We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another normal business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mikkeli
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We have been here several times - which must be a good sign. This hotel is another typical business traveller's hotel. Location is very central and you can come and go easily - just remember to pay parking of the car in advance to avoid getting unhappy while leaving. Breakfast is average and sometimes you need to wait a bit to get what you want. Rooms are not fancy, but on the better side of the business hotels. Just avoid the rooms above nightclub and the rooms facing the railway. Some rooms also have funny design flaws - eg. in a family room, if you are in a toilet and your baby opens the drawer in front of the toilet door, you cannot exit the toilet without someone closing the drawer first.
Convenient for business, ok for a quick stay. Romantic weekend.... Maybe, just set your expectations right.
Pricewise, all hotels in Finland are expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raptor_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli.
Details of the design flaw you´ve mentioned have been passed on to our maintenance team.
We´re happy to hear that you´ve stayed with us on several occasions and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was really a great experience. Thank you all who made the perfect christmas happen.
We couldn't have asked better price/quality ratio for the trip. Food and service was excellent. Parking in warm garage was reasonably priced. It was between -20C to -30C degrees outside so I really appreciated the garage option. A daytrip to Valamo monestary was included to the Sokos Christmas package. We stayed in Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli in December 2010.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel which is situated just in the Mikkeli city center. This hotel fulfills the needs of an overnight stay, good loacation, nice breakfast and quiet room at least in the beginning of the week.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be noisy due to restaurant/night-club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

There is a very limited selection of hotels in Mikkeli, Finland. I have had a chance to stay at the Sokos Hotel for multiple nights on 2 different occasions and it works fine. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a good restaurant in a city that has limited choices. The breakfast is included with the room and it is quite good. The prices are very reasonable and there is a lively lobby bar that is a popular gathering spot for the friendly locals. You are within easy walking distance of the city center, shops and restaurants. Not being from Finland I am not sure what the fascination is with sauna but they certainly have it well covered at this hotel.

The rooms in the new section are large and well maintained. Be careful to avoid the end rooms of the new section that are right next to the train tracks. I had the end room for a night and asked to be moved after one sleepless night. I counted 4 trains during the night that sounded like they went right under my bed. I noticed they did provide ear plugs in the closet, but you don't want to resort to that in any hotel. The staff immediately changed my room and I slept very well the remainder of the week.

I would have liked it if they could provide in-room coffee and tea like most good hotels do these days. If you are driving they have plenty of heated underground parking that is very convenient.

When in Mikkeli this is probably the best choice. With a little work this could be an exceptional hotel but they are already a cut above the local competition.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwebb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Vaakuna is a hotel near the city of Mikkeli. It has older and newer side. This time we were in the new side. There was very quiet room just for us. Last time we had room near railroad and busy way, the noice was then terrible. When you go there, ask for quiet room, if you can´t sleep in noice!

The room was very clean, there was everything, what you could need. Service was exellent and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jivetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I like this hotel! VERY warm welcome by the staff. Well appointed and cozy room with great bed (quilts!), lots of windows, good work space, free WIFI, GREAT shower. Food in the restaurant very well prepared and excellent selection with lots of choices. Wonderful breakfast (included). THREE saunas. Massage. Fitness. A very nice hotel centrally located in the heart of Mikkeli next to the lake and the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Last summer as well as this year I stayed in the Sokos Hotel Vaakuna and liked it very much to live in one of the suites. The building is situated in the center of the town, nor far away from the market-place. Mikkeli is about 200 km from Helsinki and driving-time by car is about 2,5 hours.
The suite is quite big: a spaceful living-room, a quite big bedroom, a small toilet and a big bath-room with sauna, yacuzzi and shower. Everything was very clean. A part of the furniture were "a little bit aged". The bed was very comfortable. There were 2 different televisions, one in the living-room and another one in the bedroom. I was missing newspapers or magazines at least with the TV-program.
In the living-room was a water-boiler, that I could prepare my tea. The personal was really friendly.
In the hotel they have a fine restaurant with local specialities and a good selection of wines. The breakfast was plentiful, something for everybodies taste.
The hotel has an garage which is closed for the night (cost 8 euros per 24 hours).
I enjoyed the clean sauna and the yacuzzi and I think, it was worth its higher price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genussreisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mikkeli hotels
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Mikkeli
Cumulus Mikkeli
#2 of 2 in Mikkeli
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Uusikuu
Hotel Uusikuu
#1 of 4 in Mikkeli
71 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tertti Manor
Tertti Manor
#2 of 4 in Mikkeli
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Marja
#2 of 9 in Mikkeli
2 reviews
2.7 mi away
Visulahti
Visulahti
#6 of 9 in Mikkeli
15 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kyyhkyla Manor Hotel
Kyyhkyla Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mikkeli
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli

Address: Porrassalmenkatu 9, Mikkeli 50100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Savonia > Mikkeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mikkeli
Price Range: $119 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 6- story Hotel with Art Deco facade, located in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Mikkeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing