We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is an educational hotel for local school, Savo vocational college. So the staff consist partly of teaching staff and young students. The serving staff is really nice and friendly. The breakfast is also really good. The rooms are very clean but otherwise just average and some defects can be found (broken showers etc.), the walls are really thin and you can hear conversations from other rooms. I´ve stayed in this hotel several times and if I get a good offer it is a worth of stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
11
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel has Lot of Free parking . Service is friendly. We got a room without any views but that happens. Our room was quite large but bleak. Beds were good. There is no refrigerator or minibar , no iron. But breakfast was quite good and in a airy room. Note that It is 2 kilometer way to the central from hotel. But there is couple of food trades and small lake with beach . You can borrow for free bicycle and by bike it takes only 5 minutes to Kuopio central.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki,Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

You might think that staying at this hotel is a good idea given its proximity to hospital and university, trust me, it is not! The price of the room is only twentysomething euros less than at a REAL hotel and so why would you stay here? This is more like a hostel with its lousy, noisy, untidy, dated rooms. My husband eats basicly anything but even he had trouble eating the barbaque spiced "house" fries and the invisible steaklet. The bathroom was designed for extremely short and tiny people, seriously, and of course the faucet and shower were broken so you couldn't adjust the temperature. Someone vomited loudly the whole night keeping my husband awake, oh that was just the same since the A/C unit was so loud anyway. Some fellow tripadvisor members had found some consolation in breakfast, not this time. The buffet was a joke! Eggs were cold, not much choice in cold cuts and the quality of the few items found from the buffet was very very low. You wouldn't certainly expect too see somehing like that in Finland. But hey, they did have ample parking within walking distance so you could get away fast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSnow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuopio hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Such a lousy hotel. Rooms are old and ugly, shower was broken, rooms very noisy. I specifically asked for a quiet room in my booking and they put me right next to fire door and elevator. Nice! It was not possible to change room later.
Good thing was breakfast and amazing outdoor possibilities nearby.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, invest in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel serves as a practice hotel and restaurant for students in tourism business. During the summer time, there were no trainees, but the service was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is of great value of money. Rooms are spacious and clean, albeit slightly worn out and old-fashioned. During our stay, it was unusually hot outside - and the rooms lacking aircon became a bit hot. If you are not afraid of fresh air, opening the window helps a lot.

We were surprised with the finding that the hotel restaurant was absolutely fantastic. They are making an effort to find organic and local ingredients. All wines were also organic. The à la carte menu has something with meat, fish and for vegetarians. It is not substantial but put together with creativity. It was really a delight for tired vegetarian travellers. You would not expect to find this kind of restaurant in such a corner of a small town - but even if you don't stay in the hotel, try the dinner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saivayrynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice so far, average hotel. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are reasonably big, furniture (bathroom) is a bit outdated and basic. Nothing luxurious but a good place to stay if you're on a business trip. Free wifi, good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

good choice if your close one is at the Kuopio Hospital and you have to stay close to him/her. basic rooms, but spacious enough and with basic equipment. Good finnish breakfast, kept me going the whole day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
1.7 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
#9 of 10 in Kuopio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#7 of 10 in Kuopio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
2.2 mi away
Hotel Isovalkeinen
Hotel Isovalkeinen
#8 of 10 in Kuopio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
Address: Sammakkolammentie 2, Kuopio 70200, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing