as to how much drinks would cost us at the bar (hence the wine) but we were pleasantly suprised. A large beer was about £5 and a glass of wine about £4.50. Not that we spent a lot of time in the bar since a few of our activities involved leaving the hotel at 8pm, and in the case of the snow-mobiling, not returning until after midnight.
The food was much to my liking, all of the meals were good and wholesome,in particular, the soups. It had been well thought out.You were not overwhelmed with a vast array of dishes, as in some hotels, just a good ,sensible selection which met all of our requirements and tastes.
We took far to much clothing. As mentioned previously, the hotel was very warm and so we didn't require the warm indoor clothing that we had taken. The coldest temperatures that we experienced were -11C. I was really snug wearing thermal underwear,a T-shirt, jogging bottoms, a ski fleece and thermal socks. That, together with Transuns thermal All-in-one and Boots was sufficient. We had gloves and hats of course. I had silk inner gloves, thermal mittens and ski-gloves.The mittens were fine, but I would have felt more confident in gloves when 'mushing'the team of Huskies and I deliberately reverted to gloves when we went driving the snow-mobiles.On my head I wore a thin Balaclava and a Russian hat. The gel glove warmers were really effective, which is more than I can say about boot warmers.
Transuns organisation of activities was excellent. We had 2 full action packed days. As well as the scheduled activities, Quincy (Transun rep) arranged a taxi shuttle service for those of us who wanted to visit the nearby Ice Castle, and he lent us some sledges so that we could go playing on some nearby slopes. I've not done that since my lads were young!!!
Looking back, it feels as though we were there for a week , rather than just a couple of days, we packed so much in. Well Done Transun.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooked the snowy woodland. Those at the front overlooked the road (2 cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Enontekio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Hetta
Lapland Hotel Hetta
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
87 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
41 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jussantupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jussantupa

Address: Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range: $110 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jussan Tupa is a cozy and comfortable hotel that is open throughout the year. Whether it is work or leisure which brings you to Enontekio, you are guaranteed to feel at home at Jussan Tupa! The hotel has two public saunas, a swimming pool, and a third sauna with a living area and fire place, which can be booked for private occasions. At the restaurant, you can enjoy Lappish delicacies. There is a free WiFi for the guests. Hotel Jussan Tupa is located in the administrative centre of Enontekio, called Hetta. All the most important services are located at the very proximity of the hotel. The 'Vuollikka' restaurant by the Lake Ounasjarvi can be booked for large private events. Its beautiful location offers the perfect setting for any celebration. There is also a traditional Lappish 'kota', which seats 30 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jussantupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jussantupa Hotel Enontekiö
Hotel Jussantupa Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing