We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rauhalahti Holiday Centre
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I live in Russia which is quite naturally abundant in snow however I use every opportunity to come to Rauhalahti as often as I can in white winter. I travel with my family by car and you can drive miles across the country without seeing other cars! (For comparison: 20 million people in Moscow and the Region alone and 5 million Finns in the entire country). The local nature in winter is marvelous - rocky hills, fur-trees, all covered with snow. The place itself is very calm and quiet - if you come not in high season. So those looking for almost complete isolation - Rauhalahti is for you. I proceed. We always rent an independent cottage - 2 bedroom holiday home (just check their web site for description): Supermarkets with food are nearby so you can either have you meals in the cottage or dine in the SPA Hotel which is 10 minutes walk (or drive) from the cottage area or in town: all is affordable and of very good quality. No need buying bottled water - tap water is potable and safe. Finnish specialities like smoked fish highly recommended. Or you can go for shopping in the city center (car or bus service). The heart of it all is the SPA center with sauna, swimming pool, aqua park etc. which are an excellent relaxation after several miles of skiing (you can rent the skiis). On the sad side is that in my opinion they served better buffet dinners at the SPA center back in 2003 when I first visited the place and later. Personnel is very friendly and extremely helpful - this has not changed. Perfect total relax and absolute peace of mind.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick_the_Traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2010

Stayed in Rauhalahti Holiday Centre, Kuopio
Went on holiday with my mother, and young son in July 2008 & 2009.
Rented cottage for 1 week at Rauhalahti-had all modern amenities - shower, tv, stocked kitchen. Marvellous surroundings! beach/lake for swimming, safe play areas for children. Miles and miles of woodland to go and lose yourself ! Daily entertainment - small restaurant (very expensive), small bar and band/music nearly every night. But surprisingly very quiet. No noisy gangs or music - even though there were plenty of teenagers and also an adjacent cottage, full of bikers! Ideal for people with caravans/tents - and a car is a must. Local shop has stocks basic stuff - and at a price. Recommend a visit to Puijo Tower - with breathtaking views over Kuopio lakes.
Also recommended are the numerous daily sailing trips to Kuopio - ideal for looking at all the 'summer houses' along all the shore edges.
Rauhalahti has lakeside saunas - which need to be pre-booked. These are a 'must' do - if you can bear the heat !

1  Thank thejackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuulia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meiju L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Euthanasiated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank TarjaF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
0.2 mi away
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
#4 of 10 in Kuopio
107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scandic Kuopio
Scandic Kuopio
#1 of 10 in Kuopio
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostel Hermanni
Hostel Hermanni
#3 of 6 in Kuopio
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
2.4 mi away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rauhalahti Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rauhalahti Holiday Centre

Address: Rauhankatu 3, Kuopio 70700, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kuopio
Price Range: $155 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rauhalahti Holiday Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rauhalahti Holiday Centre is a five-star Holiday Centre, where you can spend an unforgettable holiday with your family or friends. Accommodation facilities range from high-quality, all-year-round holiday homes to holiday and camping cottages as well as caravan and tent places. There are also multiple restaurant and activities in the area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rauhalahti Holiday Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing