We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best swimming pool departments in Finland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have visited Spa Hotel Rauhalahti (Rauhalahden Kylpylähotelli) regularly. The latest time was in April 2012.

The hotel is situated in beautiful surroundings (good possibilities for walking) only about 5 kilometers from the city center of Kuopio.

We think that this is the best spa hotel in Kuopio region (better than Kunnonpaikka or Vesileppis which also are ok). The swimming pool department in Spa Hotel Rauhalahti is very good. There are pools for everyone from a baby to a grandmother. There are a swimming pool (20 meters long, depth 120-135 centimeters), two baby pools (34 degrees Celsius, depth 10-30 centimeters), two whirlpools (jacuzzis, 35 degrees Celsius), a hot water pool (37 degrees Celsius, depth 40-50 centimeters), a cold water pool (7 degrees Celsius, depth 110 centimeters), a warm outdoor pool (32 degrees Celsius, depth 145 centimeters), massaging showers and bubbles. There is also a water slide (23 meters long) which is suitable for everybody, especially for children aged 4-8 years.

The outdoor pool is quite big and it is warm also in the winter. It is wonderful to sit or swim in the outdoor pool under stars when the outside temperature is -10 degrees Celsius.

There are also saunas in the swimming pool department. The Roman Irish steam room is mixed for men and women. Finnish saunas are separated for men and women. The swimming pool department is open for hotel guests from 7 am to 10 pm. The steam room is open from 12 noon to 10 pm.

We love family rooms in the main building of the hotel. There are standard beds for 2 adults and an upper bed (a sleeping loft) for 2 small children or 1 big child. However, we think that it is better to put only one child in the sleeping loft and ask an extra bed for another child. Most of these rooms are non-smoking rooms and some of them have a balcony. Family rooms are situated on floor 2 (the entrance floor).

Some rooms may be a little bit shabby and worn out. Soundproofing isn't very good. Furthermore, the thermostat of our toilet's underfloor heating was cracking and clicking for the whole night. It was better to turn the thermostat off. After that it didn't make any noise. There are also apartment rooms (with or without an own sauna) and hostel rooms in separate buildings. Pets are allowed in some rooms.

Also plates in the hotel restaurant seemed to be worn out. However, both breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and dinner buffet were very good and tasty. There were even local specialties in the dinner buffet, e.g. Karelian rice pastries and kalakukko (fish in a bred).

The spa and swimming pools are situated in the ground floor (floor 1), restaurants (also dancing in many nights) on floor 2 and play room for small children on floor 3. There is also a hamburger restaurant on floor 1, a very good and big gym on floor 1 and a climbing wall (also badminton and floorball) on floor 1.

The historical Jätkänkämppä Lumberjacks Lodge mentioned in Lonely Planet and the world's biggest smoke sauna are situated 600 meters from the hotel.

There are many activities for everybody in the hotel or near the hotel. Rooms are big enough for families but some rooms may look a little bit oldish. The swimming pool department is very good and usually it isn't too crowded. However, there aren't big water slides there. The value is very good and we recommend the hotel for the whole family. It is absolutely worth a visit! A perfect place for relaxing!

Room Tip: Ask a room with a balcony. Rooms with a balcony also have a better view (a forest, an outdoor pool a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JariJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 96 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

In Kuopio on business and I was booked into this hotel which I would describe as a resort rather than hotel! When we were at it it seemed that the place was popular among the local retirees!
We were placed in a cottage that had three beds. However one of the beds was essentially in an open area at the top of the stairs.Internet is available but you have to pay for it and it is a wired connection at least in the cottage we were in. Free wireless is available in the reception and spa area.
The actual hotel is surrounded by beautiful Finnish countryside and if you want to go walking and generally have a relaxing time it is perfect. If however you are going to have business in town be aware that you will have to get taxis to and from the hotel.
The buffet breakfast and dinner was nicely presented offering usually three main courses and the staff were pleasant.
I only went to the spa once and found it a little dissappointing. This said there are a number of different pools including an outdoor heated one which is nice in the winter!
There is a swimming pool that can be used for actually exercise. The gym however has no treadmills for running.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Apartment 646 Suvas block
After being recommended this place we stayed here 11-18th February 2012 and I can't praise it highly enough. Breakfast and Dinner (We had half board) were excellent and the choice vast and you could eat as much as you could manage. The accomodation was excellent - we had the superior apartment and the apartment's sauna was good. The rooms had adequate storage and were quiet. You must take thermals and skiing clothing with you as at this time of year, the temperature gets well below freezing (we had -15 C at one point but the week before had lower temperatures). We had free access to the ski store which was incredible. The Spa facilities were good though perhaps a tad small. You must take advantage of the smoke sauna on a Tuesdays and a dip in the frozen lake. There is plenty to do here and so much to take in. It's incredible walking and skiing on the frozen Lake Kallavesi. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose the superior apartment!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed in Rauhalahti Holiday Centre in Cottage for 6 days. Excellent holiday - great amenities, Wonderful scenery, woods, lakes etc. Ideal for relaxing holiday - get away from it all !! Sauna to be recommended. Hotel has great choice of restaurants & food types

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank thejackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Only positive thing was that the room was clean and big. Room was noisy and there was difficult to sleep in the room. The restaurant was crowded at breakfast time. Spa was quite a little.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reippailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Our large family group stayed here in July, 2008. Most families opted for the "apartment" style rooms, one group chose the "luxury" apartment. The apartment style rooms were not really apartment-like, just a largish room with a minimal kitchenette, a small couch, and two twin beds. The second "bedroom" felt more like a large closet, with a very small double bed and a single pull-down bunk bed above it. Nevertheless, the room was clean and the beds were reasonably comfortable. The furnishings were a bit dated, but fine. There isn't much storage space for luggage, but ingenuity saved the day.

The main selling point of the hotel is their family-friendly swimming pools and spa area. The children absolutely loved it and it was a great way to keep everyone happy. Couples and singles probably would do better elsewhere, but it was great for families.

The hotel is about three miles from the center of Kuopio. With a car it was no big deal. The area around the hotel is ok, but certainly there are more beautiful locations in the area.

The daily breakfast was nice, and the dinner prices in the restaurant were certainly reasonable.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Mims1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
2.1 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
2.2 mi away
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
#9 of 10 in Kuopio
42 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Isovalkeinen
Hotel Isovalkeinen
#8 of 10 in Kuopio
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rauhalahti Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rauhalahti Spa Hotel

Address: Katiskaniementie 8, Kuopio 70700, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range: $163 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rauhalahti Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rauhalahti Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing