We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good value for money and convenient.
Tidy rooms. Adequate for a couple night stay. There were limited facilities in the rooms however was bright and nice wooden floors.
Love it in Kuopio and the areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms were quite large and the beds comfortable. The best things were the heated tile floors and heated towel rail in the bathroom. I was on a bus tour, and there was not a lot of opportunity to do a laundry. These two features assisted greatly in getting the laundry dry, even the socks. Most hotels in Scandinavia keep their rooms too warm, but with a light duvet and opening windows it was a pleasant stay. Standard buffet breakfast, not too imaginative but still quite decent. The hotel caters to bus groups and there were a number of them there, which always makes meal times a bit of a challenge. Overall, I was pleased with the hotel, and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNBearYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our room was at the new side at 6th floor (hotel is situated in two buildings, new and old). The room was good normal Sokos Hotel style, bright and scandinavian with wooden floors. It was decorated well: a chair, large double bed, working desk, baby bed all fitted in and still we had room to move around even with a baby stroller. Bathroom was ok sized; bit a bigger shower "cabin" than normally. Wireless internet was included at room prize, working well and fast.

Baby bed was already in room (I requested it via email) and we also got baby feeding chair in room because there was several chairs available at restaurants (not normal service, don't expect this to happen always).

Service at front desk was helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was crowded but worked still, seats were quite easy to find and tables were cleaned fast. Buffet food tables were filled quickly. There was a good selection of cold and hot food available.

Local sights are within walking distance: Market square, -hall, and harbor. Puijo tower is bit further away and easy access by car. Nearby the hotel there is also good restaurant Sampo at Kauppakatu 13, serving only traditional muikku-fish food.

Travelled with my wife and 9 month old baby, our room was for two persons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Had an incredibly poor, dirty, claustrophobic room. When I complained, i was 'upgraded' to what i would consider a two star hotel room. no A/C anywhere nor can you open windows. breakfast had many choices but poor quality products overall. I assume the Scandic Kuopio is better.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immerunterweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

the bath rooms in this hotel stink of mold. it was last year the same, we changed last time rooms. this year we stayed at superior rooms but were too lazy to change rooms after checking another room, which also stank of mold. the smell reduces ones you use the shower. the quite recently renovated bathrooms are cleaned poorly and that one can see already

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at puijonsarvi with my 4yo and had a great experience. We had a room on the new side which was spacious, clean and stylish. Lovely sized bathroom with a proper hair dryer and excellent wifi. We ate at the restaurant downstairs which was busy but regardless the service was excellent (great attention to detail with children) and the food was amazing - I have eaten at a few Fransmanni before but have always had average food, the fillet steak i had at this restaurant was second to none.

The breakfast was very busy, difficult to find a clean table, more staff needed. Food was ok,typical hotel breakfast but with the welcome addition of local delicacy of kalakukko. Staff were stretched but very friendly.

Check in/ out very efficient and friendly service.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Tiikeri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I shared some akward moments here with my new girlfriend. There was a toilet door made glass in this room. I don`t know if I have people so close to me that I would be comfortable sharing my restroom experiences, but one thing is for sure: its not the best way to charm a woman...!

Despite the door this hotel was good quality, but I wouldn`t come here again (just because of the room design!).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#4 of 10 in Kuopio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
2.8 mi away
Hotel Isovalkeinen
Hotel Isovalkeinen
#9 of 10 in Kuopio
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
#8 of 10 in Kuopio
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi

Address: Minna Canthin katu 16, Kuopio 70100, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range: $137 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi is located next to a park in the center of Kuopio, 700 meters from the railway station. The hotel has a variety of dining options, guests have free access to sauna and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing