We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, but clean; would stay again”
Review of Cumulus Joensuu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumulus Joensuu
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joensuu
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small, but clean; would stay again”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel in the downtown of Joensuu occupies the top two stories of an office building. Although the rooms were small, the bathroom was good size and everything was clean. Breakfast was good. Parking was difficult - there are too few spaces, and I had to park and pay for street parking. The staff spoke English. The surrounding area is downtown Joensuu, with plenty of shopping and several restaurants and bars.
This is not a place that will knock your socks off, but I will stay again when in Joensuu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAN31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    40
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
12
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nice Hotel with very freindly staff. Rooms were clean, comfortable and very quiet, a little small by US standards but still very nice . Hotel is central to the city and allows for easy walk to all that you need just outside the door. WiFi and flat screen TV worked good and was reliable. The resturant below the hotel is also very good.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room. Also the top floor rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stum92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good hotel with bright decor. Staff very helpful, parking ok, breakfast was ok, wifi ok, price was a bit high, but I would stay here again. Location was really good - so central to everything. Overall a good place to stay in Joensuu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed for two nights on business.

The reception staff are frendly and efficient. As with all Finnish hotels, one has to fill in a personal information form, passport details etc.. This slows down things, but at least I now have my passport number committed to memory.

The rooms are relatively large by European standards. Wooden floor too. Basic minimalist decor with some colour. The wireless internet works well. .

The breakfast room is large, but always busy too. A large range of food on offer. Good quality too. The dinner menu is good, with some unusual regional dishes. Essentially is was a pizzeria.

The bar is based in reception, and really doesn't work as a bar for me.

Overall the Sokos, Kimmel, is better.

Room Tip: Use one of the bars in the main sqaure instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed for four nights in a superior room, and had a fine stay without any complications.

The hotel is very central in Joensuu, a block from the shopping street and close to the river and university.

I arrived late without problems. The room was nice and clean and seems very new. The breakfast is good with lots of choices. Staff was friendly, said hi every time I passed the reception. I did not try the sauna, since the opening hours were a bit too short (5-10 pm).

Not a very large selection of TV channels but who care, CNN and BBC World was there.

Only thing I would have expected with a superior room was a bathtub, but I guess I could have gone for the sauna experience in stead...

I had friends staying at other hotels in Joensuu and surely felt I had made the best choice. Especially in regard to the breakfast......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPharvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is basically a very pleasant town, and this hotel a pleasant place to stay. I had no problems at all - everyone was friendly, the place completely clean, and the breakfast was very good. The room itself was fine - large, well appointed, and a nice TV. Ok, I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisemann99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Location of this hotel is great, everything is within a walking distance. Everything in this hotel works and it is sort of OK, but fot thw price you should get more comfort. Very basic rooms, WiFi is OK, breakfast nothing to write home about. If you can not find anything else,this is quite ok.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joensuu hotels
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kimmel
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Joensuu
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
Hotel-Restaurant Aada
#4 of 4 in Joensuu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenstar Hotel
Greenstar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Joensuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Linnunlahti
Holiday Linnunlahti
#1 of 7 in Joensuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Vetrea
#2 of 3 in Joensuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Joensuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Joensuu

Property: Cumulus Joensuu
Address: Kirkkokatu 20, Joensuu 80100, Finland
Location: Finland > North Karelia > Joensuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Joensuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Joensuu 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cumulus Joensuu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing