We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off during opera festival”
Review of Spahotel Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spahotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Savonlinna
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rip-off during opera festival”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

They raise their prices durind the Savonlinna Opera Festival in June. Anyhing to eat costs nearly 30 euros in their restaurant, and so on. Yet iit is not a luxury hotel by any means. Good pool. A nice peer fo yoyr yacht.

Room Tip: Yhe most expensive rooms are the most peaceful and best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    50
    23
    11
See reviews for
34
75
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varkaus, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Even the outlook from Suite was to parking place, the suite itself was nice.
Breakfast was good. And the restaurant and Bar was OK. Savonlinna is small town and beutiful place in summertime. Spa is small comparing Finnsh standards. but very good in central Europe standars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markku_K-suomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Spending a night on a business tour in this part of the country. The reception was ok. The room is really dated. I mean really. The bathroom is small and the shower space behind a curtain is small. The shower water floods the floor. The better choice was fully booked (!) so this was the only alternative in practice. Would not stay here unless absolutely necessary. Most of the hotels here open only for summer season, which is dominated by the famous opera festival.

Room Tip: Get a room facing towards center of town. There may be a air conditioning system and a balcony, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinlandTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The prices of the hotel are very high!
And the spa is only a sauna, a steam sauna, swimming pool and access to the sauna, so really nothing special there!
There are quite a lot of sports facilities available!

The brekfast was just a heavy disappointment, probably not worth to wake up for it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Premises were heavily outdated and need of complete overhaul, our room was kinda like a museum, but museums rarely are this overpriced. The 'spa' was not much more but glorified swimming pool from 90's. Also there was a big crowd of middle aged men at the pool, who were served alcohol to point when it was really unpleasant to be there. Overall the location is great, but they really need to rework everything else, or tone the price down heavily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xwebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Savonlinna hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was one night at the hotel. We had a surprise on Saturday evening, when we were at the desk for booking in. We were given a suite for the same price. It was a big department, good beds and very peaceful. The service was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked through booking.com which is more expensive but allows you to book and reserve your room with a free cancellation up to 24 hours before your stay. When we arrived the receptionist was offering someone the same room as hours at a significantly lower rate. When we told him this he offered to upgrade our room because he couldn't change our rate because of the commission paid to booking.com. We had no complaints with this, the upgraded room was great with a balcony overlooking the river and we appreciated the gesture. The room was large and quiet, the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side with a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnTOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savonlinna
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Aria
Hotel Villa Aria
#3 of 7 in Savonlinna
18 reviews
5.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Norppa
Resort Hotel Norppa
#4 of 7 in Savonlinna
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summer Hotel Tott
Summer Hotel Tott
#5 of 7 in Savonlinna
25 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Kruunupuisto
Hotel Kruunupuisto
#2 of 2 in Punkaharju
19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summer Hotel Opera
Summer Hotel Opera
#6 of 7 in Savonlinna
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spahotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spahotel Casino

Property: Spahotel Casino
Address: Kylpylaitoksentie 7, Savonlinna 57130, Finland (Formerly Best Western Spahotel Casino)
Location: Finland > Southern Savonia > Savonlinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Savonlinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spahotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Spahotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spahotel Hotel Savonlinna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing