We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, amazing experience!”
Review of Hotel Jussantupa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jussantupa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, amazing experience!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked our trip as a last minute deal through Transun and stayed in both the Jussantupa and the Davvi Arctic Lodge (originally the Davvi had been our first choice but was already full for some of our stay so we spent four nights at the Hotel Jussantupa before transferring to the Davvi). Although the Davvi had beautiful surroundings, we enjoyed our stay at Jussantupa much more.

The Jussantupa was excellent!!! The accommodation was basic but comfortable, warm, and clean. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our Transun rep Georgina was fantastic (really cannot praise her enough, she went out of her way to ensure our group had an amazing time). The Jussantupa is slightly further from the airport (around an hour) but in our opinion the journey was WELL WORTH IT!!!! On arrival we stopped for a meal at the Davvi before travelling on to Hetta (because our flight had arrived late in the evening).

The food at Jussantupa was delicious and wholesome (much better than at the Davvi), self service meant that you could take as much as you want and there was always a good selection (three courses for each meal). The atmosphere in the dining room was lovely and we made many new friends during our trip. The hotel staff put the sauna on each evening which was lovely (recommend packing a swimming costume). Having read previous reviews we also went prepared with a travel kettle to make hot drinks in our room but the prices at the hotel bar were very reasonable and we spent several evenings relaxing in the bar with other members of the group before going out to watch the Northern Lights.

I agree that being on the ground floor can be noisy but we are both heavy sleepers and it only really bothered us in the mornings.

The excursions were amazing and in our experience far longer than we expected having read previous reviews (we spent around two hours at the reindeer farm, two hours with the huskies and around an hour on the snowmobiles - the duration of this trip was shorter due to the extreme temperatures on the ice river on the night we were there ~around minus 44 degrees). The durations were about right to prevent us from getting too cold!

The arctic suit certainly kept us warm but most of the time I found I needed at three layers underneath it (particularly for the visit to the reindeer farm). We found there was much more to see at Hetta than at Davvi and we enjoyed exploring by ourselves as well as on the organised trips. The husky farm and ice castle are only a very short drive away (we were driven by Dave who was brilliant).

On the return journey our flight was delayed due to adverse weather conditions in Manchester (slightly ironic given that the temperature in Kirona was minus 32 degrees!) but we were kept informed by the Transun staff who were available in the airport the whole time.

The holiday really was an experience of a lifetime, the place is beautiful and Transun staff made it a very relaxing time. Very highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sarah_m245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you are travelling to Finland with Transun, unless you can book the Davvi Logde - FORGET IT.
Transun are VERY economical with the truth. Not only do they forget to tell you the hotel in Hetta in an hour further from the airport - making it a 4 hour transfer bt the time the Davvi guests have been dropped off - all the organised trips are near the Davvi! Hence at least 2 hours to be added to each one.
We felt we spent the weekend driving around.
The local reps do their best but the offices lack of coming clean leaves a very sour taste. Also the Transun website has been wrong for nearly 2 months with the new one coming online in April. Don't believe a word you see.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised, good basic (and warm!) hotel but seriously recommend being on the 1st floor not the ground - it could be noisy when people were going out in the night to see the northern lights, the big boots you get are noisy so please be considerate to others!

Food was pretty basic but wholesome which is what you want in a place like this.

Hetta itself was very quite, we hardly saw anyone but maybe due to it being between Xmas and NY. Hotel is directly opp the supermarket with a huge thermometer on the front so you were never in doubt before stepping out, how many layers to put on!

You have such good boots and suits that you just need thin layers underneath, at -20 to -17 we had 3 layers but for -10 to -5 you only needed 2. Defo don't wear any makeup or creams on your face as it freezes, the strangest bit was the hairs up your nose freezing as you got off the plane!

We had delays going out and even worse coming back (Strategic airlines) and we lost half a day (out of 3 night trip) due to this so not very happy. Communication about flight delays when in Lapland was very poor and the reps were not given any info from the UK / airport at all. (The airport is just like a small hanger so don't expect much when you get there ie no hot food)

The excursions were a disappointment in that we expected what was advertised but we got no more than 10 mins actually "doing" each eg snowmobiles / husky ride. The majority of the time was waiting around, the snowmobile/santa excursion took us out for over 7hrs with no prior warning and we had no food available to us all of that time, there was only a few things to do for a very short time for kids and nothing for adults (was an hour drive each way). Huskies were better as it was local but again, 10mins ride that was all. very poorly organised as it only takes a small change to take small groups and then no-one is waiting for hours to do anything, we had nearly 3hrs of sitting about in a warm hut doing nothing - not what we signed up for!

Having written to Transun, they aren't interested and are very condasending - other reviews confirm this if you look at forums too so take this all into account. Am sure they are great if you have nothing to complain about!

Overall Lapland is an experience - we did manage to work out its c1500 miles from the North Pole. Recommend Lapland but not with Transun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was a fantastic holiday, very well organised trips and the reps ,Quincy and Pete pulled out all the stops to make it an enjoyable experience. My friend and I forgot to change our phones on the first day, which resulted in us missing the coach for the first trip to the raindeers, we were greeted by Quincy with a smile and a "dont worry, ill drive you" it was an hour away.! The hotel was warm comfortable and clean and the food was plentiful and good quality. It was a really good trip but we unfortunatly didnt see the lights so I will just have to book again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

A really good hotel, and so unexpectedly warm inside. The room was of an adequate size with a wetroom bathroom complete with a super effective squeejie. There was a small opening window which served as a refridgerator for the box of wine that we took with us. We had no idea as to how much drinks would cost us at the bar (hence the wine) but we were pleasantly suprised. A large beer was about £5 and a glass of wine about £4.50. Not that we spent a lot of time in the bar since a few of our activities involved leaving the hotel at 8pm, and in the case of the snow-mobiling, not returning until after midnight.
The food was much to my liking, all of the meals were good and wholesome,in particular, the soups. It had been well thought out.You were not overwhelmed with a vast array of dishes, as in some hotels, just a good ,sensible selection which met all of our requirements and tastes.
We took far to much clothing. As mentioned previously, the hotel was very warm and so we didn't require the warm indoor clothing that we had taken. The coldest temperatures that we experienced were -11C. I was really snug wearing thermal underwear,a T-shirt, jogging bottoms, a ski fleece and thermal socks. That, together with Transuns thermal All-in-one and Boots was sufficient. We had gloves and hats of course. I had silk inner gloves, thermal mittens and ski-gloves.The mittens were fine, but I would have felt more confident in gloves when 'mushing'the team of Huskies and I deliberately reverted to gloves when we went driving the snow-mobiles.On my head I wore a thin Balaclava and a Russian hat. The gel glove warmers were really effective, which is more than I can say about boot warmers.
Transuns organisation of activities was excellent. We had 2 full action packed days. As well as the scheduled activities, Quincy (Transun rep) arranged a taxi shuttle service for those of us who wanted to visit the nearby Ice Castle, and he lent us some sledges so that we could go playing on some nearby slopes. I've not done that since my lads were young!!!
Looking back, it feels as though we were there for a week , rather than just a couple of days, we packed so much in. Well Done Transun.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooked the snowy woodland. Those at the front overlooked the road (2 cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My friend and I were meant to fly out on 5/1/12 but due to a bereavement and a planned funeral on 6th we needed to fly 2/1/12 - as we had booked the time off work.
Transun were very helpful and booked us onto the 2/1/12 flight. Thank you Transun for helping us deal with a stressful time.

The flight was with Monarch going out and arrived on time. We were met by Quincy and Peter ( our Transun guides).
They were very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Quincy is really knowledgeable about the area and the Finnish people.

Jussantupa
The hotel is clean and our room was quite spacious. There is a sauna and a small swimming pool.
There is no hair dryer in the room so take your own.
The food was superb. No typical hotel rubbish ,chips ,chips and more chips!.
On the contrary it was good wholesome food and plenty of it. I am a vegetarian and they catered for me.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

In with the price was the Huskie dog ride, Reindeer sleigh ride and the snowmobile ride with a trek to the Northern lights.
The Huskies are amazing and unless you try it you cannot begin to grasp the magical feeling as you move over the snow in the wilderness setting.
The Reindeer sleigh is lovely but very cold and extra layers are needed.
Snow mobiles are hair raising but not to be missed as the forest that the trek is through is almost like a scene from Narnia.
Take a torch on the Northern lights trek as the more the better.
We didn't see the lights as it snowed all of the time we were there but Quincy did say a walk to the back of the hotel on a clear night gives you an opportunity. I set my alarm for 2am but still wasn't lucky enough to see them as the storm didn't clear.

We flew back with Strategic airlines and although there was lots of negative reports about them it was a good flight. We did leave later but that was due to the plane being de iced.
All in All it was a magical experience and one I would love to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Lovely small, friendly hotel. Rooms clean,WARM, very scandinavian and Christmassy as we were there just before Christmas. Buffet style meals tempted you to try everything!! even the pickled herring for breakfast! Good choice and three cooked meals a day. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about things to see/do in the local area. We stayed there with Transun on the northern lights experience. Organised activities were very enjoyable, from docile reindeer, unpredictable snowmobiles and eager huskies and it was worth the effort to make our own way to the Sami museum and the ice hotel. BUT Strategic airlines ( 8 hour delay)made the outward journey a misery especially for the families with young children, and caused problems with connections on the return(6 hr delay).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enontekio
0.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Hetta
Lapland Hotel Hetta
#2 of 4 in Enontekio
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
#1 of 4 in Enontekio
118 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins
#1 of 3 in Enontekio
37 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kelotin Rantamajat
Kelotin Rantamajat
#1 of 1 in Leppajarvi
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
Holiday Village Hetan Kota
#2 of 3 in Enontekio
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jussantupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jussantupa

Property: Hotel Jussantupa
Address: Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jussan Tupa is a cozy and comfortable hotel that is open throughout the year. Whether it is work or leisure which brings you to Enontekio, you are guaranteed to feel at home at Jussan Tupa! The hotel has two public saunas, a swimming pool, and a third sauna with a living area and fire place, which can be booked for private occasions. At the restaurant, you can enjoy Lappish delicacies. There is a free WiFi for the guests. Hotel Jussan Tupa is located in the administrative centre of Enontekio, called Hetta. All the most important services are located at the very proximity of the hotel. The 'Vuollikka' restaurant by the Lake Ounasjarvi can be booked for large private events. Its beautiful location offers the perfect setting for any celebration. There is also a traditional Lappish 'kota', which seats 30 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jussantupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jussantupa Hotel Enontekiö
Hotel Jussantupa Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing