We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenstar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenstar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Joensuu B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A clean, spatious and modern room in the city center. Free parking included. Friendly and helpful staff. Including the breakfast, value for money is very good from my point of view! For me this is an excellent place to stay whenever I have business in Joensuu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Riddler_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
20
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel is okayish only because of the cheap price and it's close to the city center. Oh, and there is free wifi! I had some problems with the air conditioning, because there wasn't any, and I don't mean I need a proper air conditioning, but during the summer the air in the room was stale, murky and it was about 30 degrees Celsius in the room. Also the hot temperature became a problem with the trash can's "odors" because the cleaner visited only in the first day of my three night trip and I had to pick up toilet paper from the cleaning trolleys. Yes, the cleaning trolleys were there, but no cleaners in my room. The room seemed tidy and clean but when I cleaned a water spill from the floor the rag was covered in black dirt, so basically the room wasn't that clean. Oh, and avoid the breakfast in the hotel. If you want a good breakfast go to Cumulus or something. By the way if you want free parking, go to Kalastajankatu which is a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ytte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I prefer staying at Greenstar Hotel when I visit Joensuu. The hotel is quite new, everything works great and the price is one of the cheapest in the city. Too bad that all the rooms are the same, meaning that couples staying at the hotel won't get double bed but have to put two beds together, which is not the best possible option.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights and everything worked as it should. Cosy hotel with good location in city center.
If you are looking reasonable price, comfortable, clean place to stay this is your place.
The WIFI connection in the rooms were one of the main reason to select this hotel.
The breakfast wasn't luxorios but it had everythimg what I would need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosmopoliitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has a very convenient location in the center of Joensuu and there are several restaurants and shops within a walking distance. We booked the room well beforehand and arrived quite early in the afternoon but there were no parking spaces left. They seemed to have parking restrictions on almost every street so please check very carefully before parking your car. The room was nice and tidy, the bathroom very clean and the two beds OK, but the extra bed (from a sleeper chair) provided for a teenager travelling with us was quite uncomfortable, very hard and narrow. The doors to the rooms had some kind of a closing mechanism which made them bang very loudly when you left the room and that was a bit disturbing early in the morning. Other than that, you could not hear anything from the other rooms. The breakfast was OK, the usual things - tea, coffee, bread, eggs, cheese etc. This is a hotel worth booking if you are not looking for luxury but a clean and comfortable place for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antsu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Centrally located and very modern. Facilities were clean and appeared brand new. Room was spacious with clean colors and simple design, though lighting was a bit dim. Reception desk is staffed only partially. Breakfast and parking is extra. Wifi in room with good signal though a bit unstable connection. WARMLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavi-amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Greenstar has got a perfect location for those who need to stay over night in Joensuu city center. The hotel is clean and the rooms comfortable enough for a one night short stay. Pricing is reasonable and you can also choose having breakfast for a couple of euros. Instead we chose having our breakfast at the market square, at Martta cafe´. They offer fantastic Karelian pies, a local specialty.
If you travel by own car the hotel has a good car park in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joensuu hotels
0.2 mi away
Cumulus Joensuu
Cumulus Joensuu
#2 of 5 in Joensuu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kimmel
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
#4 of 5 in Joensuu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu
0.4 mi away
Finnhostel Joensuu
Finnhostel Joensuu
#3 of 7 in Joensuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Linnunlahti
Holiday Linnunlahti
#1 of 7 in Joensuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenstar Hotel

Property: Greenstar Hotel
Address: Torikatu 16, Joensuu 80100, Finland
Location: Finland > North Karelia > Joensuu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joensuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenstar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Greenstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing