We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Joensuu
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very centrally located, easy access to city, everything (including university) withing walking distance as you'd suspect in such a small town. Many shops and restaurants as well as the market square nearby.

My room was very standard hotel room: clean and comfortable, modern(ish), not personal but I stayed here for three nights and was satisfied. Staff at front desk was helpful and friendly, no problems whatsoever. My colleague complained about street noise but as my room was facing the parking lot (not a pretty sight) my room was pleasantly quiet.

The only negative I can say is that while breakfast was ok the breakfast room was dark and depressing, not a very pleasant start for the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paiiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Found it an efficiently run hotel as is the case with all Finnish hotels, but a little more luxurious in comparison to the other hotels in Joensuu. I come to Joensuu every three weeks. In addition, it is centrally located, with a shopping center located across the road, a department store on one side, a restaurant on the other, and more shopping just a little beyond..

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was very nice and very clean hotel on a great location. The breakfast was very good and the selection was quite wide. Wifi worked well. They had nice looking sauna and jacuzzi in the basement floor.

Some minor things:

One small thing was that the hotel is in two attached buildings and for some reason the corridor around the attached area did not smell exactly as fresh as the rest of the two buildings. Nothing severe and probably I wouldn't have had even noticed it unless our room was a bit further away. However, since it is a big hotel with many options, those who are very demanding on a super fresh smell in their hotel room might just in case prefer a room somewhere else than where the two buildings meet (there are only few rooms in that area anyway). In all other parts the hotel is very fresh.

Also, the street side could actually be quieter for light-sleepers since there are sometimes (garbage) trucks and others working in the back side of the building. Not often though. The windows are thick so the normal traffic noise shouldn't be a problem.

Another thing is that the breakfast closes at 9.30 am, but in the Cumulus hotel near by the breakfast seems to close at 10.00 am. For me, this is a deal breaker on a vacation and I will probably choose Cumulus if I travel in Joensuu again, since these hotels seems to be quite the same standard.

All in all, good stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Street side might be quieter. Other parts than exactly where the buildings are attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

“Four minus” star hotel right in the middle of the city. Review based on a one night stay in June’11 (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe)

Location:
Hotel is extremely centrally located, perhaps 500m from the railway station. There’s a supermarket in the same building, mall across the street, main market square 50m away and numerous restaurants and bars a stone’s throw away. So eating and drinking is easily arranged when staying here. The river park is also close by, nice way to spend time during the summer.

Room:
I had a basic room in the 4th floor, the room seems to completely renovated not so long ago (as the rest of the hotel), so everything was clean and in good condition. No stains or signs of usage anywhere. Decor was simple & modern.

Room had all the standard equipment such as decent size LCD TV and minibar. Size of the room was not biggest I’ve seen but not the smallest either, certainly enough for a one night stay. Bathroom was also quite spacious with a separate shower section.

The only minor issue was occasional noise from the street but I guess this is something happening at every hotel located so centrally as this one.

Etc:
Hotel’s “own” restaurant downstairs (Amarillo) is quite a decent place for no-nonsense meals such as burgers and burritos.

Breakfast was fine, rather wide selection including the local specialty of karjalanpiirakka (Karelian pasties).

Would I return there?
Yes sure, nice clean hotel in an excellent location though it was not a great luxury as such

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in Sokos Hotel Vaakuna last august. Actually we spent our wedding night there. We got penthouse room with private sauna and samll balcony. Room was the best. Very silent, clean and the bed was more than comfortable.

The next morning was the best part, the breakfast. Dining room was spacious and there was lot of different foods to choose from. Actually it was so good that we have went there just for breakfast (we live in Joensuu :) )

I would recommend this hotel to my friends from out of town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotspur_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Very good location, just nest to market squarem shoping streets nad restaurants.

The hotel itself is standard, nothing special. So there is nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I have been in Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Joensuu many times earlier. But it was a surprise for me, that the hotel has had lots of changes since I’ve been there previous time. The hotel has a new enlargement part which includes new rooms, new reception area and one new restaurant. New part of the building has been in use since April 2010.
I got my room from the new part of the hotel (room 537). And it was a really pleasant surprise. Room was very spacious and included flat tv, beds for 2 + 2 extra bed, air condition, minibar, toilet and a different shower room (there was also a bath tub). Of course there was free internet available and rooms were suitable for allergic person because floor material was laminated wood. The reception personnel were really friendly. Breakfast buffet was normal (like you can except in finnish hotels). I didn’t have any possibilities to use their other restaurant services because I arrived so late to the hotel and all the restaurants were closed. But when I’ve been in Joensuu earlier, food in the restaurant Rosso has been ok.
There is a parking hall available, and the cost of 24 hour parking is not expensive – 8 euros.

It was a really great experience ! Good hotel and good location in the middle of the city. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joensuu hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Joensuu
Cumulus Joensuu
#2 of 4 in Joensuu
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kimmel
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
#4 of 4 in Joensuu
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenstar Hotel
Greenstar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Joensuu
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scouts' Youth Hostel
Scouts' Youth Hostel
#7 of 9 in Joensuu
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finnhostel Joensuu
Finnhostel Joensuu
#3 of 9 in Joensuu
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu

Address: Torikatu 20, Joensuu 80100, Finland
Location: Finland > North Karelia > Joensuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Joensuu
Price Range: $151 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary five story hotel with restaurants, located at the commercial center next to marketplace, near bus & railway stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing