We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food, keep away!”
Review of Pruuvi

Pruuvi
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Mikkeli
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Wine Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Popular spot for informal and formal dinners. Reservations possible electronicly and by phone. Perfect for family dinners and romantic occasions. Our cuisine is a mix of international-Finnish-Eastern Mediterranian. New menu in February 2017. Lunch buffet with a selection of starters, main course and dessert available on weekedays from 11am to 2 pm(summertime until 3pm). Meeting facilities and catering.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible food, keep away!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Today we had lunch at Pruuvi and it was an experience we will not lightly forget. I am sad to say it was an awefull one.
Since everything was so bad, i don't know where to start. So let's focus on the most important aspect: the food. Bad quality produce, horribly cooked & underseasend, that sums it up. The food we had at boarding school when I was a kid was even better.
This place does not deserve the name restaurant. You can best compare it to a higway diner, at best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterBelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Develop an appetite and give it a go, you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For a dinner in Mikkeli I would definitely recommend to try Pruuvi. The location may lead you to think whether this really is a place you want to go in and you might have checked to prices beforehand and thought this isn't cheap, but do dare to do it.

The service is just fantastic. Friendly, knowing, available. Not that common in Finland. It kind of builds up expectations for the food.

The mushroom cappucino on the starters' list is heavenly. One could live happily ever after with it. Easily.

There is only one downside in this place I can think of. The portion sizes are big for an office worker like me. And still I recommend taking starters too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maitorahka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I always visit Pruuvi when in Mikkeli and I am yet to have a dissappointing meal in this restaurant. The best steaks in town, no contest. Staff are always friendly and professional although more education on the wines offered could be arranged - also have found that not all the wines on the menu are always available. A small, intimate restaurant with a nice feel and excellent food - definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiikeri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Giovanni Teatino, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can be avoided”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Despite extremely competent and friendly staff, the quality of food was quite low and quite too expensive even for Finnish standards. Hardly deserving a second chance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vitinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskoga, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer of the house recomended”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Service was exellent , the food great,
Rekomend there own beer , wiessbeer is ok and the light lager is topclass.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pruuvi also viewed

Mikkeli, Southern Savonia
Mikkeli, Southern Savonia
 
Mikkeli, Southern Savonia
Mikkeli, Southern Savonia
 

Been to Pruuvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing